Read Blogs And The Like Button Option

This is not a rant. I don’t think I do rants on this blog, do I? I feel it is an observation and one not directed at anyone person/blogger/follower in particular. It is just an observation.

As most bloggers are happy to get any attention paid to their posts, I am no different. I write because I want to say something and since people have taken an interest in what I say; I now write for those who read Morning Erection more so than I do for myself. Writing something informative. Trying to make people laugh. Being a friend. Getting my interests out in the open and seeing if there is anyone who shares a commonality.

Lately I have noticed a trend on WordPress that I have tried my hardest to abstain from doing myself. I check my stat pages far too often but I’m not so concerned with the number of visitors I have but more interested in the pages that are being read. I have noticed some people (no names) show up as having liked a post of mine. That is great. Someone liked my words, an image I found, a poem, my take on a movie, a word of advice —> whatever. This warm and fuzzy feeling comes over me (like when you bite into a warm chocolate chip cookie)! But then later, alright I admit it, right away I go to the stat page and see that there have been no visitors to that page at all yet that day. Or there are more likes that have been clicked than there are page views.

I’m just sayin’. I would much rather a post receive honest attention than someone who goes to the Read Blogs tab and just clicks the “Like” button. If anyone else is as anal about their blog as I reportedly am, I’m sure they have picked up on this trend as well. There are times when I read a post and I like it and click the like button but do not leave a comment. I do read other comments and if someone has already said exactly what I want to say then I see no purpose in reiterating somebody elses words.

My point is (because I feel like I am rambling on here): don’t pretend to like what you’ve read here on Morning Erection when you have not read it. If I’m reading my stats page incorrectly or I am way off base, I publicly apologize.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Paul Orr on March 23, 2012 - 10:17 PM

    The idea of wanting a rating from readers on one’s blog sounds somewhat needy to me. I have realised as I have gotten older, that not everyone in the world will love, embrace, or even like everything I say; but now that I’m at a stage in life, where agreement is not the be all and end all. Whether people love or hate what you write is not important. The important thing is that they read it.

    • #2 by Tom Baker on March 24, 2012 - 2:10 AM

      Indeed I agree with you Paul and that is the point of the post. It was only meant to address those who are not reading it. If you look at the post after this one, it better explains what I was trying to say in this post.

      I got your email too. Thank you very much. I appreciate it. I do not get many emails from men. Thanks.

  2. #3 by Inside the Mind of Isadora on March 22, 2012 - 5:25 PM

    Hi Tom,
    Be assured, I do not consider this a rant. I see it as a post that has a legitimate question. Okay, so the part about – “don’t pretend to like what you’ve read here on Morning Erection when you have not read it” – sounds a bit edgy but, Hey, you have a bit of an issue. Why are they clicking like and not reading it?? Sounds eerie …..
    Personally, I have no clue on how to check stats or anything else on my blog. I am a true novice. I post and publish – that’s it.
    I do click a “Like” button if it’s a subject that I don’t want to have an opinion on – ie: political, religious or radical issues. I my not even click “Like” if I don’t think the post is something I don’t want to be associated with.
    Like you , I would treasure feedback so as to improve my writing or have someone appreciate what I took the time to research or write about. Unfortunately, I am learning that we live in a hurry up world and there is no time for anyone to do anything except “Like” something you write.
    I was going to by pass the “Like” but I left a comment, too, so I think that’s okay … Right ???? LOLOL ~~~ : – )
    Toodles,
    Isadora
    P.S. I just read your response to Stacey about the stats … I follow my blogs through e mails. I guess that’s why it seemed odd to me …. thanks.

    • #4 by Tom Baker on March 22, 2012 - 5:41 PM

      The post today seems to explain things better for people who subscribe through emails.

  3. #5 by czkelly on March 21, 2012 - 2:22 PM

    I had to like this :P

  4. #7 by Southern Cricut Lady on March 21, 2012 - 12:20 PM

    I understand what you’re saying and don’t take your post as a rant. I get it and agree completely. Personally, my observation is coming from a person (me) who regularly posts my card creations. I get frustrated when I’m proud of a particular post and my hits go up but then there’s no feedback positive or not, or when visitors step through my card gallery page to get ideas but then don’t even let me know they were there (I only know when it says Card Gallery 15 hits). A quick like is sufficient even if they don’t want to leave a comment, though admittedly a comment would be nicer. I know people like at least some of my creations because I see links where they pinned it on Pinterest yet they don’t put effort into the blog – the place where they got my image in the first place. It makes me feel a bit used. So to fight back, I joined Pinterest and uploaded my cards myself so that I can keep better track of who repinned them. It makes me feel like I have a little more control of my images because I’m the one who uploaded them with the proper web links to the posting containing that particular card. Sounds petty to some, but it works for me. I never read portions of blogs through the reader. I always go the source and read the entire blog. If I am moved in a good way, I will click “like” and comment. If I don’t like it, I may or may not leave a comment. It depends on my mood and if I feel my comment of disagreement will matter. My personal goal is to treat other bloggers the way I would want them to treat me. ~Vanessa

    • #8 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 12:23 PM

      “My personal goal is to treat other bloggers the way I would want them to treat me.” That is what I’m saying too. Stay tuned for tomorrow’s attempt.

  5. #9 by dontchawannadream on March 21, 2012 - 11:46 AM

    It never occured to me I could check that!!
    For me it’s a different story ’cause people can “like” my paintings and that’s just fine! (But I do love reading comments ;))
    Anyway usually it’s hard for me to read long articles after a long and exhausting day. Also because English is not my mother tongue and most of the time I’m too tired to focus.
    So even though I would love to have more time to visit your blog, I’m not a liar!! Ahah :)

    • #10 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 12:08 PM

      Cha, I confused the issue. This post was not supposed to be about comments and I am sorry for that. I rewrote it and it will be better written tomorrow. This post is only supposed to be informative and not point fingers at anyone.

  6. #11 by AnonymousBurn on March 21, 2012 - 10:25 AM

    How would someone know if they liked your post without reading it? They like the idea of it, I guess. Weird. When I like a post I generally comment and don’t click like. I write my blog for the 5 people who regularly read it, too. The public (all 5 of them) demands it!

    • #12 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 10:37 AM

      You know I read your blog too so if I am not one of the 5, make it 6. I’m just not an animal lover. You know that and I hope you still like me anyway!

      • #13 by AnonymousBurn on March 21, 2012 - 10:44 AM

        I counted you, no worries. Of course I still like you! And I’m not *just* an animal lover :) We’re what makes the world go round!

  7. #15 by mswillz on March 21, 2012 - 9:45 AM

    I definitely hear ya. Amen.

    • #16 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 10:24 AM

      I’m glad I did not confuse you but nonetheless, I rewrote the post mo’ better and it will be posted tomorrow for all those I confused. It seems some people subscribe through email and do not use the Read Blogs feature.

  8. #17 by Cathy on March 21, 2012 - 9:03 AM

    There was one time I received 7 likes from a certain follower (who I’ve honestly forgotten) and like with your situation, some of those posts didnt have any views as well. It’s sad to think that they simply want to promote their blogs by way of mass liking

    • #18 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 10:22 AM

      There are some who legitimately visit a blog and like what they read but have no comment to offer. I am not addressing them as I believe you realize.

  9. #19 by musingsoftheamusingmuse on March 21, 2012 - 8:47 AM

    I agree with you in that I would like it if people would actually RATE the article. “Liking” is wonderful, but I would like to see a rating. Did it get more 2 stars than 4 stars? Sure, I know my writing is sometimes tired (mostly because I have an idea and I’m tired but I’ll write it anyway), but if I don’t know if an article sucked… how can I make the next ones better?

    • #20 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 10:25 AM

      You can add that rating to your posts if you like and disable the Like button altogether. Go to your settings tab on your dashboard.

      • #21 by musingsoftheamusingmuse on March 21, 2012 - 10:45 AM

        I have both, I just wish more people would use the “rate” button. ;) BUT – your post today and my comments made me think of another post for my own blog :D

        • #22 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 10:51 AM

          I redid my post from today with less confusion for tomorrow. I am glad you’ve been inspired. I will come by to read it!

  10. #24 by Cherlyn on March 21, 2012 - 8:12 AM

    I can understand your frustration, however, you have to remember that the internet is not perfect – sometimes people stop by without being recorded. I dunno, maybe it’s just me, but I’d rather have some stranger hit ‘like’ on my blog posts rather than leave a nasty comment about how worthless and fat I am.

    Also, your site may not be counting people who go on their phones to read your posts – maybe those stats aren’t being counted, because there is a like button feature there too. Bluejellybeans makes a good point – how can they like a post if they never open it? The only thing I can think of is, because your site layout shows the entire post, you dont need to go into an exact page of a post to like it or rate it. So just that alone would completely wonk out your site stats – mine always say my “home page” gets the most hits. for people who dont leave comments, this is probably where they “like” my posts. It would record them as only viewing the “home page” but they can still hit “like” on the homepage.

    How do you know these people aren’t reading your work? Why would someone out there be nice enough to hit “like” without even reading it? It would be more likely that some jerk would come on to a site and give it low ratings or leave nasty comments rather than do something in favour of a stranger.

    I dunno, maybe because I barely write, or because I don’t write for anyone but myself, the stats have never bothered me, because in the end the only person who should ultimately care what I write is myself, anyone else is brownie points.

    • #25 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 10:32 AM

      I might sound frustrated but I’m not really. I was just addressing an observation that I made and thought someone else might have too. If not, I thought I might bring it to people’s attention.

      Cherlyn, in my humble opinion, commenting is a privilege on someones blog. It is not a right. No one has the right to leave nasty, childish and bullying comments on any blog, Just like spammers don’t have the right to bombard blogs with their ridiculous robot generated comments that hardly make sense in any language. Even so, it happens but it does not make it right. Friends and family don’t have the right to berate someone publicly like that so you know strangers have none. Your blog is your home, so to speak. If someone came to your house and said something nasty to you, you would kick them out. Brush it off, delete it and keep on keeping on. You my dear are awesome and anyone who took the time to get to know you would realize that. I am truly blessed to know you but you need to know for yourself how awesome and incredibly beautiful you are so that awful things people do to us in life, matters not. Amen to myself!

      • #26 by Cherlyn on March 21, 2012 - 10:59 AM

        Let’s just say the internet is full of stupid people – and i guess the point of my comment was that I’d rather someone like my page and be silent rather than be nasty for no reason. But to each their own. And you’re right, commenting is a privilege. I do recall a post commenting on people moderating comments and you werent much of a fan of that either – I guess there is no perfect blogging feedback. There’s always going to be spammers and rude people, might as well grit your teeth and smile anyways :).

        And if someone came to my home and said something like that….well I’d probably do more than kick them out haha. Thank you for your kind words, you flatter me! I’m blessed to know you too :D

        Hallmark moment!

        • #27 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 11:13 AM

          There was a time I wanted to start my own greeting card company or did someone tell me I should. I can’t remember!

          • #28 by Cherlyn on March 22, 2012 - 9:15 AM

            Haha, I could totally see you doing that! You should!

  11. #29 by Bluejellybeans on March 21, 2012 - 6:59 AM

    Hi Mr. R!
    I get what you are saying, but I think you are reading too much into it… sorry.
    We can’t control what other people do or think. All we can do is write what we think and leave it there… Any way I must say that normally you can’t like a post unless you open it, isn’t that right? So the stats must count that visit, even if the “reader” doesn’t read the post.
    Have a nice day :)

    • #30 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 10:35 AM

      Hey Gi, don’t be sorry for your opinion. It is I who have done everyone a grave injustice. I put together this post rather quickly and in my haste did not address the matter efficiently. I have already written the post again for tomorrow leaving out unimportant matters and subjects. Hope I do better tomorrow.

  12. #31 by Ina on March 21, 2012 - 3:05 AM

    I sometimes click like from reading blogs in the wordpress following blog section. I hope that is not upsettng any statistics.

    • #32 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 4:19 AM

      Ina, it isn’t the statistics that concerns me about my blog. It is when people click the Like button when they could not have possibly read the post. That is all I mean. Sometimes a post is short enough that the entire post shows (like a quote ore super short) from the Read Blogs page so clicking the Like button from there is perfectly fine in my book.

  13. #33 by Off the Wall on March 21, 2012 - 1:57 AM

    I wish I had time to leave an actual comment with every blog I read, but I have so many favorites that I spend all my time reading and not writing – comments or posts of my own! I hardly ever get any comments on my posts. Not sure why….my stats have been increasing, so I guess people read them but don’t like them enough to comment, lol.
    But I will try to be better with my comments to my favs. Like you. :)

    • #34 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 4:24 AM

      I’m not really asking for more comments. I think I wrote this post a little too quickly without proof reading.

      • #35 by Off the Wall on March 21, 2012 - 10:12 AM

        well too late, I commented, and I’m sticking to it! lol

  14. #39 by Mariana on March 21, 2012 - 1:31 AM

    This has been bothering me lately too!
    I hate the idea that out there there’s someone just liking my posts because they want me [and other people too] to check out their blog and not because they actually read my post.
    It just seems like the scummiest way to try and get hits.
    If they really want traffic, then they should get it by writing good content and by leaving thoughtful comments on other people’s blogs just like the rest of us!
    But whatever, really. Stats make people do weird things. :/

    • #40 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 4:30 AM

      Mariana, I agee with you. But sometimes I think there are those that “think” they are being nice by clicking. I do believe they believe they are doing people a favor by taking the easy way out.

  15. #41 by Aurathena on March 21, 2012 - 1:24 AM

    I also don’t fully understand how stats works and WordPress help ironically didn’t help. Do you think you could post an explanation on what the different parts of the stats page mean once you work it out yourself? I never understand why my referrers only account for half of my total views. I know a couple of the views can’t be real due to the spam comments, but are there more spam views than I think? :(

    • #42 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 4:54 AM

      Some of the people that are referred to your site will read more pages than just the one they came to your site to see originally. They may read two or three posts, they might click a link on your post and the decide to come back to your blog. Sometime the page doesn’t load correctly and they refresh the page to see the graphics that did not load the first time.

      Then there are the people who were not referred at all. They physically typed your blog address into the browsers. People also find your blog from search engines. It really does make sense. If you have more questions just ask.

  16. #43 by Broken Sparkles on March 21, 2012 - 1:09 AM

    I click for your posts from my e-mail notifications. Sometimes I don’t have the right words for a comment and I press only the Like button only so you know I’ve read the post. I have many likes on my blog from people who never come back again and I have people that I know they read my posts, but they don’t comment … I haven’t noticed what’s going on on my stats page, but in general I am happy with my visitors … And Stacie might be right, who knows how the statistic information has been gathered …

    • #44 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 4:45 AM

      Blaga, I’m only referring to the people that do not read the post. They only click the like button. They could not have read the post sometimes because there can be for example three likes but only one page view. It means, to me that only one person actually liked what he/she read and two people that like but never read. That’s all I mean.

  17. #45 by Kristine on March 21, 2012 - 12:52 AM

    I just come here for the interesting blog title. :o)

    I’m not a big button clicker for that Like feature, but I will leave a comment if I have something to add to the conversation or want to reply. Other than that, it’s a look around and maybe a page view on your end. People reply, like, view, or do nothing when it comes to my website, and that’s fine. We cannot force people to engage in communication. What we can do is constantly improve our ideas, find relevant information, and reach out on social networks to find people with similar interests. It all feels like rocket science at first, but Twitter alone can provide a great example. If you post all day every day with just links or a topic that I’m not interested in, I’m not going to reply or follow you. Take an interest in what I do, share a common hobby, or open up a great dialogue that begs for feedback, then I’ll engage.

    It all comes down to the rules of engagement. Unfortunately there’s no handbook, rule list, or timeline. Do what you enjoy and treat people well, and they will return the favor in time.

    • #46 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 4:38 AM

      Exactly Kristine and about your website, you can rest assure I will be ther to read and comment.

  18. #47 by studiojan on March 21, 2012 - 12:35 AM

    I totally agree Tom! I’ve noticed this too…..My theory is that some people like all the posts hoping to bring more traffic to their blogs. I could be wrong :)

    • #48 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 4:32 AM

      For the most part I think you are exactly right.

  19. #49 by TemptingSweets99 on March 21, 2012 - 12:19 AM

    “…But then later, alright I admit it, right away I go to the stat page and see that there have been no visitors to that page at all yet that day. Or there are more likes that have been clicked than there are page views.”

    Hmm… Really? That really happens? Is there a malfunction or mistake somewhere? I’m not sure how it works — the “like” button and the stats page. Oh well. In any case, I’ll keep doing what I do. If I like a post, I click the “like” button and if I have a comment, I’ll post that, too. Sometimes, I click on the like button but don’t leave a comment, sometimes, I do both OR other times, I leave a comment but don’t click the “like” button (like now). *shrugging*

  20. #50 by Aliza on March 21, 2012 - 12:15 AM

    Yaay im a part of your post!! Lol :-)

  21. #53 by Stacie Chadwick on March 21, 2012 - 12:13 AM

    I’m not sure if you’re reading your stats correctly. Since you show a summary page for the people who get your blogs via email (like me), there’s no way for someone who reads you this way NOT to go to your page to like or comment. So your followers have to at least click on your page to do either. Not sure about people who follow you on FB, twitter, etc. I’m not a technical person, so as a disclaimer have to state that what I just said my be 100% wrong.

    • #54 by TemptingSweets99 on March 21, 2012 - 12:34 AM

      I’m with Stacie. That’s the way I do it. I normally read your post or being to read via email and then I go to the original blog page. So, as she writes, in our case, “there’s no way for someone who reads you this way NOT to go to your page.” That’s why I said (in my first comment) I’m not sure how it works. *still shrugging*

      • #55 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 5:30 AM

        I apologize. I never should have mentioned commenting in this post. This post is only about the Like button on the Read Blogs page. I have unnecessarily confused a lot of people.

    • #56 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 5:29 AM

      Hi Stacie, if you look at the graphic above it shows that you can indeed like a post you never visited. If you follow a blog by email then yes, you have to visit the post to comment or even read it. If you use the WordPress Follow feature for WordPress bloggers you will see you have the option to follow a blog, like a post, reblog and even check your own stat page. For those who follow blogs by clicking the follow button you get 5-6 lines of the post and an option to reblog or like the post. Some people have been hitting like on blogs that they are not really reading. After reading the comments I see I am not the only one who has noticed this trend. If all of the blogs you follow are by email than you might not see this feature.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

