Redux: Read Blogs And The Like Button Option

In my haste to create and schedule a post for yesterday I wrote a sloppy and poorly put together post. I did not go far enough into depth on the one subject I meant to address and also filled the post with unnecessary content. I neglected to mention important facts and mentioned unimportant, non pertinent matters. Basically I was a bad blogger. This post attempts to rectify the problem and address head on my point.

From your WordPress Landing page (it’s what I call it) you have many options. Usually when you arrive at the landing page what you see is the Freshly Pressed page, however, there are also a variety of tools and other tabs at your disposal and many places you can go from there. If you notice in the far left hand corner you will see the WordPress logo.

From both the landing page’s Read Blogs tab and from the drop down menu on the WordPress logo you can access the blogs you follow without ever visiting the blog itself.

I’m positive when WordPress created this feature it was to give us followers the ability to quickly scan what could be hundreds of blogs we might follow and then decide whether or not the topic and brief introduction to that post was interesting enough to warrant clicking on to finish reading the full post at the writers blog.

From this Read Blogs page which you can see above, you get a synopsis of the post along with the ability to reblog the post or like the post. If you click the like button frim here as I have witnessed many spammers do, it gives bloggers the false impression that someone has taken the time to come to their blog and read what was written and then clicked the like button. To me, it is another avenue for spammers. I don’t mean everyone who does this is spamming. I’m strictly reserving this post for those who do do it just to bring attention to them and or their blog. Some bloggers are taking advantage of the convenience and leaving writers to believe their content was read. As you can see below, I have liked those same three blog post from the above graphic but have yet to visit those blogs. All three of those bloggers must think I did visit and loved what they wrote. To me, and I am only speaking for me, it is deceitful and it is spam.

There are many ways to follow a blog. By coming to that blog everyday and looking to see if there happens to be a new post. By subscribing through email. By clicking the WordPress Follow button or even by RSS feeds. This post is only addressing the ease of following through WordPress and those I believe who only want you to visit their blog because you see an new face in the Like section and believe they visited yours. It was not my intent to confuse or misdirect anyone yesterday.

After I finished writing this post, I did visit those three blogs. If I liked it I kept the Like and if not, I un-clicked. Sorry if I un-clicked guy and gals.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by For Better GENiUS on March 23, 2012 - 5:56 PM

    How do you know which like button they clicked? (options between read blogs page and ur actual post on ur site?)

    • #2 by Tom Baker on March 23, 2012 - 6:17 PM

      You can check you stats page sometimes or if you recognize the same person doing it all over the internet and not commenting you know it is spam. I know of three bloggers who do it regularly. It really doesn’t bother me all that much anymore. I just was observing things here on WordPress.

  2. #3 by Broken Sparkles on March 23, 2012 - 2:30 AM

    I didn’t even know all these things existed on my wordpress page :) thanks for pointing me at it …

    • #4 by Tom Baker on March 23, 2012 - 1:50 PM

      You are welcome Blaga. Lots of people seem to not know anything about this. I was shocked.

  3. #5 by Wilhelmina Upton on March 22, 2012 - 5:06 PM

    After I read your previous post I started to notice the same thing. My latest bloppost got likes but the stats didn’t go up. I was immediately reminded what I read earlier on your blog and thought, I know what he’s talking about! So, you’re not alone out there, but you already know this.

  4. #7 by mswillz on March 22, 2012 - 9:34 AM

    Well said. It’s so true. If the post is long you will not see the full content, so hitting the like from that screen is not a good thing. What if the remaining lines hold thoughts that you would never like. You just co-signed unknowingly. Epic fail in my opinion.

  5. #9 by Ina on March 22, 2012 - 6:20 AM

    Good explanation :) At first, I didn’t have a like button on my blog at all as I felt it was like being in a competition or something (you have the option to remove it) but people asked for one and now, I do like the like button, on the blog and in the wp follow blog-section. As it is mostly poems I read this way and they often are short enough to read totally, it works for me. If I like, I push the button; if I have time, I go to the blog and leave a comment. WP now also has this possibilty of replying to other blogs and getting messages that someone replied to you, without going there. You can chat without going to the blog. (These replies won’t show as a visit, on stattcounter, for instance. ) I am not sure I will use it a lot, but it is interesting :)
    If someone pushes the like button on one of my postings, I think he/she means he/she likes. Nothing else :)

    • #10 by Tom Baker on March 22, 2012 - 7:55 AM

      Good morning Ina. I like the like button too and sometimes I use it without leaving a comment. For me, I don’t always have something to say but I like for my friends to know I was there and read it and enjoyed it. I like the new feature WordPress has for alerting you of a new like or comment. I use that all the time without returning to the blog I originally commented on and I use it to reply to comments on my blog (like right now)! Basically I love WordPress, I love blogging and I don’t need a like or a comment in order to continue to blog. What I don’t like is what I explained better in this post. People who just go down the page and click like on every post on their follow page. Thanks for coming back for my second attempt.

  6. #11 by Melanie T on March 22, 2012 - 1:00 AM

    I’m glad you took the time to further explain. I too hate the like button; I sometimes feel if I don’t get a comment but I get a ‘like’ I didn’t write well enough or expound enough to reel my readers into my thoughts and feelings to comment: agree, disagree, share,etc. For this blog I did hit the ‘like’ button but I also commented :) and btw as a side note you struck me as the type of blogger thatwould not hit ‘like’ without leaving a comment. I expected a comment to come with your ‘like’ on my blog.

    • #12 by Tom Baker on March 22, 2012 - 8:08 AM

      Melanie, always a pleasure. I like the like button when used appropriately and I sometimes use it without leaving a comment. I don’t always feel I have anything to add to the conversation but I do want the blogger, in this case, you to know that I did stop by and took the time to read your post.

      In the future I will do my best to always share my thoughts as well as the like. Peace, my sister.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

