A Tale of Two Toms, Two Dicks But No Harry

Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.
Charles Caleb Colton

Pun definitely intended!

I cannot say for sure that he saw my site and copied. Sometimes there are two great minds on the Earth at the same time (you have my permission to laugh)! On February 25th as I was preparing my thank you for Mai’s guest post I noticed a little orange number one next to my name. When I clicked on it Jenni from OhJenni.com had followed my blog. Strange I thought. I don’t remember her ever leaving a comment or sending me an email and I know I had not been by her site. I was intrigued. I went to her site and she had created a post about my Morning Erection.

Both her and her readers were confused by my blog because there once was a guy named Thomas who had a blog called Morning Wood. His site is now defunct but everyone on her blog thinks the similarities between us two guys and the two blogs are too close for me not to be this ‘other’ Tom.

I don’t know how the similarities came about because I did not know this other blog existed but perhaps he copied from me? What I do know is I might as well try to steal over to my blog, those bloggers who used to visit his! Sounds like a plan. Don’t hate.

Although the blog is deleted Google has cached some of his posts. You can view a few of them here (images were removed by Google). He even used the same theme as me. Freaky deaky. Please, someone, anyone, tell me honestly that you do not think I am that other Thomas guy. Thomas if you are out there, feel free to interject anytime!


That has got to be my most clever post title ever.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Aliza on March 17, 2012 - 2:21 PM

    you are secretive but not a liar, and if Jenni and some others are saying this thomas guy is a liar than in no world can I think that he is you!
    p.s. wat a cool title!

    • #2 by Tom Baker on March 17, 2012 - 2:28 PM

      You have joined the ranks of awesome in my book. Thank you for those words but I recently found out that Jenni was really hurt by this Thomas guy, so I can understand her apprehension and inability to trust that I am not him. The title is cool.

      • #3 by Aliza on March 17, 2012 - 2:47 PM

        oh…I hope his wife fixes up his well enough to make up for watever he did to hurt jenni :(

  2. #4 by Cherlyn on March 8, 2012 - 4:57 PM

    I don’t think you guys are the same people – you don’t even have the same writing style (I can’t recall you ever using “OMG” in either a blog post or even an email). I always find your posts to be to-the-point, there’s always a destination with your posts, whoever this Thomas is, he seems to ramble a little (seems more like he’s copying from me or something haha). Plus you rarely use elipses.

    Perhaps it’s just coincidence :).

    • #5 by Tom Baker on March 8, 2012 - 7:13 PM

      Thank you Cherlyn! Another definitive vote on my side. Not to make to big of a deal but I thought OMG was reserved for the ladies. And even though Martin always said, “you go girl”, I was informed that guys don’t say that either. Oh well.

      As far as you theory about a coincidence, Special Agent Leroy Jethro Gibbs rule #39 states there is no such thing as coincidence.

  3. #6 by Addie on March 8, 2012 - 3:43 AM

    You have an impersonator-ish! Only proves You.Are.Famous.
    :D

    • #7 by Tom Baker on March 9, 2012 - 9:16 AM

      I’m famous? Addie, it’s better than being infamous like Thomas has become.

  4. #8 by Paula on March 7, 2012 - 8:04 PM

    Yes, definitely your most clever post title EVER! :)

    • #9 by Tom Baker on March 7, 2012 - 8:28 PM

      Thank ya, thank ya very much!

  5. #10 by sarsm on March 7, 2012 - 2:19 PM

    That is weird!! I read somewhere that you should sometimes put a whole sentence of your posts into Google to see if anyone has copied them. ;-)

    And superb title!!

    • #11 by Tom Baker on March 7, 2012 - 2:29 PM

      No, he hasn’t copied any of my posts. People just think we are the same person with two separate (and not equal) blogs. One erection and one wood. Very eerie and now from Jenni’s comment I am sure he stole the title idea from me. Nobody is a clever as me! ‘Com on!

  6. #12 by Off the Wall on March 7, 2012 - 1:56 PM

    I don’t think you are that “other” Thomas….you seem too sane. Right now that other Thomas is mostly likely having a meltdown as his house of cards collapses around him.

    • #13 by Tom Baker on March 7, 2012 - 2:32 PM

      Bless your heart. Thank you for believing in me – a stranger! My name isn’t Thomas. It’s just Tom! It’s a Doctor Who thing.

      • #14 by Off the Wall on March 7, 2012 - 7:15 PM

        Ok, cool, just don’t start hitting on the female bloggers, or people WILL come and hurt you, lol.

        • #15 by Tom Baker on March 7, 2012 - 8:03 PM

          Oh, so that is what he did. Now finding his wife’s blog makes sense. If there is room, I have been inspired to write another question for the 30 Days of Blogging Honesty. What a trip. Truth really is stranger than fiction. Can you tell me the name of his wife’s blog. If not that is okay too.

          • #16 by Off the Wall on March 7, 2012 - 8:34 PM

            Tom, Thomas did a lot more than just entice women to his blog. I don’t feel it is it is my place to tell you. Ask Jenni. In fact, I’m surprised you haven’t read her blog….

          • #17 by Tom Baker on March 7, 2012 - 9:36 PM

            Perhaps it isn’t my place to know. Now the things she wrote in her post about my blog makes sense. The whole time I’m thinking it is humorous she must have been boiling over in anger. I owe her an apology for thinking the similarities were funny. For sure, I am not that guy!

  7. #18 by evilnymphstuff on March 7, 2012 - 1:27 PM

    I don’t believe it was you. Indeed illegal copying exists and this is something we all bloggers should really be careful about…

    • #19 by Tom Baker on March 7, 2012 - 2:35 PM

      Dude didn’t do anything illegal or steal anything from me that I am aware of. I just think he liked the name of my blog and copied the theme and made the name similar. It’s a big internet and there are a lot of WordPress blogs out there but I also found friends of mine who comment only once in a while who left comments on his blog. They may have thought he was me. Now that I know he’s an habitual liar, perhaps I won;t try to take his readers – just educate mine.

  8. #20 by AnonymousBurn on March 7, 2012 - 6:10 AM

    Woooo – twilight zone-y. Maybe parallel universes can weave together on the internets.

    • #21 by Tom Baker on March 7, 2012 - 9:45 AM

      Perhaps, but no. I am me and he is he.

  9. #22 by Rose Reynolds on March 7, 2012 - 4:23 AM

    Unless you have a split personality, I believe you Tom. I read one of his posts and yes, it was good but his writing style seems alot different from yours. This post title is perfect.

    • #23 by Tom Baker on March 7, 2012 - 9:43 AM

      Every time I started a new blog I announced it to everyone! If I was trying to live a split life I would not have chosen the same theme. Thank you for your vote of confidence.

  10. #24 by veehcirra on March 7, 2012 - 4:21 AM

    The two of you are way too similar

    Though your writing voices are different.

    I don’t think you are the other Thomas guy,but hey, I maybe wrong :)

    • #25 by Tom Baker on March 7, 2012 - 9:40 AM

      We are not the same person. If I could get his email, I would like to interview him. Maybe I could ask Jenni. Why didn’t I think of this before.

      • #26 by veehcirra on March 7, 2012 - 1:07 PM

        That’s one interview I would love to read. I agree Tom, you are two different people…your writing tells it. Looking forward to see how this story unfolds.

      • #27 by Jenni on March 7, 2012 - 2:22 PM

        Well… hmmm… I’m on the fence. You use a lot of the same phrases, and though I’d love to believe you- I’ve been through hell with Thomas and the similarities are eery. Also there’s not a picture of you on your blog so I’m a little more skeptical. I’m happy to supply you with the email address, but he’s gone into hiding as his house of cards collapses after we all found his wife’s blog. What a dick- the title of his blog should have been a warning- sorry yours is the same.

        I don’t know Tom… but I sure s$%t a brick house when I stumbled on your blog, that’s for sure.

        • #28 by Tom Baker on March 7, 2012 - 2:27 PM

          I’m very confused. I thought from the comments and even the comments on his blog that you guys liked him. Why else visit it? Then again, I knew nothing of his wife. With this new information I doubt if he would want me to have his email or if he would even respond.

          Did you guys contact his wife? Was she in the dark about his online activity and if I were him, would I be so stupid (as so often men are), to have two blogs and one started years before? Even you have to agree it’s not too plausible. By the way, tell me you liked my title (smile). What did this guy do anyway?

          Thanks for commenting. Yours was one I was hoping to see.

  11. #29 by Broken Sparkles on March 7, 2012 - 1:18 AM

    I’d say here that great minds think alike :)

    • #30 by nenskei on March 7, 2012 - 2:12 AM

      I’m with Broken_Sparkles :)

      • #31 by Tom Baker on March 7, 2012 - 9:38 AM

        Thank you Shira! I appreciate it.

    • #32 by Tom Baker on March 7, 2012 - 9:37 AM

      I’m gonna take that to mean you think we are two separate people.

    • #34 by Jenni on March 7, 2012 - 2:22 PM

      The only thing great about the “other” Thomas is his ability to lie- trust me.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

