30 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 15


Given the choice between infinite time or infinite money, I would choose…

At first the choice seemed like something I needed to ponder but when I really realized what was at stake here, I knew infinite time was not the right choice for me. I thought about getting sick and having that sickness for an eternity. I thought about watching loved one after loved one, wife after wife, child after child buried. I would be like a vampire hiding from cameras and staying out of history’s way.

My life would be like any of those horrible shows on the CW, Lifetime or the SyFy channel. I would be living but not really alive. A cross between a zombie and a vampire. A zompire or a vambie. My life would be a series of Groundhog Days without the humor.

Infinite money on the other hand would help me to make use of the time I had been given. Normal time. A normal life. At any given moment I would have the ability to do whatever I wanted, go wherever I wanted, eat whatever I wanted, be with kings and queens, presidents and scholars, celebrities and most important family members. But it would also be difficult to tell who liked me for me and who simply liked my money.

(photo credit: Astropics.com)

My choice though, (and I hope the masses don’t get upset with me for going outside the box), would be to either have neither or choose to have infinite wisdom. With wisdom, I would be valued for me. I don’t mean knowledge. I mean wisdom. I’m not saying I could go out and find the cure for every disease or solve every murder case. I mean given the situation and circumstance I would be able to use all my faculties to always come up with the best response, the best answer, the best advice, the most meaningful words to say. Wisdom or none of the above for me. Isn’t the Milky Way beautiful?

Sylvia Garza, Sajeev,  Cherlyn Cochrane, Emmmmerz, Miko, LJ, Melanie, Last Civilized Woman, Princesa Musang, Primadonna Zel, Caroline, Koi, Aurathena, Terriblethinker, Sleep and Salami, Marliz3e, Prysmatique, DLonelyStar, AnonymousBurn, Nicole, Mariana, Nenskei, MyNakedBokkie, Bluefiadiarries, VeehCirra, Bannatreasures, Happyhippierose, TheFerkel, Tom Baker, *Sofia, *Everything Love & Lust, *TemptingSweets99, Sites with an * contain NSFW material. If erotic or sexual material is offensive to you, please do not visit these three blogs.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Miko on April 21, 2012 - 10:27 AM

    Oh man! your post made me seriously think. Not bad for asking for Infinite wisdom! If given the chance (and if this was given as part of the choices) I would choose this too :)

    • #2 by Tom Baker on April 23, 2012 - 11:05 AM

      I was pretty wise to consider that, huh?

  2. #3 by terriblethinker on April 18, 2012 - 8:05 PM

    very well written post. and wisdom is the big thing, but you know heart of hearts, when i think very very practically, somewhere money does come in the picture

    • #4 by Tom Baker on April 19, 2012 - 1:58 AM

      Maybe I would take donations!

  3. #5 by bannatreasures on April 18, 2012 - 4:10 PM

    That’s an excellent choice, I really like this post! So you’d be the Guru of Wisdom :)

    • #6 by Tom Baker on April 19, 2012 - 1:59 AM

      Thank you. It’s the only choice for me but money sounds great too.

  4. #7 by Micah on April 18, 2012 - 3:07 PM

    Hi Tom! Infinite wisdom sounds like a good choice. But I would have chosen infinity money if I were asked. I’m too impatient to have infinite wisdom I’d end up gaining more enemies than friends. Hahaha. Well, we always perceive money as the root of all evil but I digress. If used wisely, that infinite money can bring forth happiness to you and to your loved ones and to other people even. It’s just a matter of taking control over your money instead of the other way around.

    • #8 by Tom Baker on April 19, 2012 - 2:00 AM

      I understand. It takes a lot of patience to deal with the human race. Without it wisdom and the desire to use it would be a curse.

  5. #9 by savesprinkles1234 on April 18, 2012 - 11:47 AM

    I would definitely choose the money. Though I’m a huge vampire fan, I don’t deal well with loss, so infinite time would suck. I wouldn’t worry about whether people just liked me for my money because I continue to hang out with the family and friends that I hung out with before I became rich!

    • #10 by Tom Baker on April 18, 2012 - 12:03 PM

      Good thinking! A moment of honesty for you. Do you wish you had joined us this month?

      • #11 by savesprinkles1234 on April 18, 2012 - 6:44 PM

        I do wish I had joined you all, but I can’t seem to shed my writer’s block!

  6. #12 by everything L&L on April 18, 2012 - 8:49 AM

    Hey this was either A or B, but you picked C. C wasnt an option lol.

    • #13 by Tom Baker on April 18, 2012 - 9:01 AM

      I think I apologized in the post!

      • #14 by everything L&L on April 18, 2012 - 9:09 AM

        Yes you did, however that does not make me feel any less frustrated with your blatant disregard for guidelines. But this honesty blogging and I respect and accept your honesty.

        • #15 by Tom Baker on April 18, 2012 - 9:11 AM

          And I appreciate it because it was not my desire to put anyone off but in good conscious, I could not pick the other two although the money was tempting.

  7. #16 by AnonymousBurn on April 18, 2012 - 8:17 AM

    Very interesting. I wonder though with infinite wisdom would you also have infinite patience? Because you may have the best advice, the right answer but those who sought your words would still end up making their choices for themselves – often *wrong* and often, I would imagine, frustrating.

    • #17 by Tom Baker on April 18, 2012 - 8:26 AM

      Well, even though I am kinda anal rententive I have more patience than the average bear. A lot of patience really and I am very slow to anger.

      I already deal with this. People are always sharing with me and although I don’t have infinite wisdom or even wisdom people do ask for advice or just a word or two. Not everyone listens to me and you are right, they choose what is best for them. What I find interesting is that people have sometimes already made up in their minds what they are gonna do and just seek advice hoping it validates what they already know they are going to do.

      I hate to bore you but another thing I always find interesting is those that do take my advice and ‘value’ my every word when it comes to other people in their life; never want to accept my words when I am talking about them. How can I be so right about everything else in their life and so wrong about them? Go figure. (I don’t want you to think I am writing this to toot my own horn or anything).

      • #18 by AnonymousBurn on April 18, 2012 - 8:35 AM

        Ha. No judgment here, Tom. I know what you mean and I deal with that, too. It’s because honesty is not an easy pill to swallow. When I’m dealing with a friend in crisis and I want to help them – I will usually ask them what brand of honesty the want: the real kind or the kind that just makes you feel better.

        I’m that way, too, though. Especially these days – there has been a lot of really crazy emotional things going on and I’m steering clear from those who would stop me from falling face first into feeling one way and clinging to those who validate my feelings. I will get to the place where I can be rational about it all but right now, I just need to feel the way I do.

        • #19 by Tom Baker on April 18, 2012 - 8:39 AM

          I understand. Lots of folks are like that. It’s a process and I hope things for you work out for the best. I like how you ask first what kind of words they are looking for.

          • #20 by AnonymousBurn on April 18, 2012 - 8:42 AM

            It’s important to be able to help in the way that is supportive at the time. That support will change, too, as we process.

            Thanks. After the month of honesty will be a series I’m glibbly referring to as “How to Meet Your Birth Mother in Ten Days”

          • #21 by Tom Baker on April 18, 2012 - 8:45 AM

            I look forward to it. Also, the next honesty month is February 2013 and if you want to contribute a question, just forward it to me. There are 20 spots left so you can have one! Also if you have not given me the two questions for this year’s community memes, I will need those too. There is one in July and the regular one in December. Thanks!

          • #22 by AnonymousBurn on April 18, 2012 - 8:46 AM

            I’ll get on that right away!!

  8. #23 by mynakedbokkie on April 18, 2012 - 1:24 AM

    Good answer. X

    • #24 by Tom Baker on April 18, 2012 - 8:30 AM

      Thank you Bokkie. It was one of the easier posts but finding a good image to go with it took longer.

  9. #25 by Melanie T on April 18, 2012 - 1:17 AM

    Right there with you on infinite money! That was a no-brainer!

    • #26 by Tom Baker on April 18, 2012 - 8:30 AM

      No, Mel, I did not choose money. I thought about it but went off the grid with wisdom.

  10. #27 by TemptingSweets99 on April 18, 2012 - 12:40 AM

    Oh! If “Infinite Wisdom” were part of the choice or if I’d thought of it, that would have been my answer. That’s what I’d choose, too. Wonderful post.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

