A Prayer For The Philippines

A significant number of my blogging friends are from the Philippines. If you have not heard there is a large death toll (650 people, mostly children and women) due to strong storms that caused flash flooding while most were sleeping. There are also over 800 still missing.

It was late in the rainy season for Tropical Storm Washi when flash flooding down mountain slopes causing trees to be uprooted trees and swelling rivers that caused the death of hundreds. What is great about blogging is also bad about blogging. I know my friends live in the Philippines but not exactly where. I don’t know whether to breath a sigh of relief or be concerned. I feel for the family’s that have lost loved ones yet I am still left wondering if any of the devastation has touched anyone I know.

This is a busy time of the year and blogging gives way to more important things. because of that lots of people don’t check in, visit blogs or even update their own blogs. I just pray and I ask that you do too, that anyone I know and that they know is safe and secure.

I also ask my friends to make it known that they are safe.

, , ,

  1. #1 by coffeeshopburrito on December 22, 2011 - 12:04 AM

    My city has not been affected by the typhoon in any way, but knowing that most of the residents of Mindanao won’t be celebrating Christmas this year due to the storm breaks my heart. I am hoping and praying that they will all be comforted this holiday. I really appreciate your concern for my country.

    • #2 by Tom Baker on December 22, 2011 - 6:17 AM

      I’m very happy to hear your city was not affected. Yes Mica praying for the survivors is very important. Take care!

  2. #3 by JeLisa | Blogging Ever After on December 19, 2011 - 11:35 PM

    Such heartbreak, this story. It was devastating to learn that most of those who died were children. So, so sad, but I am grateful for the reminder to hug my own little one a little tighter tonight.

    • #4 by Tom Baker on December 21, 2011 - 11:24 PM

      I just can’t imagine. It is so sad.

  3. #5 by Addie on December 19, 2011 - 11:04 AM

    Hi, Tom. You have no idea how this has made me feel after reading this on your blog. Thank God for people like you. And thank God that the city where I live was not in any way affected by the said typhoon. It was also a shock to me. I was out having a fun time with my friends that same night. I didn’t know about the storm until last night when I rang my cousin sister to catch up. She answered the phone in distraught. She told me about her high school friend who died in the storm. I turned the TV on right then and there. It’s all over the news and even I’m watching the TV now while typing this. Sometimes I can’t bear to watch. I was on the bus on my way home, I couldn’t help but shed a tear.

    Only then did I realize how lucky I am.

    Again, thank you for the concern.

    • #6 by Tom Baker on December 21, 2011 - 11:29 PM

      Addie, I just wanted to make people aware of it. So often only huge loss of life makes the news. That or some stupid celebrity wedding! I’m praying for everyone.

  4. #7 by Dayle Fraschilla on December 19, 2011 - 3:09 AM

    I tend to be completely out the loop with other things going on in the world (typical American, I suppose), so thank you for sharing this and I will certainly keep them in my prayers. My aunt is from the Philippines. I think all of her family came to the US shortly after she did, but I’m going to give her a call tomorrow.

    • #8 by Tom Baker on December 21, 2011 - 11:30 PM

      Let me know what she says Dayle. I would like an update if you don’t mind.

      • #9 by Dayle Fraschilla on December 22, 2011 - 3:01 AM

        Thank you, Tom.

        She does still have family in the Philippines, but they live on the other side of the country from where the storms occurred.

        Have you heard from your friends?

        I’m continuing to send out prayers.

  5. #10 by Rose Reynolds on December 18, 2011 - 1:59 PM

    I would have expected as much from you. You are very thoughtful and I will keep them in my prayers. Prayerfully it does not affect anyone you know.

  6. #11 by TemptingSweets99 on December 18, 2011 - 9:55 AM

    thanks for letting us know. i will keep everyone in my thoughts and prayers.

    • #12 by Tom Baker on December 18, 2011 - 11:21 AM

      Thank you. I’m going to visit their sites later to see if anything was posted this weekend.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

