Poetic License April 2012

Poetic License is the part of Morning Erection that allows me to showcase some of the great poets that I find in my travels throughout the Internet. I have found that by posting works by other bloggers often brings more traffic to their site as well as mine and that is a good thing.

Poetic License is scheduled for the first Monday in every month. I ask if you find a poem that touches you in some way either leave a comment for the author or visit their blog and let them know. April marks the first time I have posted a poem of a blogger without a link to his site. I do have permission from Hunter to post his poem but no blog. Additionally I am featuring a poem from a micro-blogger from Tumblr. Thank you for reading.

Beauty Reversed
by TheOthers1

I am a beast, my beauty in reverse

Inside, inside.

I roar because I seethe with pain

From a broken heart in need of love

Looking for my love to see more

See me, see me

A beast caged longing to be free

Unlock the chains that bind my heart

That I may be transformed

My heart newly restored

A beast no longer

Set me free, set me free

The Lunatic
by Rudolph Consuegra

New to this sea, I am now lost.
In this ocean, I disappear,
Only a thrall to lunacy.
On this voyage, I am star-crossed.
My mind’s chaos is what I fear.

My sights cleared, I try to reach the sun.
Yet, it is way far from my hand’s reach.
Lonely at the verdant grounds, I yearn.
Blinded by awe, I seek its breach.
Both towards and away I cannot run.

Halfway there, the radiance takes my sight.
Minor to this light as it always burns.
Its captivating wonder is my envy.
Yet to grasp its glory takes all my might.
This star’s radiance is what my heart yearns.

As I approach the shores of this paradise,
I contemplate on how I sought its glory;
An exodus from darkness- enlightenment.
Enduring the flames, I shall tell this story.
Through these trials, I conquer lunacy’s vice.

Now at one with my subconscious, I will now shine.
I will shed my light on the lost to find their way.
As I become the glory in the black hours,
I will have become much like the sun’s golden ray.
The lunacy in my heart will now intertwine.

While those on the green land will heed my advice,
The laws of the universe I still obey,
I am always inferior to the stars.
The burden of all the stars I cannot weigh.
I can only share a fractions to suffice.

My grandeurs have simply been a flight.
My retreat from my troublesome concerns.
To be one with the stars is heresy:
An eclipse to destroy other’s discerns.
Instead of dreams, I would become a blight.

Fallacies born from what fate have spun.
One day, its glory I shall beseech.
Not now, but when its power is lost.
Only then, shall the wise masters preach:
Shining at night, over which I won.

My passion burns beyond my frost.
I have both lost and won this sphere
Having conquered my lunacy,
Conquering doubts, my mind is clear.
Through the night, my glory is tossed.

Sometimes
by Prysmatique

Sometimes in my gut,
There’s this feeling.
When I know something I want,
Just isn’t going to happen.

It creeps upon me,
At night when I’m sleeping,
And I know that what I expect
And what will occur are different.

It isn’t a good or a bad thing,
Just being wrong and knowing
That what has gotten your hopes up
Is going to make them dash right back down.

Nobody is to blame, nobody is at fault,
My heart’s just quick to attach
To false hopes. Just quick to expect
When there’s just no spark.

No spark. Nobody to blame.
Just empty fireworks on a cold
New Years Eve,
My heart breaking.

ethereal
by Poetryofamadman

WE STAND,

staring at them.

like ghosts

who have forgotten

what it’s like to be human.

***

we stand,

heads back,

mouths open.

hoping

the rain will water us.

like the sedentary vegetation

we have come to be.

***

we stand,

drunk.

numb.

anesthetized

by the drug ethereal.

that clouds

our cherubic minds.

Lack of Gravity
by Alexandra

A tornado surrounded us

Binding us together,

Then the wind blew you away

In a sudden change of weather.

You caught me when I fell

And dried all of my tears,

With three simple words

You washed away my fears.

You gave me all I needed

A hand, a heart, a friend,

And now I can’t believe

How you brought things to an end.

I suddenly had no cushion

And quickly struck the ground,

The tears ran down my face

For you were not around.

But I’ve worked my way back up

Forgiven, forgotten, and moved on,

Mended my heart back together

And now all thoughts of you are gone.

Cultivate
by Dara Sonjé

Ivy and St. John’s flowers
rise
along the river bank,
next to an elder’s barn.

There
strewn next to rusty hoes and spades
are lost garden beds of wealth,
and the herbs for renewing.

A sudden spring wells up inside Seed-Sowers.

They remember 1 year’s prior
how all-winter days were painful, birthed from
a binding (early) frost
wiping clean all mercy for abundant harvests…

This new day, a heightened dawn has been unearthed,
stringy moss and catatonic roots
bleed sounds of pleasure.

Magician Growers
walk the rows where alfalfa and melon will soon
be planted/new lives
are welcome now.

Dew is falling into Tending Hands
who brush off strains of water drops gently thawing.
Vines wrapped ’round wooden fences
(the splintered vision contended with  1 year’s prior)…
bloom with sweetened rage,
(demanding)
fruits from its labor
be enjoyed.

This morning is a vessel,
proud with dedication: sparking challenge
against petty lies that nothing grows from destruction.

This morning is a vessel,
engorged with bounty: feeding gratitude and insight.

Momentum under foot, breaking sound currents
underneath
dark soil and the rocks.

Struggle is a Gift.
A package delicate to touch and indestructible.
Where shedding skin,  molting deadened habits, are the Striving.

(The Gardener’s Potion)
slowly squeezed from
a formless mist,
steeped in thorned vitality,
imbibed
from leaves scorched with sanity,
and gravity unbound,
(a lush devotion).

Efforts
by Samantha

morning love
coiled in each others sleep
you kiss my forehead
i kiss your forehead
your nose
your cheek
it’s dark
the sun creeps in
and we’re wrapped like presents for each other
in each other
arm, arm, leg, leg
tangled like satisfied shoelaces
knots of “i love you”s
in whispers and sighs
groans of delight
nuzzles and cuddles
you are my pleasure plight.

Often (a dedication to Lucy)
by Matthew Hunter

I thought about you
this morning and
A smile formed and my cheeks widened
Neurons fired returning to memory
thoughts of our night before

I thought about you
just last night and
As my head touched down
on my pillow
Images of you penetrate my dreams and the moon rises

I thought about you
yes, just now
What are you doing and have I
today crossed your mind
Aroma of mocha and cream or is it your sweet breath

It matters not because I think of you often



All Rights Reserved © by their respective authors. Tom Baker and his Morning Erection blog make no claims to any poetry other than his own.

If your poem is/was featured on Poetic License please consider adding the graphic to your site. It definitely is not required but you would make me a happy camper!

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by samantha on April 27, 2012 - 1:44 PM

    thank you so much for featuring me! all poems are lovely. i made a post on my blog so this post could get even more eyes! :)

    http://spindrift.tumblr.com/post/21919953063/

    thanks again! talk soon<3

  2. #2 by ambrosiapeyton on April 2, 2012 - 9:25 PM

    They are all so beautiful. Congratulations to all that made it here.

    • #3 by Tom Baker on April 3, 2012 - 8:38 AM

      How have you been Ambrosia? I’m glad you liked them all.

  3. #4 by Turber on April 2, 2012 - 3:49 PM

    Beautiful words make my soul melt, fantastic picture makes my heart melt – piece of art, it is… would Yoda say. :)

    • #5 by Tom Baker on April 2, 2012 - 7:55 PM

      Yoda is right. All are pieces of art.

  4. #6 by Rudolph_Consuegra on April 2, 2012 - 1:39 PM

    Thanks for featuring my poem. I’ll be sure to include that sticker once I come home. The rest of your featured poets did an amazing job too!

    • #7 by Tom Baker on April 2, 2012 - 7:55 PM

      Thank you Rudolph. I was just at your site and saw the graphic. Again, I’m honored to have been able to feature your poetry.

  5. #8 by prysmatique on April 2, 2012 - 9:49 AM

    Thank you so much for featuring me! The poems here are all truly lovely. Efforts really truly touched me…the words still haunt me in a good way, whispering their way into my thoughts when I try to explain the feel of entwined lovers. Efforts does that beautifully. Loved all the others as well <3

    • #9 by Tom Baker on April 2, 2012 - 9:52 AM

      I’m glad you liked Efforts. I guess I don’t really have to just stick to WordPress to find my poets, but it is so easy that way. Efforts spoke to me as well.

      • #10 by prysmatique on April 2, 2012 - 9:56 AM

        Mhm, it is beautiful. The shoelaces line makes me sigh with happiness.

  6. #11 by Cherlyn on April 2, 2012 - 4:53 AM

    A really lovely selection of poems, really, truly wonderful. If I had to pick two favourites (though they are all fantastic it’s very hard to pick) it would have to be Beauty Reverse and Often. Maybe I just could relate to them, or that they spoke to a certain part of my heart.

    Thank you for sharing all these wonderful poems :)

    • #12 by Tom Baker on April 2, 2012 - 9:40 AM

      Not to make anyone feel less of a poet but I like when people express which poem they like best most likely because it would be the one that did touch them in some way. Whenever you post two poems I always seem to have one speak more to me than the other. Thanks for you kind words to everyone.

      • #13 by Cherlyn on April 2, 2012 - 12:19 PM

        And I thank you again for sharing these poems :)

  7. #15 by Ina on April 2, 2012 - 4:36 AM

    Hi Tom, those are lovely. :)

    • #16 by Tom Baker on April 2, 2012 - 9:38 AM

      Thank you Ina. Maybe one day one of these guys will be published like you have been. It’s still so amazing to know a published author!

  8. #17 by David (1MereMortal) on April 2, 2012 - 1:18 AM

    Excellent selection of poems.

    • #18 by Tom Baker on April 2, 2012 - 9:37 AM

      It is always a pleasure to see you here and leaving comments David. I’m glad you like them and that means a lot considering how much time and effort you put into your great poems.

  9. #19 by TemptingSweets99 on April 2, 2012 - 1:15 AM

    I always enjoy the poem selections here.

    • #20 by Tom Baker on April 2, 2012 - 9:35 AM

      Thank you TS99. I am grateful for people who follow this series. It makes the poets feel good that they are appreciated, I’m sure.

  10. #21 by nenskei on April 2, 2012 - 12:48 AM

    Nice batch! :)

    • #22 by Tom Baker on April 2, 2012 - 9:34 AM

      Thanks Shira, you know I always look for the best!

  1. Upcoming::: « KymmieTheWriter
  2. April 2012 Poetic License « Spellcraft Column

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

