Her Love Will Never Be Mine

Written circa 1998, and scheduled on January 12, 2012 for posting on February 4, 2012

This is a poem I found recently in a pile of old papers without a date on it. If I were to speculate when I wrote it and what was going on in my life, I would guesstimate I was eighteen or nineteen years old. Not my best work but I like it.

Her Love Will Never Be Mine

I thank God on hands and knees for dreams
For in them is the only time she is truly mine
She makes the stars closer, the moon shine brighter

In those grand dreams, my arms engulf her
Her smile is meant for me alone as are her sweet kisses
She makes the birds fly higher, the sun’s rays warmer

The dreams I first dreamed in my mother’s womb
A dream across the ages, across time of destiny
Of her special love meant for me that will never be mine

My dream turned to nightmare the day he entered into her life
When she gave freely her love to another man
I’m enslaved by the freedom her love for him gave to me

To date, I still dream of her love that will never be mine
I am not alone though; I share my bed
Every night with the feelings of hurt and pain

Because my dreams are unrealistic, childlike jealousy
Our friendship continues to grow because I hide my pain convincingly
For now, I am doing just fine but who knows what’s ahead

I cling to false hope, memories of the love we once shared
But still her love will never be completely mine
I would offer my love, my life to her openly if she becomes free

Or as it seems for now, that love
Her love will never be mine – again.

Her Love Will Never Be His Either
Photo Credit: Aaubin from Deviantart.com

, , ,

  1. #1 by Broken Sparkles on February 11, 2012 - 1:14 AM

    “At the touch of love everyone becomes a poet.” ~Plato Beautiful words, Tom!

    • #2 by Tom Baker on February 15, 2012 - 10:37 AM

      Plato was a very smart dude. I hope you are fairing well Blaga. I’ve seen all the unrest in Greece and think of you often. Watch out for yourself and take care.

      • #3 by Broken Sparkles on February 15, 2012 - 11:57 AM

        Crazy times over here … Athens was burned and destroyed over a night … Sad! I’m ok, thanks Tom! I hope you’re ok too! Regards to you and April!

        • #4 by Tom Baker on February 16, 2012 - 4:08 PM

          April and I are doing better! I pray you stay safe – watch your back!

  2. #5 by 1manview on February 11, 2012 - 12:37 AM

    Deep piece. As much pain as you were in, you have to grasp were she was coming from. Tore apart because she had two loves, and had to choose one…

    • #6 by Tom Baker on February 15, 2012 - 10:38 AM

      Yes, life was rough on her as well but such is life. We live and learn and hopefully what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger!

  3. #7 by Iron Cook Carl on February 5, 2012 - 11:02 PM

    I have to believe she was/is a very special lady. Someone that attracts your attention must be a very special person. Her loss!

    • #8 by Tom Baker on February 6, 2012 - 7:01 PM

      Would I be attracted to anyone who wasn’t special?

  4. #9 by Rose Reynolds on February 5, 2012 - 10:06 AM

    Young love is powerful. Great poem! That is one serious photo.

    • #10 by Tom Baker on February 6, 2012 - 7:00 PM

      Young love is just as strong as old folks love.

  5. #11 by TemptingSweets99 on February 5, 2012 - 2:23 AM

    Wow! You wrote this as a teenager? Fantastic and touching! Yet, I have to laugh as I see the photo on the bottom. Fitting. :-D

    Hey! I was thinking that perhaps, in the near future, you’ll post a favorite soup recipe? :-D

    • #12 by Tom Baker on February 6, 2012 - 7:00 PM

      I will try to post a favorite soup recipe but I think I did. I will have to check through the archives for you. I was a deep teenager!

  6. #13 by Paula on February 4, 2012 - 7:25 PM

    I like it too Tom! It’s definitely relateable. I think that almost everyone has loved someone that didn’t love them back, at least, in the way that they wanted them to.

    • #14 by Tom Baker on February 6, 2012 - 6:59 PM

      I beleive she loved me the same way but there were racial obstacles, parents,etc…

  7. #15 by ladywithatruck on February 4, 2012 - 1:04 PM

    Beautiful poem! But I gotta say I love that pic, a picture says a thousand words, that one sure does! Haha

    • #16 by Tom Baker on February 6, 2012 - 6:57 PM

      It doesn’t actually fit the poem but it seemed a perfect fit all the same.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

