Philly Cheesesteak

Two of the bloggers who participated in the meme yesterday were from Philadelphia and my guest blogger Iron Cook Carl is from Willow Grove which is just outside of Philadelphia. With his help I was able to put this post together to at least begin my month of food related posts. I was inspired to post my recipe for a Philly Cheesesteak and see what you think about it. If you have never had an authentic cheesesteak I’m going to ask you to never get one. What you talkin’ bout Willis?

Let me explain. Authentic Philadelphia Cheesesteaks use Cheez Whiz. Personally Cheez Whiz belongs on a cheesesteak the same way vomit belongs on your cereal. It’s culinary sacrilege. There are many variations to the cheesesteak as far as what kind of cheese to use: mozzarella, provolone or white American.  Whether or not you want sautéed onions, hot peppers, mushrooms, banana peppers, bell peppers, salt and pepper, or with the addition of shredded lettuce and tomatoes, the all powerful cheesesteak hoagie! Ketchup and mayonnaise are also optional but if you put mayonnaise on a cheesesteak don’t think about sitting at the same table with me. You have to eat somewhere else. I do feel that strongly bout it!

So you know Cheez Whiz is out! The one constant in a Philly Cheesesteak is the bread. True cheesesteak aficionados only use Amoroso long rolls to make their sandwiches. When making a cheesesteak do not use Steak-Ums. Get a butcher to cut thinly sliced rib-eye or top round for you. It is easier to purchase the roast, freeze it and bring it back to the butcher to get it sliced as thin as humanly possible.

It is quite possible that if you try to make a cheesesteak with Cheez Whiz crap that you might like it. For that reason you should try to make it with either provolone, mozzarella or white American cheese first. Then after that, you won’t like it with Cheez Whiz. I guarantee! Wanna make one? Or better yet, let me make it for you.

Philadelphia Cheesesteak
Prep Time 15:00 minutes, Makes two sandwiches
In other words, serves one

1 medium onion, sliced thin
12 ozs. thinly sliced rib-eye steak
Four slices provolone cheese
Two slices mozzarella
2 Amoroso rolls, sliced but not through ends
Mushrooms (optional)
Bell peppers (optional)
Goya Adobo seasoning to taste

Sauté onions on low flame until translucent in fry pan. Remove the onions and turn heat up to medium. Cook the meat until brown and add seasoning to taste. Add onions back into pan and separate contents into two piles. Place the cheese on top of the piles of onions and meat to melt. Cover with open rolls. When cheese is melted use spatula to fold meat and onions into roll. Serve with pickle, French fries and ketchup. Mmm mmm great!

Related articles


On a side note: some bloggers from yesterday’s meme are under the impression they can only visit blogs that they have never visited or commented on before. Not so. As long as you do visit the sites you don’t normally or have never visited, you can also visit and comment on all the other blogs that participated as well. Also another blogger who had difficulties with scheduling has her meme answers posted; visit Disjointed Rhymings to read and comment.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Ribbons Undone on December 14, 2011 - 12:52 AM

    Found your blog via Words Fall From My Eyes. Now I want a Philly Cheesesteak! My fave sandwich!

    • #2 by Tom Baker on December 14, 2011 - 7:18 AM

      They are the best! It might be 7:00 am but after you said that my mouth started salivating for one as well. Thank you for stopping by. I do hope you come by often.

  2. #3 by brittany220 on December 13, 2011 - 8:54 PM

    Sounds (and looks) tasty Tom! You’re making me hungry even though I’m still stuffed from a big potluck we had in career planning class today! :)

    • #4 by Tom Baker on December 13, 2011 - 9:26 PM

      It is! I wish I could fix one for you and everyone!

  3. #5 by jakesprinter on December 13, 2011 - 6:53 PM

    This entry makes me hungry. i love it :)

    • #6 by Tom Baker on December 13, 2011 - 7:56 PM

      It does look good. Thanks for stopping in and I visited your amazing blog.

  4. #7 by wordsfallfrommyeyes on December 13, 2011 - 2:29 PM

    Oh mercy, I have never heard of anything like this before! Very quick and yum recipe. I love guys doing recipes. Sorry, there’s something about it that makes me smile (it’s not a condescending smile, or amusement, just smiiiiiile – I like men who cook!).

    Love your ‘makes two sandwiches – in other words, feeds one’. That is SO true these days with ‘per serve’. Yummy post, Tom :)

    • #8 by Tom Baker on December 13, 2011 - 7:55 PM

      It really is a taste sensation unlike any other sandwich. Even the ever popular hamburger cannot hold a candle to the cheesesteak or it’s amazing sister, the cheesesteak hoagie!

  5. #9 by TemptingSweets99 on December 13, 2011 - 12:15 AM

    Mmm! Delicious!

    • #10 by Tom Baker on December 13, 2011 - 6:25 AM

      Have you ever had one?

      • #11 by TemptingSweets99 on December 13, 2011 - 9:34 AM

        unfortunately never tasted it but have definitely heard of how good it tastes. with your recipe, i can make my own now. ;-)

        • #12 by Tom Baker on December 13, 2011 - 10:03 AM

          I hope you do! Let me know. Come back tomorrow for an invitation I hope you don’t refuse!

  6. #13 by Paula on December 12, 2011 - 11:25 PM

    I’m from Tennessee and even I think that cheese whiz on a Philly Cheesesteak is just wrong! :) Your recipe, on the other hand, sounds yummy!

    • #14 by Tom Baker on December 13, 2011 - 6:24 AM

      Paula, thanks for coming back. I like that you did not capitalize ‘that fake cheese stuff”. What I neglected to include in the post is I’m trying to go vegan and cheesesteaks are out. But they are so good. I can hear them calling to me when I’m lying in bed. It’s terrible (Charles Barkley voice).

      • #15 by Paula on December 13, 2011 - 9:06 PM

        LOL Love the Charles Barkley voice! He was my favorite b-ball player when I was a kid. :) And you’re welcome!

  7. #17 by tekia on December 12, 2011 - 1:28 PM

    OMG!!! I love Philly Cheesesteak sandwiches ! They are absolutely AWESOME as is shown in the wonderful photo. However, I must agree about the Cheese Wiz and the mayo. Not really feeling either of those. But everything else is A-Okay by me. Thanks for sharing this Tom!

    • #18 by Tom Baker on December 12, 2011 - 1:34 PM

      Maybe it is the way I worded it but I DO NOT like Cheez Whiz on my cheesesteaks. No way, no how. You are welcome. I’m a little hungry right now and I could use one, or two myself.

  8. #19 by Jim on December 12, 2011 - 7:52 AM

    First off – Great Blog!

    No mayo?? I’ll take your word for it – I have a friend that owns a restaurant who can slice the rib eye for me now that this post has planted a cheesesteak in the back of my mind! I’m not real fat – seriously….

    Adobo – great call! I love that stuff and it’s been sooooo long since I’ve used it!

    Thanks for the recipe!

    • #20 by Tom Baker on December 12, 2011 - 8:14 AM

      Jim, first I want to welcome you to my blog. I always welcome new visitors. No mayo for sure! Let me know if you try the recipe. I made a few cheesesteaks for friends when I was living in Indianapolis. They had never had it before and were hooked instantly. You don’t need a lot of seasoning on a cheesesteak, I just like to season the onions and other toppings.

      I’ve been to your blog while typing this comment and I enjoyed my visit. You have a beautiful family Jim. Walking Dead is a great show and like you I am a huge movie fan. Hope to see you here again.

  9. #21 by Dayle Fraschilla on December 12, 2011 - 12:16 AM

    Ok, so you know I have to comment here, right? :D

    First off, kudos on getting the rolls and the steak right . . . definitely Amoroso and definitely NOT steak-ums! But I contest the whole cheese whiz thing. I grew up in Philly and never heard of cheese whiz on a cheese steak until the first time I went to Pat’s and Geno’s . . . which, (and most people from Philly will agree) are strictly for tourists. Their steaks suck! By default, everywhere I know of uses American cheese. You can ask for something else, but if you just ask for a cheesesteak, you’ll get American.

    If you want a real Philly cheese steak, go to Dalesandro’s in Roxborough . . . Though I’m sure those from other neighborhood’s will have their own preferences.

    I tend to prefer American cheese.and get mine with sauce and extra fried onions. If some place has to ask me what I mean by sauce, I give up right there. They should know better. It’s pizza sauce, btw, not marinara.

    My boyfriend does ketchup and mayonnaise, but he’s from New York and doesn’t know any better.

    My best point of advice for those in Philly who want a real Philly Cheesesteak – be careful, just because they sell them, doesn’t mean they know how to make them. Do your research . . . thank you internet!

    As for your recipe . . . I give two thumbs up :)

    • #22 by Tom Baker on December 12, 2011 - 8:17 AM

      Coming from a Philly resident I accept your thumbs up as very high praise! Thank you and because it is you, I forgive your boyfriend. In all honesty, it was Iron Cook Carl who gave me much help with my recipe. It is him who deserves your thumbs up.

  1. Sunday Sharing: Progress, FluffyButts, Philly Cheesesteaks and more! | I shall be a toad

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

