For Whitney; The Voice

My wife is a huge fan of Whitney Houston and her death hit her hard. I am creating this post for her so don’t think I am back to posting regularly, because I am not. I saw this tribute for Whitney from The Dubai Foundation and thought this might be a good way to honor someone who gave happiness to billions yet was so very unhappy herself (my opinion). If you like beautiful things such as water fountains and you are not sick and tired of hearing I Will Always Love You; I think you might enjoy this.
I know April will.

, ,

  1. #1 by SeeNote on February 20, 2012 - 11:53 AM

    Thanks for sharing the Dubai tribute, Tom. I might not have seen it otherwise. If ever a city were a palace….

    • #2 by Tom Baker on February 20, 2012 - 11:54 AM

      As always my friend, you are welcome. I have a music oriented post today. I hope you check it out.

  2. #3 by Addie on February 17, 2012 - 12:45 PM

    I Wanna Dance With Somebody. This song will forever remind me and my friends to be happy, rejoice and forget our worries.

    • #4 by Tom Baker on February 17, 2012 - 1:41 PM

      I did like this song originally but it is just too hard to get out of your head once you hear it. If I had to pick a favorite it would be Count On Me by Whitney and CeCe Winans. It just reminds me of good friends. It wasn’t a big hit but it was for me. It reminds me of a long time friend. There it is on YouTube.

      • #5 by Addie on February 17, 2012 - 1:44 PM

        I know the song, Tom. My high school best friend and I – that’s our theme song. “Count on me through thick and thin…a friendship that will never end…” I could go on and on.

        Glad to hear from ya. :D

        • #6 by Tom Baker on February 17, 2012 - 1:46 PM

          I actually like CeCe better in that song. I love her voice!

        • #7 by Addie on February 17, 2012 - 1:47 PM

          Also, Whitney Houston songs like “I Will Always Love You” and “I Have Nothing” have been immortalized by several aspiring singers around the world and have become a favorite song piece for Filipino singers joining local singing contests.

          Charice Pempengco can definitely sing Whitney.

          • #8 by Tom Baker on February 17, 2012 - 1:49 PM

            I love Charice. I think I saw her on Oprah and also she was on a DVD for the celebration of David Foster’s career I think. I like this conversation. We need to chat sometime.

          • #9 by Addie on February 17, 2012 - 1:52 PM

            Sure. That’d be great. Also, I like that you posted this in memory of Whitney. To her, thank you for the music ma’am.

          • #10 by Tom Baker on February 17, 2012 - 2:00 PM

            I was debating about the post but my wife loves Whitney. I saw a graphic about Whitney saying ‘One Person Dies and millions grieve but when millions die hardly anybody notices’ or something to that effect. I saw the same thing about Steve Jobs. She made so many millions of people if not billions happy with her music that I felt I could post it. People getting married, falling in love, on the dance floor, aspiring to be like her. I hope she is at peace.

          • #11 by Addie on February 17, 2012 - 2:02 PM

            I saw that post too. I just shrugged it off.

  3. #12 by rachel829 on February 16, 2012 - 12:32 PM

    This is beautiful. I am sure April enjoyed this as much as I did. Whitney Houston will forever remain as one of the greatest singers ever. She is already missed. Rest in peace, Whitney Houston.

    • #13 by Tom Baker on February 16, 2012 - 4:15 PM

      I’m glad you are not a stranger anymore. I hope you continue visiting here Rachel. Whitney had some good songs. I really like Who Would Imagine A King. You can watch it on YouTube if you have not heard it before.

  4. #14 by Broken Sparkles on February 15, 2012 - 11:41 AM

    She was and it will be forever my favorite voice! Let her soul rest in peace!

    • #15 by Tom Baker on February 16, 2012 - 4:06 PM

      I sincerely hope she is at peace. I believe she was tormented by so many demons here.

  5. #16 by tekia on February 15, 2012 - 11:25 AM

    I too am a fan of Whitney Houston and this is such a beautifully, awesome tribute. Thanks for sharing!

    • #17 by Tom Baker on February 16, 2012 - 4:05 PM

      You are welcome Te’Kia. I’m glad people liked it.

  6. #18 by Scott Moore on February 15, 2012 - 11:19 AM

    Very nice indeed. I saw this video from a different angle. It sounded like it was from a restaurant but I think this one is more spectacular in that there are many more camera angles and it is at night. I hope you decide to come back full time.

    • #19 by Tom Baker on February 16, 2012 - 4:05 PM

      I watched that one first and I went looking for something better. Long time no see Scott. Glad to see you here once again.

  1. Whitney Tributes | MotorCity Collective

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

