True Friends Get Naked With One Another

Dear Friends,

I want to get naked with some of you. Together, alone; just us two.

In my lifetime I have had numerous times when I wish I had someone to share things with. When I was way up on the mountaintop filled with happiness and when I was way way down in the valley very sad and depressed. Nobody likes feeling like that and no one wants others to feel that way either.

I’m happy to say that almost from the start of this blog I have been able to be that person for many people. The one I made public was Anne from the Philippines. All others have been private and of course will remain that way.

This post is written simply because if you ever find yourself in need of someone to talk to or someone to just listen to you, I am that person. I give good advice and I am a great listener. It does not mean everyone takes my advice and certainly not everyone agrees with my life philosophies, yet still they come.

Awhile back I received an email from a young lady who loved reading my blog but also had some issues and stopped reading it. I posted her letter and she still doesn’t read my blog as far as I know, but I do get frequent emails from her whenever she needs to talk. I get emails from people as young as 15 years old and as old as or older than me. It feels good to make new friends and be able to be there for others. Use my email address or my contact page and we can converse. If you don’t mind being naked with me according to how I defined it in the graphic below, I’m here for you.

It was mentioned once that I should start an advice blog. I just laughed!

“I was born with an enormous need for affection, and a terrible need to give it.”
Audrey Hepburn

Download and use this image as .jpg or chose the .png.

, ,

  1. #1 by Sonja Flowers on April 24, 2012 - 7:54 AM

    I saw the True Friends logo on a friend’s blog. I hope you don’t mind I think I may like to talk sometime in the close future. Thank you.

    • #2 by Tom Baker on May 1, 2012 - 9:26 PM

      You can email me anytime Sonja. I’m glad you took the initiative and I’m sorry it took so long to respond to your comment.

  2. #3 by Karen Kae on March 18, 2012 - 2:04 AM

    I now have a completely different definition of the phrase “true friends get naked with one another”. Thanks for this post, Tom! I’m glad you recommended this to me! Hope to talk to you soon! :)

    • #4 by Tom Baker on March 18, 2012 - 7:38 AM

      You are welcome Karen. Anytime you need someone to talk to… I’m looking forward to hearing from you soon as well.

  3. #5 by Aliza on March 17, 2012 - 1:07 PM

    being naked with friends Is such a blessing :-)

    • #6 by Tom Baker on March 17, 2012 - 1:14 PM

      Everyone needs at least one friend they can be naked with! Intimacy and accountability are important.

  4. #7 by Rose Reynolds on March 15, 2012 - 10:54 PM

    Tom you’ve always been a great friend and these words most definitely came from your heart. Bless you.

    • #8 by Tom Baker on March 17, 2012 - 9:43 AM

      Thanks Rose. I appreciate the sentiments.

  5. #9 by barrycyrus on March 14, 2012 - 8:08 AM

    Nice nice! :)

    • #10 by Tom Baker on March 14, 2012 - 8:49 AM

      Barry, it seems like it’s been years! Thank you my friend.

  6. #11 by Melanie T on March 14, 2012 - 12:28 AM

    This is very true! … loved that quote… more revealing than being nude. It’s very very true.

    • #12 by Tom Baker on March 14, 2012 - 8:47 AM

      Melanie! Thank you. Every once in a while I can come up with something that even surprises me.

  7. #13 by Cherlyn on March 13, 2012 - 7:32 PM

    Great post, you’re a kind, one-of-a-kind soul, and I hope one day we all can be your shoulder to cry on, like you’ve been for so many of us :)

    • #14 by Tom Baker on March 13, 2012 - 10:46 PM

      Oh but you forget my northern friend that you all did help me while I was in my blogging funk. It was all the comments and encouragements that got me back and look! Here I am thanks to all of you wonderful crazy bloggers.

  8. #15 by Inside the Mind of Isadora on March 13, 2012 - 5:20 PM

    When I was in Catholic school there was a priest called Father Tom. I shall dub you that name for advisor purposes only.
    It is never a bad idea to have a friend who has an open heart and ears for listening without belittling.
    Very kind and caring of you …..
    Isadora

    • #16 by Tom Baker on March 13, 2012 - 10:43 PM

      For advisor purposes only is fine with me Isadora! I do care.

  9. #17 by pdasbarbara on March 13, 2012 - 2:04 PM

    As Vanessa’s friend had said…. its comforting to know I have that option. :) I hope you know that you have the same from me to… sometimes its easy to talk to a distant someone, especially a distant friend. :)

    • #18 by Tom Baker on March 13, 2012 - 2:59 PM

      I am just an email away. Thank you as well for making yourself available to me.

  10. #19 by Wilhelmina Upton on March 13, 2012 - 1:20 PM

    What a great post!! I have first hand knowledge how good it is, to have someone to talk to when in need. Most of the times I feel sorry because I’m laying my problems on friends but it’s good to share and sometimes it’s even enough to know someone is out there!

    • #20 by Tom Baker on March 13, 2012 - 3:03 PM

      It is good to share and it’s always good to make sure that you are not burdening them with too much. Some times people themselves are in need of sharing but it’s not in their nature. If possible it should be give and take. But you know this already!

  11. #22 by Cathy on March 13, 2012 - 11:51 AM

    A negative remark was forming in my mind when I read your title, good thing you didn’t mean it literally. Haha

    • #23 by Tom Baker on March 13, 2012 - 3:01 PM

      I think long and hard about the titles I give my posts and sometimes I go for shock value. Not the Howard Stern kind, but shocking nonetheless. I’m glad you kept reading.

  12. #24 by ambrosiapeyton on March 13, 2012 - 11:47 AM

    Oh my, I can say you have been a blessing in my life Tom. I really hope somebody in need finds you. I reblogged your poster on my Tumblr page. Mariana, if you need it, take him up on it!!

    • #25 by Tom Baker on March 13, 2012 - 3:06 PM

      Anytime Ambrosia. Also I forgot to mention that I always tell minors to let their parents know that they are talking to me. If the subject matter is their parents or something they just cannot discuss with them… but normally I always tell anyone under 18 to let their parents know about me!

  13. #26 by Vanessa Chapman on March 13, 2012 - 11:04 AM

    You’ve done a really great thing posting that. A few years ago a friend was going through a really difficult time, and I told her that if she needed someone to talk to at any time of day or night, I was there. I told her that I always kept my mobile phone switched on by my bed at night, and if she wanted to cry down the phone to me at 3am, that was absolutely fine with me. She told me several months later that even though she probably would never have phoned me in the middle of the night, she drew comfort just from know that option was available to her if she needed it. So, even if nobody takes you up on your offer here, you can be sure that several people will feel comforted just to know that they have that option available to them.

    • #27 by Tom Baker on March 13, 2012 - 11:20 AM

      Thank you Vanessa and I must tell you that several people have already responded. It was a very wonderfully human thing for you to do. I agree that people can gather comfort in just knowing. I really appreciate your comment. I hope is she ever needs you, she takes you up on your offer. So many people even though they know they can go to someone often try to go it alone. It takes longer to deal with and gong it alone is stressful enough. Take care Vanessa.

  14. #28 by Chinaz Love on March 13, 2012 - 7:05 AM

    Big heart, strong shoulders!

    • #29 by Tom Baker on March 13, 2012 - 11:09 AM

      Or vice versa! Thanks for coming by Ms. Love.

  15. #30 by Mariana on March 13, 2012 - 2:31 AM

    I admire you for this Tom. I’m a pretty private person despite my innate want/love of sharing my life. I’d love to be able to tell people about problems when I have them, but I always feel like it’s not my place to lay such a burden on them. I’d rather be the person who takes on the burden of others because then I at least know that I will be able to handle it. :)
    It’s good to know though, that you’re there if I ever need it and who knows I might just take you up on it one day.

    • #31 by Tom Baker on March 13, 2012 - 11:08 AM

      When someone is offering Mariana, it is most definitely your place because when someone is offering, it is not a burden to them. Peace.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

