Casablanca Again On The Silver Screen: 70th Anniversary


Cable channel Turner Classic Movies is hosting a one night only showing of what some film critics call “The Most Romantic Movie Of All Time”. Casablanca starring Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Bergman has been digitally restored to a better than original condition and will be re-released and shown at 7:00 pm in select theaters across the United States.

I probably won’t be able to see it but if you love this movie the way I do I think you should make it a point to try to see it. It’s been rated PG and is only showing for the one screening.

NCM Fathom, Turner Classic Movies, and Warner Bros are coming together again to present Turner Classic Movies Presents Casablanca 70th Anniversary Event in select movie theaters nationwide on Wednesday, March 21st at 7:00PM (local time).  The event will begin with Turner Classic Movies host Robert Osborne taking audiences behind the scenes of this epic love story in a special original production showcasing stories from those who were on set and those who simply admire this timeless classic. Once again, audiences will see this beautiful and timeless classic on the silver screen.

Casablanca is a classic tale of unrequited love and is a project that defined the “golden age” of Hollywood and allowed audiences to fall in love with cinema all over again. Turner Classic Movies Presents Casablanca 70th Anniversary Event is the only opportunity to see this stunning digital presentation grace the silver screen on Wednesday, March 21st at 7:00PM (local time) with additional matinee showings at select movie theater locations. Check your local listings for more information.

Don’t miss the most romantic film of all time. More beautiful than it’s ever been!

TICKETING*
Tickets are on sale NOW but seats are limited – so buy your tickets early! Enter your zip code here to find your nearest participating movie theater.

Information taken from Fathom Events.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Mariana on March 18, 2012 - 3:33 AM

    Sadly I won’t be able to make it. :(
    Colin works and I hate watching movies alone.
    I do plan to watch it eventually though, it’s #3 on my list of movies to see before I die. :D

    • #2 by Tom Baker on March 18, 2012 - 9:13 AM

      It is a good movie to watch with someone. You’ll always have that memory together!

  2. #3 by ambrosiapeyton on March 17, 2012 - 3:12 PM

    I watched this with my mother. It is a great movie.

    • #4 by Tom Baker on March 17, 2012 - 3:19 PM

      This is a great movie to watch with parents. Nothing embarrassing for either. I find myself watching TCM more and more.

  3. #5 by TemptingSweets99 on March 17, 2012 - 1:47 PM

    Thanks for the heads-up!

    • #6 by Tom Baker on March 17, 2012 - 1:49 PM

      You are welcome. Tickets are going fast in lots of cities if you are interested you gotta get them soon.

  4. #7 by tekia on March 17, 2012 - 1:20 PM

    THIS IS AWESOME! Enough said :-). Great movie.

  5. #9 by Aliza on March 17, 2012 - 12:55 PM

    this movie is on my watch list….:-)

  6. #10 by dontchawannadream on March 17, 2012 - 12:37 PM

    Oh the pictures are so beautiful and romantic. I know it’s a shame but I’ve never seen this movie.
    Thanks for your comment earlier on my blog, Tom. :) I really appreciate it.
    Anyway, I have an award for you! here’s the link:
    http://wp.me/p1PkGU-6M
    Have a great weekend!

    • #11 by Tom Baker on March 17, 2012 - 12:45 PM

      Thank you for the link my friend and the award. Did you like the movie or was it just a lot of hype for you?

      • #12 by dontchawannadream on March 17, 2012 - 1:04 PM

        Unfortunately I’ve never seen it, Tom.
        But I’m curious and would love to watch it.
        I’ll tell you then.

  7. #13 by Cherlyn on March 17, 2012 - 11:28 AM

    They had this playing at the cineplex theatres during one of their golden oldies showings (they show classic films every other sunday throughout the year). I hope next time it comes up i can get to go see it!

    • #14 by Tom Baker on March 17, 2012 - 11:31 AM

      I hope you do too. I know you would like it. I’m working on adding your guest document into the post. How’s that for timing?

      • #15 by Cherlyn on March 19, 2012 - 4:29 AM

        Oh I’ve seen Casablanca before lol I’d just love to see it on the big screen, it’d probably be amazing.

        Lol and that is pretty awesome timing!

        • #16 by Tom Baker on March 19, 2012 - 7:50 AM

          Sorry I was not available Saturday night. I would like to see it on the big screen too.

  8. #17 by Inside the Mind of Isadora on March 17, 2012 - 8:54 AM

    Love the classic movies … will have to check this one out.
    Thanks ….

    • #18 by Tom Baker on March 17, 2012 - 10:25 AM

      Please do Isadora. I don’t want to build it up to a big hype and then you feel let down when you see it, but it is good.

  9. #20 by Wilhelmina Upton on March 17, 2012 - 8:38 AM

    One of the best movies of all times!! This reminded me, I have to watch it again soon to hear Bogarts great voice and Sam playing ‘As Time Goes By’. “Louis, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.”

    • #21 by Tom Baker on March 17, 2012 - 10:25 AM

      Yes, one of the most recognizable voices on the planet. I have the movie in my collection but I really think I might see it on the 21st.

      • #22 by Wilhelmina Upton on March 17, 2012 - 11:49 AM

        You’re a lucky one, having the chance to go see the enhanced version.

        • #23 by Tom Baker on March 17, 2012 - 12:42 PM

          I want to go, but it looks like it might not happen. I have heard tickets are scarce.

          • #24 by Wilhelmina Upton on March 17, 2012 - 1:14 PM

            Well then good luck with finding a ticket!

  10. #25 by Broken Sparkles on March 17, 2012 - 1:47 AM

    Ilsa: You’re saying this only to make me go.
    Rick: I’m saying it because it’s true. Inside of us, we both know you belong with Victor. You’re part of his work, the thing that keeps him going. If that plane leaves the ground and you’re not with him, you’ll regret it. Maybe not today. Maybe not tomorrow, but soon and for the rest of your life.
    Ilsa: But what about us?
    Rick: We’ll always have Paris. We didn’t have, we, we lost it until you came to Casablanca. We got it back last night.
    Ilsa: When I said I would never leave you.
    Rick: And you never will. But I’ve got a job to do, too. Where I’m going, you can’t follow. What I’ve got to do, you can’t be any part of. Ilsa, I’m no good at being noble, but it doesn’t take much to see that the problems of three little people don’t amount to a hill of beans in this crazy world. Someday you’ll understand that…

    I’ve seen this movie dozen times, it’s heart-wrenching, but hell, one of the best!

    • #26 by Tom Baker on March 17, 2012 - 7:55 AM

      It is one of the best films. I’m a big fan of Claude Rains too. He’s a great actor. For some reason when I created this post I knew in my heart that you would be by to comment. I am always right!

      • #27 by Broken Sparkles on March 18, 2012 - 1:01 AM

        The intuition of the Saggitaruis …

        • #28 by Tom Baker on March 18, 2012 - 9:19 AM

          My post tomorrow is for you and sorry it is so late.

          • #29 by Broken Sparkles on March 18, 2012 - 10:36 AM

            I didn’t know there was a post for me :) Looking forward to it and thanks in advance!

  11. #30 by Sylvia on March 17, 2012 - 12:22 AM

    This movie is on my “Movie Bucket List”. I have never seen this movie and it would be perfect to see in a theater.

    • #31 by Tom Baker on March 17, 2012 - 7:51 AM

      This is a great opportunity Sylvia to see it the way it was meant to be seen. If I could meet up with you I would treat you. I think Blaga would go with you too. Confidentially she might annoy you by reciting all the lines!

      • #32 by Broken Sparkles on March 18, 2012 - 10:39 AM

        I won’t do such thing. I do know most of the lines, but they are not mine to recite :)

  1. Dena Krupinski Makes Her Hollywood Dreams a Reality as a Turner Classic Movies Producer « Leo Adam Biga's Blog
  2. Casablanca Again On The Silver Screen: 70th Anniversary « The World According to Sylvia Garza

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

