Dance With Me

Dance With Me

by Tom Baker

The aroma of red wine fills my sense
With it I am transported to a different time and place
To when, I alone was who you shared your secrets with
When the “I love you’s” dripped from my lips
And yours like the rainfall in spring
When in our kisses I could taste your thoughts

Just a wisp of your sweet breath has touched my ear
And again I am swept by your words but now back to reality
My hidden, …….. obscure thoughts and feelings resurface
The past comes rushing in – barreling down like a torrent
What marvelous feelings my mind is imparting

The smile in your eyes has me taken aback
I am your slave – entranced and hypnotized in time
Wanting more of you than I deserve or am even allowed
What a wonderful overload of my senses
The rhythm of sight, taste, sound, touch and of smells
Have my feet wanting to sweep you up and sail across the floor

Dance with me, my once and future love
Bring me back down to earth
Yearning to feel your touch, my flesh laments
The space and time between us
Since you wanted to be loved by me
Since you were able to be loved by me

Dance with me and fill these empty wanting arms.

The rhythm just makes me want you more….

, , ,

  1. #1 by priyaasha on January 16, 2012 - 10:34 AM

    its beautiful….<3

  2. #3 by Fiona.q on January 13, 2012 - 9:15 PM

    sweet, romantic, and sexyyy ;)

    • #4 by Tom Baker on January 13, 2012 - 9:19 PM

      Thank you Fiona. That is what I was going for.

  3. #5 by dontchawannadream on January 12, 2012 - 3:01 PM

    OMG, Tom! This is so beautiful!!!!

    • #6 by Tom Baker on January 13, 2012 - 3:30 PM

      Thank you so much Cha! I am happy that so many say that they like it.

  4. #7 by tekia on January 10, 2012 - 11:02 AM

    Love the imagery here. Wonderful expression and the mood comes through well.

    • #8 by Tom Baker on January 10, 2012 - 7:48 PM

      Thank you Te’Kia! It means a lot to me that you liked it.

  5. #9 by PM on January 10, 2012 - 12:34 AM

    nice piece of writing tom. you know i’ve never written poetry (if you can call it that) in a long time! the last was the one which you featured in that one poetic license! now this makes me want to try my hand again. let’s see. but thanks for the inspiration.

    • #10 by Tom Baker on January 10, 2012 - 3:22 AM

      Well Princesa, thank you and I think it is past time for you to write again. In fact, I would like you to write a poem, not for your blog, but one to be featured on Poetic License in March. What do you say?

  6. #11 by Scott Moore on January 10, 2012 - 12:02 AM

    Nice. It paints a very nice scene of a special moment between a man and woman. Special.

    • #12 by Tom Baker on January 10, 2012 - 3:23 AM

      Thank you Scott. It is always nice to get a male perspective on love.

  7. #13 by nenskei on January 9, 2012 - 10:58 PM

    Beautiful :)

    • #14 by Tom Baker on January 10, 2012 - 3:21 AM

      Thank you Shira! I’m happy to see you drop by my blog and again thanks for the poem for March!

  8. #15 by TemptingSweets99 on January 9, 2012 - 4:13 PM

    I love this poem and the image you feature with it. Wonderful!

    • #16 by Tom Baker on January 10, 2012 - 3:20 AM

      Thank you 99! I was kind of worried what people might think about the image, but singin’ and dancin’ in the rain just seemed to fit for me with this poem. I didn’t say so in the poem, but I thought it was raining while he was engaged in sensory overload. It seemed fitting.

  9. #17 by Iron Cook Carl on January 9, 2012 - 6:53 AM

    It’s been a long time since you featured one of your own poems. A job well done! I think, “The rhythm just makes me want you more….” sums up the whole experience.

    • #18 by Tom Baker on January 10, 2012 - 3:18 AM

      Thanks Carl. Now maybe it is your turn!

  10. #19 by JeLisa | Blogging Ever After on January 9, 2012 - 6:05 AM

    Very nice, Tom!

    • #20 by Tom Baker on January 10, 2012 - 3:17 AM

      JeLisa, it is always great to see you here. I’m glad so many people like this.

  11. #21 by rachel829 on January 9, 2012 - 4:49 AM

    wow, this is beautiful…

    • #22 by Tom Baker on January 10, 2012 - 3:14 AM

      Rachel, I’m glad to see you commenting and not just lurking. Thanks, and I am glad you like it!

  12. #23 by Inside the Mind of Isadora on January 9, 2012 - 4:05 AM

    AAAhhhh …. the dance of love … amour … fleeting and elusive.
    Very nice,
    Isadora

    • #24 by Tom Baker on January 10, 2012 - 3:16 AM

      I love French words Isadora! Thank you, some love can be very elusive.

  13. #25 by ladywithatruck on January 9, 2012 - 2:55 AM

    Beautiful!!

    • #26 by Tom Baker on January 10, 2012 - 3:15 AM

      Thank you Truck Lady! It amazes me that someone likes the ‘poetry’ I write.

  14. #27 by Broken Sparkles on January 9, 2012 - 12:56 AM

    Tom, that is just wonderful! Very sweet poem! I could see the bodies swaying and the eyes sparkling in the rhythm of music!

    • #28 by Tom Baker on January 10, 2012 - 3:13 AM

      Thank you Blaga. Any compliment from you, I consider to be high praise. I am glad you are back.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

