Christmas Food & Family Traditions

The sense of smell is a strong catalyst for remembering moments from the past. Fond memories of Thanksgiving at your grandparents can be conjured up by the smell of an apple pie or the aroma of hot chocolate can bring back memories of a week in the mountains with family and friends.

For me there is a smell in the outdoor air that has a “it’s gonna snow” smell to it. You might know what I mean and you might not, but when I smell that, whether or not it is supposed to snow, has me remembering all the Christmas and Thanksgiving dinners I had as a child. These are the times when all the additional sections of the dining room table have been added and the card tables have been pulled out so the kids have a place to sit and eat. When even though family members were packing the house and bringing whatever their assigned dish was, the overpowering smell was the cinnamon from the still baking apple pies. I was blessed with a wonderful family. From my nuclear family to the extended family as well as my new found blogging family. Our get-togethers have never been the kind of fiasco you’ve seen in movies. Thank God! Although, it might have been fun to have an Aunt Bethany say grace like in Christmas Vacation!

What food conjures up images and memories of Christmas past for you?

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Inside the Mind of Isadora on December 23, 2011 - 12:19 AM

    Gosh … way tooooo many sad and uneventful ones … holidays somehow meant pain and suffering.
    I tried to create a new holidays tradition here and there …. no go amigo.
    It is what it is … Can I hear an Amen ….???

    • #2 by Tom Baker on December 23, 2011 - 6:06 PM

      Well Isadora, I sincerely pray they only get better as the years progress. Perhaps the good one can overshadow the bad memories.

  2. #3 by JeLisa | Blogging Ever After on December 19, 2011 - 11:37 PM

    Stuffing. :) But it’s gotta be cornbread stuffing, baked with chicken broth, herbs, and love by my mom or grandmother {none of that “Stove Top Stuffing” madness!}. Not to mention greens. And sweet potato pie. Now you’ve just made me look forward to Christmas!

    • #4 by Tom Baker on December 21, 2011 - 11:26 PM

      Missed seeing your smiling face and Galen’s forehead here. That is one tasty tradition JeLisa! Happy to see a comment by you! Take care.

  3. #5 by TemptingSweets99 on December 17, 2011 - 11:50 PM

    LOL! Funny clip. Haven’t seen that movie before. What wonderful memories of Christmas you have!

    • #6 by Tom Baker on December 18, 2011 - 4:46 AM

      Oh man, it is an extremely funny movie. One I watch every Christmas season. You have to rent it. Please, for me!

  4. #7 by brittany220 on December 17, 2011 - 1:21 PM

    That’s cool that it snows where you live! Around where I live it never snows. But one day I’m going to go someplace that has snow and watch it fall and then I’m going to build a snowman and have a snowball fight. It will be grand. :) But our Christmas tree is up and my best friend came over yesterday to make sugar cookies with my brother and I and that was fun. We took a bunch of silly pictures in front of the tree too. And I will get to see my oldest brother next week, so I am looking forward to that.

    • #8 by Tom Baker on December 18, 2011 - 4:45 AM

      Brit, that sounds great but if you really want to have fun the snowball fight should be with people and not the snowman! Sugar cookies are a weakness of mine. If allowed I could eat as many as are made in one sitting. I know gluttony is a sin so I just avoid them all together! Enjoy the time with your older brother. When I read that it reminded me of that coffee commercial. Merry Christmas.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

