30 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 11


When I’ve had a really bad day the first thing (not person) I reach for is…

Either the mouse or the remote. I cannot really tell which I would be more likely to choose. You see I don’t have bad days too often. I don’t allow myself. Until recently (February), I didn’t remember even what it was like to have a bad day. Tiring, stressful, hectic but not bad. I normally grab for the television or stereo remote automatically. I also grab for the computer’s on button.

After disrobing and showering I usually jump right onto the computer. It’s warmed up and ready to go by the time I get out of the shower and I’m ready to comment and reply and write some more. I like to chat with special friends and we joke around a lot. While I’m on the computer I do watch TV too. If it is a television show I want to watch the TV gets more of my attention than the computer. If not, my computer table sits in front of a huge mirror and I concentrate on the computer and watch through the mirror.

If I’m not at all interested in TV, I listen to music. Generally I do not listen to the radio but I might put in a CD I made or listen through iTunes on the computer. I prefer the CDs because iTunes slows my computer down considerably. My favorite type of music to listen to while blogging is smooth jazz. With and without lyrics. Chris Botti is the artist I play over and over and over; ad nauseam. One of my favorite Chris Botti songs is an old Diana Ross song, Good Morning Heartache. Please, it’s only about six minutes of your life… It’s the live version and I wish you would watch it. Or if you want to just hear a sample then check out 30 seconds on Amazon by clicking on the song title below.

For the movies I watch you can see on my Roll Film, not as updated as it should be, page. As far as television shows, I like NCIS, Touch, Doctor Who, and a few shows on Food Network. If you have not been able to tell yet, I like to blog and good mood or bad, I like to grab my mouse and write.

Participants
Cherlyn Cochrane
, Emmmmerz, Miko, LJ, Melanie, Last Civilized Woman, Princesa Musang, Primadonna Zel, Caroline, Koi, Aurathena, Terriblethinker, Sleep and Salami, Marliz3e, Prysmatique, DLonelyStar, AnonymousBurn, Nicole, Sylvia Garza, Mariana, Nenskei, MyNakedBokkie, Bluefiadiarries, VeehCirra, Bannatreasures, Sajeev, Happyhippierose, TheFerkel, Tom Baker, *Sofia, *Everything Love & Lust, *TemptingSweets99, Sites with an * contain NSFW material. If erotic or sexual material is offensive to you, please do not visit these three blogs.

Chris Botti featuring Jill Scott
Good Morning Heartache

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by terriblethinker on April 18, 2012 - 8:15 PM

    Nice..i think computer/tv/music are very good ways of unwinding.. and relaxing..there are soem awfully good serials which make your day..my fav used to be friends

    • #2 by Tom Baker on April 19, 2012 - 2:08 AM

      Friends is a show I never liked.

  2. #3 by Miko on April 17, 2012 - 7:11 AM

    I like to watch NCIS: Los Angeles and other shows like Grey’a Anatomy and CSI. But if there’s one thing I really don’t like watching, that would be reality shows (e.g The Kardashians, The Hills, Jersey Shore) They are entertaining (at least for me) but sometimes this show can drive audiences crazy!

    • #4 by Tom Baker on April 19, 2012 - 2:14 AM

      I like NCIS:LA but the original is better to me. I miss shows like 24.

  3. #5 by Sofia on April 17, 2012 - 2:04 AM

    ah the TV… That would of been my third choice. :)

    • #6 by Tom Baker on April 19, 2012 - 2:12 AM

      I like the TV because it’s called the boob tube.

  4. #7 by wildcatnova on April 15, 2012 - 8:54 PM

    Dr. Who is my favorite. The little Shields has a TARDIS hat for winter :) His head must be bigger on the inside…

    • #8 by Tom Baker on April 19, 2012 - 2:11 AM

      Very funny Caroline. I have yet to see any of the new season but I am looking forward to it. Anytime I turn on BBC America some stupid car show, Top Gear is on. Every freaking time.

  5. #9 by Paul Orr(leprachaunz) on April 14, 2012 - 10:15 PM

    That’s a great video. I now realise why I like your site so much Tom. Another ‘Jazz Loving Nudist’.

    • #10 by Tom Baker on April 15, 2012 - 4:45 PM

      That we are Paul. I’m grateful that you stop by from time to time. I like introducing people to the music I like.

  6. #11 by TemptingSweets99 on April 14, 2012 - 7:47 PM

    P.S. Meant to add that I like Jill Scott, alot. Like Botti, too. Did you ever see Scott in the T.V. series, the #1 Ladies Detective Agency. It’s based on a collection of books about this African woman who forms a detective agency. One of my fave books.

    • #12 by Tom Baker on April 15, 2012 - 4:45 PM

      I did hear about the series but never saw it.

  7. #13 by everything L&L on April 14, 2012 - 6:40 PM

    Music is always good but I find myself wanting music when I’ve been emotionally hurt. During which time I usually listen to music that reinforces my misery.

    • #14 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 6:44 PM

      You need to make a playlist of songs that will lift your spirit and always have it on hand to play when you are feeling hurt. Step away from the misery…

  8. #15 by Cherlyn on April 14, 2012 - 2:19 PM

    Watching TV is definitely something I love to do when I have a bad day, it’s distracting.

    • #16 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:13 PM

      It is distracting! That is one reason I hate reality TV. I want to escape and not watch someone else’s train wreck. I suppose that is why sci-fi appeals so much to me.

      • #17 by Cherlyn on April 14, 2012 - 5:19 PM

        I agree, reality tv does nothing for me. I miss shows like 24 or Babylon 5, shows with great writing and amazing plots that made you want to keep watching.

        • #18 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:21 PM

          Total agreement. I’m in the mood for X-Files right now.

          • #19 by Cherlyn on April 14, 2012 - 5:27 PM

            I was trying to watch earlier but my headache made me not enjoy anything. I think I’ll have to watch a bit when I get home from work tomorrow – I’m having a Mulder withdrawal!

            Netflix my friend – so much X-Files lol

          • #20 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:30 PM

            I hope you feel better. Maybe one of those bubble baths you mentioned on day whatever.

          • #21 by Cherlyn on April 15, 2012 - 7:49 PM

            Haha maybe :)

  9. #22 by ambrosiapeyton on April 14, 2012 - 9:12 AM

    I think I have seen Jill Scott before but until now I did not know what she sounded like. I like the song very much. Thanks for sharing and expanding my scope.

    • #23 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:11 PM

      I am glad you liked the song. I was hoping when I posted that some really would listen.

  10. #24 by Momma E. on April 14, 2012 - 9:11 AM

    Music and computer , and/or music on computer. And some wine. Possibly catch up with my tv shows on demand. Or watch The Princess Bride. Next year I will be participating in this, got busy and missed the deadline this time. Have a great day!

    • #25 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:10 PM

      Now I am looking forward to next year even the more. It will be in February!

  11. #27 by holeinthefabic on April 14, 2012 - 5:03 AM

    Morning erection, must say very interesting word choice. Anyways, I know what you mean with turning on music especially after a bad day.. There is something about it that just frees the mind and lets mental clarity return. Jazz has never been something I have explored very much. Thanks for opening my eyes to a genre I have overlooked. I very much enjoyed the song =)

    • #28 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:05 PM

      I’m glad you liked the song Luke.

  12. #29 by Sylvia on April 14, 2012 - 2:37 AM

    Oh, I could get lost in watching The Food Network. I may get over my bad day, but then I get hungry after watching the shows! LOL

    • #30 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:04 PM

      I don’t usually get hungry from anyone except Giada.

  13. #31 by LJ on April 14, 2012 - 1:39 AM

    jill scott is love! :) i also play something every time i am in front of the computer, its relaxing.

  14. #33 by tekia on April 14, 2012 - 1:17 AM

    The first thing I do is reach for music too. I also LOVE smooth Jazz and it’s something I listen to almost all the time when I want to de-stress or just relax. Other times I’ll listen to R&B, which I LOVE also. My favorite smooth jazz musician is Boney James. From Chris Botti, I like his rendition of Sade’s song “No Ordinary Love”.

    • #34 by Tom Baker on April 14, 2012 - 5:03 PM

      Boney is one of my favorites too. I like Seduction and his duet with Shai especially.

  15. #35 by TemptingSweets99 on April 14, 2012 - 12:05 AM

    cool music and t.v. show choices.

  1. tits

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

