Suicide Attempts

I need your help my friends. I came across a blogger this morning who could really use some friends. Her name is Anne and she lives in the Philippines. It broke my heart reading her posts. I know that I have some, if not the best blogging friends on the planet so I am asking you for help. Please find it in your hearts (mostly my female friends, but of course males too) to visit her site and leave some words of encouragement.

Don’t do it just for the sake of doing it and please don’t tell her not to commit suicide. That is not a deterrent. Words of encouragement and reasons for living help. Let her know that the bad things others say to her and do to her are not her fault; let her know that is their problem and not hers. I’m very sure that all who want to head over to her blog need no instruction from me, so I thank you.

I just learned that she has decided to seek help from doctors this January. That means no phones and no internet. Please stop by soon – today if possible. I know she is online right now. Thank you all. You are the best!

Anne’s blog is I Am Ms. Brightside and the post you should read first is Stitches.

Maybe you are not comfortable dealing with this subject matter. That is fine too, just visit her other posts and leave comments. Everyone with a blog likes comments! I know I do! Hint, hint…

,

  1. #1 by pamela on December 16, 2016 - 8:20 AM

    Thanks for sharing your article. It has made me a perfect person for me to speak because i believe i know best.

  2. #2 by WordsFallFromMyEyes on January 8, 2012 - 5:56 AM

    This was a wonderful, wonderful post. I might be too late, but I’ll visit the blog – got me in the perfect blog reading mood, too :)

    I like how at the end you say some people may not be comfortable with the subject matter. Oh, I know it so well. This is wonderful, Tom.

  3. #3 by Broken Sparkles on January 8, 2012 - 3:37 AM

    If it’s not too late I’d like to help too, I would like to send a book and something else to that girl and I am visiting her site now! Tom, very kind of you!

  4. #4 by Bassas Blog on December 28, 2011 - 12:37 AM

    This is one of the good things about blogging – it connects people for all sorts of reasons. I hope Anne will be okay and she will find happiness and peace in the coming year.

    • #5 by Tom Baker on December 29, 2011 - 6:32 PM

      That is my hope for Anne as well. Not just Anne but everyone. Tough times is not a respecter of person.

  5. #6 by Barefoot Baroness on December 27, 2011 - 12:51 PM

    Thank you so much Tom. To be able to reach out to one another when we’re hurting, or we know one of us is hurting is God’s Loving Hand’s guiding each of us to show His Love.
    Thank you for letting me reach out to a sister sho is hurting, whose pain runs so deep that no other option seems plausable. My prayer’s join yours in that maybe we can reach her very broken heart and soul to with much Hope show her that she has much value and worth. Even to strangers. Although strangers we cease to be once we share the pains that only those wihout God in their hearts can give.

    You do amazing work here and I am proud to be your friend.

    • #7 by Tom Baker on December 29, 2011 - 6:42 PM

      Thank you for stopping by Anne’s blog Baroness. I appreciate it and I know from her heart, she does too! God sees her needs and all she needs to do is call for help.

  6. #8 by Addie on December 27, 2011 - 6:32 AM

    Thanks Tom for sharing.

    Anne! Maghunus-dili ka. Teka at mabisita nga kita.

    • #9 by Tom Baker on December 29, 2011 - 6:29 PM

      Thank you Addie. Tell me, is Kuya Tom a good fit for me and Anne?

  7. #10 by mysterycoach on December 27, 2011 - 5:55 AM

    Reblogged this on MysteryCoach and commented:
    This is a repost of a gentleman’s blog who I’ve recently met here in blog world. Through… oh man I forget! Words fall from my eye’s blog I think? Anyway…

  8. #11 by Ribbons Undone on December 27, 2011 - 3:35 AM

    Tom, I went to her blog and read some of her posts. I honestly don’t know what to say to her. As a person who’s tried suicide several times, I’m afraid what I say might sound trite or…I don’t know. I’m keeping her in my prayers, though.

    • #12 by Tom Baker on December 29, 2011 - 6:25 PM

      So many hurting people! I am so glad you were not successful and I’m assuming you are glad as well. As a person who has tried suicide yourself, I think you would be the perfect person for her to speak with but I believe you know best. Your prayers are sufficient and very welcomed! Stay strong yourself!

  9. #13 by annerifficweak on December 26, 2011 - 6:06 PM

    Thank you Tom for sharing my story to your blog readers. I have received some comments that will surely help me. Words of encouragement and words of pure love. To those of you who have read and commented my blog, to those who empathized me and gave their warm acceptance for who I am, thank you. I feel loved and you all give me strength to move on with my life.

    Anne

    • #14 by Tom Baker on December 29, 2011 - 6:20 PM

      Bunso, you are very welcome. I have the best readers, no doubt! Stay tuned for my post tomorrow about the package being mailed to you!

  10. #15 by Inside the Mind of Isadora on December 26, 2011 - 3:02 PM

    I hesitated to click on the “Like” button as the subject is not likeable. I am clicking on it because what you have asked us to do is both in keeping with the holiday spirit of giving but also very kind hearted of you. It is in reaching out to others in need that we ourselves receive the blessings due to us. Bless you.

    I have written to Anne … in the event that you are not able to see my message to her I will post it here. Good Christmas gift to Anne, Tom.

    Anne,
    I found your blog through Tom. He is a good blog friend to have. He directed his bloggers to read your post – Stitches.
    It is a very alarming one. I am writing because I had a Mother who was very depressed and did not get help. As a child, I suffered the loss of her presence. You are important to have here on earth. You should not allow your life to be dictated by what others think and say. It is good that you are intelligent to know that in getting help you are not weak. It is a journey for you to become strong in who you are and not falter from it.

    May your troubled heart find peace and comfort in the knowledge that you are never alone. May God’s presence ease your trembling spirit and give you rest. He is there to cast sunlight into all of your darkened shadows, to send encouragement through the love of friends and family, and to replace your weariness with new hope.

    Blessings to you …
    Isadora

    • #16 by Tom Baker on December 29, 2011 - 6:17 PM

      Isadora, I have been in constant contact with Anne and I know how much everyone’s comments have meant to her. I thank God for people like you and I am sorry to hear about the loss you endured as a child.

  11. #17 by knowmyworth on December 26, 2011 - 11:45 AM

    Tom, thanks for sharing this; it tells me a lot about who you are. I am adding prayers and words of encouragement for Anne.

    • #18 by Tom Baker on December 29, 2011 - 6:12 PM

      You are welcome. I am glad I have such a wonderful blogging community to draw from.

  12. #19 by TemptingSweets99 on December 26, 2011 - 11:35 AM

    It is good to be able to encourage each other.

    • #20 by Tom Baker on December 29, 2011 - 6:11 PM

      I concur. Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

