30 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 8


If I could afford it, the piece of famous artwork you would find in my home is…

Michelangelo’s David. My first thought was Mona Lisa. My second thought was Starry Night but how cool would it be to walk into a huge foyer and the David sculpture greeting you? Just like the photo. You knock on my door, I open the door to a huge atrium/foyer and staring you face to foot is David.

Michelangelo was a bad son of a gun! He invented the helicopter, painted the Mona Lisa, sculpted David, has a town in Italy named after him, was the architect for St. Peter’s Basilica and did so much more. David on the other hand wrote most of the book of Psalms, killed Goliath as a boy and became king of Israel. God also said of David, “I have found David the son of Jesse, a man after My own heart, who will do all My will.”

As I learn more and more about the Bible and see how it relates to my life, I surely wouldn’t mind being someone God could say that about.

I forgot to reread this post before publishing and left some information that should have been removed. Da Vinci invented the helicopter and painted Mona Lisa.

Participants
Cherlyn Cochrane
, Jenn MikoLJ, Melanie, Last Civilized Woman, Princesa Musang, Primadonna Zel, Caroline, Koi, Aurathena, Terriblethinker, Sleep and Salami, Marliz3e, Prysmatique, DLonelyStarAnonymousBurn, Nicole, Sylvia Garza, Mariana, Nenskei, MyNakedBokkie, Bluefiadiarries, VeehCirra, Bannatreasures, Sajeev, HappyhippieroseTheFerkel, Tom Baker, *Sofia, *Everything Love & Lust, *TemptingSweets99, Sites with an * contain NSFW material. If erotic or sexual material is offensive to you, please do not visit these three blogs.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Paul Orr on April 14, 2012 - 10:07 PM

    My flat isn’t big enough for ‘David’, but “Starry Night” would make a nice addition to my wall. At present I have a poster of “The Last Summer” which I will have to get around to hanging up.

  2. #2 by Miko on April 14, 2012 - 8:30 AM

    I am sticking with your choice of Michelangelo’s David! If I lived with you, I wouldn’t mind it at all. Who wouldn’t like to be greeted by such a sexy man everyday? :D

    • #3 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:49 PM

      Do you mean the statue of David or me?

      • #4 by Miko on April 15, 2012 - 10:13 AM

        Both! Ahahahahaha :D

  3. #5 by Broken Sparkles on April 13, 2012 - 11:49 PM

    For me that would be Claude Monet “Water Lilies” or Damien Hirst “Requiem, White Roses and Butterflies” and if I can have both it will be great! I’d love to have what you choose too, but I’ll leave it to you :)

    • #6 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:49 PM

      I have looked up both and see why you would like them. Monet was a genius anyway.

  4. #7 by Sofia on April 13, 2012 - 9:49 PM

    You and TemptingSweets choose the same thing. How cool. :)
    Great post.
    Sorry I am late commmenting… Playing catchup

    • #8 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:48 PM

      It’s okay, I’m late replying!

      • #9 by AnonymousBurn on April 14, 2012 - 7:09 PM

        I guess just appreciation of good art? we have a small replica of David in the house right now, actually.

  5. #10 by wildcatnova on April 13, 2012 - 12:33 PM

    my husband would LOVE to have this in our house!

    • #11 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:47 PM

      What would be your husband’s reason?

  6. #12 by ambrosiapeyton on April 12, 2012 - 11:22 AM

    For a nudist the statue of David is the perfect selection. Even without the statue it would be great to have a house with a foyer large enough to accomodate such a piece. I like Renoir’s The Bathers

    • #13 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:47 PM

      You and Cherlyn said the same thing.

  7. #14 by Eclipse on April 12, 2012 - 4:11 AM

    Wonderful choice of the artwork, Tom….
    I also like your reasoning about life and the Bible here, nowdays you can’t hear something like that very often :)

    • #15 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:46 PM

      Thank you. I appreciate you kind words.

  8. #16 by dlonelystar on April 11, 2012 - 11:03 PM

    I didn’t know that Da Vinci invented the helicopter. cool beans.

    • #17 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:45 PM

      Yes, he did. He invented so many things including a tank. It was wooden of course but there are definitely blue prints he created.

  9. #18 by PM on April 11, 2012 - 8:20 PM

    why is it that sculptures of the nude male bod always seem to have small members? just asking. :lol:

    • #19 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:44 PM

      I wondered the same thing. Are you saying you’d prefer them to be bigger?

  10. #20 by Bluejellybeans on April 11, 2012 - 7:11 PM

    That’s a good choice! Very clever of you :)

    • #21 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:44 PM

      You give me too much credit Giovanna. I’m not that clever.

  11. #22 by Ebony Brown on April 11, 2012 - 3:59 PM

    Simply Awesome!!! …not to mention the ever-so carved male member that makes for an even more likely choice… ;)

  12. #24 by Susannah Bianchi on April 11, 2012 - 3:46 PM

    Just wondering what you were up to. Like all the trouble you go to. People are always ribbing me for posting every day but it’s a great commitment to make so I applaud you there Tom.
    Susannah

    • #25 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:43 PM

      Why do people get on your case for posting everyday?

      • #26 by Susannah Bianchi on April 14, 2012 - 6:39 PM

        Oh I don’t know. They think it’s crazy and unnecessary. Most people don’t post every day.
        I love to write so for me it’s such a privilege.

        • #27 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 6:42 PM

          Do they feel obligated to read because you post everyday? It’s your blog. I don’t see the problem. It’s just my opinion though.

          • #28 by Susannah Bianchi on April 14, 2012 - 6:49 PM

            I had 1 girl I know who is no longer a follower tell me she felt pressured. She then took herself off the blog. It was rather hurtful in a way since I knew her but to be honest, I never ask anyone to read it. I like when it’s read but for me it’s all about the writing. Some people love it others get bored I guess.

          • #29 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 7:39 PM

            As with anything. I’m sure you don’t let it bother you.

          • #30 by Susannah Bianchi on April 15, 2012 - 6:38 AM

            I try, but I’m only human.

  13. #31 by terriblethinker on April 11, 2012 - 12:25 PM

    I really liked this post. Yea, Michelangelo’s David is a beautiful and worthy addition to a house..

    • #32 by Tom Baker on April 11, 2012 - 3:22 PM

      Thank you. Right now I have no place to put it, but if I could afford the statue, I should be able to afford the house to put it in too.

  14. #34 by Cherlyn on April 11, 2012 - 10:45 AM

    You just want the statue of David because he’s a symbol of male sexuality, don’t you? :P Just teasing!

    That would be cool though, having a huge foyer with a statue like that – it’d represent your nudist side wouldn’t it?

    Great answer Tom :)

    • #35 by Tom Baker on April 11, 2012 - 11:44 AM

      In all honesty being a nudist never entered my mind when I chose David, but it could have been subconsciously.

  15. #36 by prysmatique on April 11, 2012 - 9:57 AM

    Ohhh the statue of David, what an eclectic choice! I would be a tad uncomfortable staring at him in the nude all the time though lmao. I’d be so tempted to give him a loincloth or something.

    • #37 by Tom Baker on April 11, 2012 - 11:42 AM

      I think you would get used to it.

      • #38 by prysmatique on April 11, 2012 - 12:52 PM

        Me personally, probably not. Normal people probaby could :P

        • #39 by Tom Baker on April 11, 2012 - 3:27 PM

          You’re normal! He was given the penis of a little boy and not a man anyway. What are you gonna do with your sons? You aren’t going to close your eyes when you change diapers! You’re stronger than you think.

          • #40 by prysmatique on April 11, 2012 - 5:14 PM

            LOL Oh that’s not it, I’ve changed my younger brother’s diapers believe me. It’s just…that statue with the broken penis bothers me so much more than it should lol

  16. #41 by savesprinkles1234 on April 11, 2012 - 9:54 AM

    I love this question because art history is one of my passions. David really is a beautiful piece with interesting proportions. Notice his large hands? He was originally intended to be placed on the roof of the Florence Cathedral where from that angle everthing would appear in proportion. However, due to some political issues in Florence with the Medicis, he was placed in front of a Florentine government building as a symbol of Florence’s power. I always found it interesting how a piece with religious intententions was used a political symbol. I would choose Bosch’s “The Garden of Earthly Delights.” This work has always intrigued me because it seems so ahead of its time and because every time I look at it, I notice something new. It was painted in the late 1400s to early 1500s, yet it seems like it could be shown along side of one of Dali’s works. Good question and answer, Tom!

    • #42 by Tom Baker on April 11, 2012 - 11:41 AM

      I did not know any of that about David. I looked up The Garden of Earthly Delights and there is so much going on in that picture. I wonder how long it took to paint?

  17. #43 by koisevilla on April 11, 2012 - 9:06 AM

    Oooh… Did not think of that… Perhaps i’d get the sculpture of the thinker and place it inside a huge bathroom facing the toilet… Lol brooding moment while on the “thinking chair” anyone?

    • #44 by Tom Baker on April 11, 2012 - 9:29 AM

      I’d get a kick out of seeing that. Wait, that doesn’t sound right.

  18. #46 by AnonymousBurn on April 11, 2012 - 8:45 AM

    Everyone else’s answer to this question makes me feel a bit cheap and tawdry. I can’t say that I would change my answer although I think everyone else’s are really great!!

    • #47 by Tom Baker on April 11, 2012 - 11:38 AM

      Why do you say that about your answer?

      • #48 by AnonymousBurn on April 11, 2012 - 3:07 PM

        Because my David is so very different from yours :)

  19. #49 by bluefiadiarries on April 11, 2012 - 6:59 AM

    “He invented the helicopter, painted the Mona Lisa” — Didn’t Leonardo Da Vinci painted Mona Lisa?

    • #50 by Tom Baker on April 11, 2012 - 8:01 AM

      Da Vinci did paint the Mona Lisa and invent the helicopter. I kinda got confused while composing this post. At first I chose the Mona Lisa and then decided on David but neglected to reread the post. Thank you Fia!

      • #51 by bluefiadiarries on April 13, 2012 - 3:37 AM

        You’re welcome Tom. Oh,well I didn’t really know Da Vinci also invented the helicopter but it’s an added info now. Thanks as well!

  20. #52 by mynakedbokkie on April 11, 2012 - 6:04 AM

    What a brilliant idea! Love it. X

    • #53 by Tom Baker on April 11, 2012 - 8:12 AM

      Thank you. I just don’t want to be the one to have to carry it.

  21. #54 by LJ on April 11, 2012 - 2:02 AM

    this is a very good choice, i am just not comfortable having this on my house, hahaha.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

