30 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 9


When the cashier gives me this amount of money for change I know it’s too much money to dump in the charity bucket…

Truth is any amount of money is too much. If I don’t know for sure that the money is going where they say it is going or if it going to a charity that deals with any type of medical ailment, in no way will I donate even a penny. I know that it sounds like I am a huge jerk. Well perhaps I am but not for this reason. Sometime last year I think I wrote a post on why I do not donate money to medical charities. If you would like to know my reasons, please visit that post.

It is far more likely that any pennies I am given will be tossed into the Need A Penny – Leave A Penny tray. There have been plenty of time I did not need to use my ATM card or break a bill because of the convenience of those trays. Genius!

Participants
Cherlyn Cochrane
, Emmmmerz, Jenn MikoLJ, Melanie, Last Civilized Woman, Princesa Musang, Primadonna Zel, Caroline, Koi, Aurathena, Terriblethinker, Sleep and Salami, Marliz3e, Prysmatique, DLonelyStarAnonymousBurn, Nicole, Sylvia Garza, Mariana, Nenskei, MyNakedBokkie, Bluefiadiarries, VeehCirra, Bannatreasures, Sajeev, HappyhippieroseTheFerkel, Tom Baker, *Sofia, *Everything Love & Lust, *TemptingSweets99, Sites with an * contain NSFW material. If erotic or sexual material is offensive to you, please do not visit these three blogs.

, ,

  1. #1 by Miko on April 15, 2012 - 9:08 AM

    The penny tray is a brilliant idea, but If I were to choose I’d rather use the money to buy food or something else and then give it to people. I don’t want to be a paranoid but I had encounters of people using this strategy to get money from people, which is just wrong. People are generally kind-hearted and willing to help but if you abuse them, sometimes one will think twice to reach out and help.

  2. #2 by Sofia on April 14, 2012 - 4:06 AM

    It is genius!!!

    • #3 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:28 PM

      It has helped me on more than one occasion but now I usually use the ATM card for everything.

  3. #4 by wildcatnova on April 13, 2012 - 12:32 PM

    I read your linked post, and I actually don’t disagree. My current charity of choice is something that I can SEE goes 100% toward bettering the lives of children who are sick. It’s not some large and nebulous “find a cure” fund. It really couldn’t be clearer. Your $10 gets one child a Tubie Friend. That child gets to forget their illness/disability for a few moments, and find joy in the fact that someone else is “just like them.” That bear can be used to start conversations with friends, family, teachers, and strangers – conversations that show that this is NOT scary, NOT abnormal, just a different way to eat.

    That’s my kind of “charity.” I want to know what my dollars are doing and what impact I’m having.

    • #5 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:31 PM

      I’m always happy when people agree with me!

  4. #6 by koisevilla on April 13, 2012 - 10:36 AM

    the thing is, I don’t really care where the money goes to sometimes… it’s not that I like wasting cash [that I do not have LOL] it’s just because I like to give. does that make sense? I don’t know…

    I mean, here in our city there are a lot of beggars and street children using their younger baby brothers/sisters or their old uncle [twice removed and in a wheelchair] to ask for alms while your car is waiting for the light to go green. I have been told a lot of times not to give change to any of them because they are actually members of a gang or a syndicate that just uses these people to swindle money from others… But at the back of my mind, I am still helping -that’s it. And I think in a way, I am helping a kid not get beaten up by their gang leaders because they came home empty handed…

    • #7 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:31 PM

      I can understand. You just like doing a good thing.

  5. #9 by dlonelystar on April 13, 2012 - 12:35 AM

    I would rather give my money or time directly to a person than money

    • #10 by dlonelystar on April 13, 2012 - 12:35 AM

      than donating blindly i meant

      • #11 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:32 PM

        I understood. Sometimes time is better than money.

  6. #12 by savesprinkles1234 on April 12, 2012 - 2:21 PM

    It honestly depends on the charity. I live in a small town where I know many of the residents here. Sometimes there will be charity boxes to help pay for the medical treatment of a local person. I usually always give to those, if I know the person. I prefer keeping my charitable donations local and direct. I would much rather give a $100 Kohls gift card to someone who just lost all of their clothing in a housefire, than give money to the Red Cross where I know very little of my donation goes directly to helping people and more goes to their administration fees and salaries.

    • #13 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:32 PM

      Local seems to be the best way but I still don’t give to medical charities. I just don’t trust them.

  7. #14 by veehcirra on April 12, 2012 - 11:25 AM

    Those charity tins are put there just to guillt us into giving…

  8. #16 by musingsoftheamusingmuse on April 12, 2012 - 8:54 AM

    I don’t leave money in the charity buckets either. Take a Penny, Leave a Penny always gets my pennies, but the charity buckets…. no. I have a select few charities that I have thoroughly researched and give to them.

    • #17 by Tom Baker on April 12, 2012 - 9:15 AM

      Smart. Good choice.

    • #18 by R. E. Hunter on April 14, 2012 - 5:53 PM

      I don’t use cash anymore except in case of emergencies, so I never have any pennies 8^). In fact they just recently announced here in Canada that they’re not making any more pennies, they are being phased out. They’ve basically become worthless and too expensive to bother making.

      • #19 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:58 PM

        They have been talking the same thing here in the US but I don’t think it will happen. Too many of our stores have prices that end in .99

        • #20 by R. E. Hunter on April 14, 2012 - 6:05 PM

          They do that here too (which I’ve never understood, are people really fooled by that?), but they’ll probably just make it .95 instead.

  9. #21 by AnonymousBurn on April 12, 2012 - 8:24 AM

    Truth be told (and this is the month for is)…I like the Leave a Penny tray more. I love random strangers doing nice gestures for the sake of making a day or moment for another random stranger a bit easier. It’s because we don’t do it every day that when it is done, this simple act of kindness makes me happy to be alive and in the world with *these people*. Like the day you DO hold the elevator for someone running to catch it, let that car in front of you even though you are in a rush, drive an old lady home from the grocery store because other wise she’d have to walk, or leave a penny for someone who might just need it.

    • #22 by Tom Baker on April 12, 2012 - 8:27 AM

      I agree and somehow I have a feeling I know which dare you are going to do!

      • #23 by AnonymousBurn on April 12, 2012 - 8:35 AM

        You are probably right. I like to push myself to do things I fear. Doing anonymously is easy; being unmasked or obvious is much harder.

  10. #24 by Cherlyn on April 12, 2012 - 5:31 AM

    I agree with R.E. Hunter – I don’t trust a lot of charities. I have a select few I do trust but I’ve spent a lot of time researching. I don’t think that makes you a jerk either Tom, I found a lot of people had similar answers.

    • #25 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:34 PM

      I should do more research on those that aren’t medical but like you said, giving locally seems to be the best way to go when giving.

  11. #26 by Bluejellybeans on April 12, 2012 - 5:07 AM

    I agree, there are so many scam NGO around, is a shame for the good ones, but hey!, you never know…

    • #27 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:35 PM

      I try to know. I either research of give my money as a tithe in church where I know the money will go to help either the members of the community or members as an outreach when they need financial help.

  12. #28 by mynakedbokkie on April 12, 2012 - 5:00 AM

    What is the need a penny leave a penny tray? Don’t think that would go well in Sa. Lol.

    • #29 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:36 PM

      If you are paying for something and are a few cents short, you just grab some of the change that has been left in the tray to help pay your checkout bill. If you are like most people who hate pennies, you leave them when you get them as change.

  13. #30 by Ina on April 12, 2012 - 1:34 AM

    It is awful charity is needed I think. In an ideal society, the government looks after everyone who can’t look after himself. But reality makes it neccesary to have charity. Then I think it should be done honest, and not like mentioned above!

    • #31 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:37 PM

      I think the bad thing is that people have to be asked to help. There was a time when there was a need and the community automatically chipped in and helped.

  14. #32 by R. E. Hunter on April 12, 2012 - 12:09 AM

    I never put money into those charity boxes, because it generally does not go to the charities! The charities rent their name out to the companies that run the boxes for a fixed monthly amount, independent of how much is brought it (except you know they’re going to drop the charities that aren’t profitable for them). In return, the companies keep all of the proceeds from the box. So you are not benefiting that charity, other than possibly indirectly by keeping them from being dropped. Better to keep your change and donate directly to your favourite charities (and check them out carefully too – some of them are spending as little as 20% of receipts on their charitable work).

    • #33 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:38 PM

      That is awful. I did not know that. I feel good about myself now!

      • #34 by R. E. Hunter on April 14, 2012 - 5:54 PM

        Yeah, I was shocked when I first found that out too.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

