30 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 16

A bit of housecleaning before today’s post…

I don’t know about anyone else but this has been a real challenge. It is great to see more than half of the month gone already. I’ve enjoyed getting to know everyone better and just getting to know those I did not know before the challenge.

If you took part in last December’s meme and want to take part in the two this year, I need your two questions for the meme. If you have already submitted them, thank you. I will be posting the questions for the July meme sometime in May. It gives you two full months to complete you answers.

If you did not participate in last year’s meme we would love for you to join. To see what all the hubbub is about visit last year’s answers here or last year’s explanation here. Submit your two questions via my contact page and not in the comment section. I need at least twenty bloggers from December’s meme to contribute questions or I will be forced to come up with my own. Insert evil, blood curdling laugh… now.

Oh, and there will be a little twist to the dares. I will reveal all on April 24th. Stay tuned.


I’ve just been granted the power of resurrection but I can only use it to bring back one dead celebrity. I would bring back ________ because…

Wait, can I pretend to suffer from delusions of grandeur and think myself a celebrity and when I die, bring myself back?

This question sucks because I cannot think of a good answer. Well it might be good but not perfect. Here is my dilemma. I thought about Whitney Houston. If I bring her back to sing once again to the world, will she do drugs again and kill herself? If I bring Michael Jackson back will he continue being addicted to the drugs he was on? If I were to bring Amy Winehouse, Kurt Cobain, or Elvis Presley, back would they continue doing the drugs and drinking too? Bringing someone back to life to continue along the destructive lifestyle that probably led to their downfall would just be selfish and inconsiderate on my part.

Any celebrity in torment in hell would probably want to come back but anyone in heaven would most likely kill me for bringing them back. I’m not ready to die, but like they say, “No good deed goes unpunished!”

I really hate to admit this but there are far more ‘celebrities’ I would rather remove from here than there are that I would bring back. For the record, William Powell, Claude Rains, Cary Grant, Audrey Hepburn, Teena Marie and Princess Diana were all under consideration. I am very fond of classic cinema as you can see from my choices.

So I am once again come full circle. The better question to ask me is who I would rather have to leave us. Awful I know and not at all my normal thought process. For the answer though, look on most any reality television show.  BUT, I don’t actually want anyone to die.

Since I have to choose someone and I got away with straying from the choices yesterday, I will pick Merv Griffin. He created my all time, well not all time (I really enjoyed Weakest Link too) favorite game show Jeopardy.


Merv Griffin, Talk show host and creator of both Jeopardy and Wheel of Fortune.

Participants

Princesa Musang, Primadonna Zel, Caroline, Koi, Aurathena, Terriblethinker, Sleep and Salami, Marliz3e, Prysmatique, DLonelyStar, AnonymousBurn, Nicole, Sylvia Garza, Mariana, Nenskei, MyNakedBokkie, Bluefiadiarries, VeehCirra, Sajeev,Cherlyn Cochrane, Emmmmerz, Miko, LJ, Melanie, Last Civilized Woman, Bannatreasures, Happyhippierose, TheFerkel, Tom Baker, *Sofia, *Everything Love & Lust, *TemptingSweets99, Sites with an * contain NSFW material. If erotic or sexual material is offensive to you, please do not visit these three blogs.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Miko on April 21, 2012 - 12:18 PM

    So Merv Griffin was the genius behind Jeopardy. My mom loved that show! Hmmm… I wonder what show will he be doing if he was still alive.

    PS.- I was also debating on whether I should resurrect Audrey Hepburn or Princess Di since I love them both. But I ended up choosing Diana Frances :D

  2. #3 by Cherlyn on April 20, 2012 - 10:21 AM

    Not all young actors who die before their times had demons – look at my choice, Phil Hartman – murdered by his wife. However, that’s the issue with bringing back celebrities, many turn to drugs and pass because of them. Maybe if we granted them a second chance, they’d get their act together. Who knows?

    • #4 by Tom Baker on April 23, 2012 - 11:03 AM

      Well I think that was the beauty in your question. It leaves it up to each person to answer what kind of resurrection power they have.

  3. #6 by LJ on April 20, 2012 - 6:31 AM

    i wonder what show he will create next if he is still alive. :)

  4. #8 by bannatreasures on April 19, 2012 - 10:51 PM

    That’s really on the tombstone? haha. I’d like to believe that but I’m not so sure if that’s true at the graveyard at like 3 AM with candles and a ouija board (what.. there are people who do that kinda stuff…)

    • #9 by Tom Baker on April 23, 2012 - 11:00 AM

      It is really his headstone!

  5. #10 by Tiffany (lifewithblondie) on April 19, 2012 - 10:23 AM

    I’d pick Marilyn Monroe, because I believe in the conspiracy theories… the CIA took her out because she knew some secrets and she wrote them down and she might would have used them. I adore her, and have every since I watched a documentary about her when I was 8 years old, with my grandpa. Maybe sitting on the couch with my grandpa is the real nostalgia for me, but if I could bring back just one celebrity, she’d be the one!

    • #11 by Tom Baker on April 19, 2012 - 12:51 PM

      I never considered her. Good selection and it’s always good to see you here Tiffany.

  6. #12 by AnonymousBurn on April 19, 2012 - 7:47 AM

    I wondered like you did about addictions continued or illness. I decided if the universe gave me the power to resurrect they’d also see fit to let those who left this world in pain to have a second chance to do it over: Freddie without AIDS, Richard Pryor without MS, Phil Hartman without a mentally unstable spouse (It was Cherlyn’s post got me really thinkin’). I’m not sure about drug addiction since those were choices made. I don’t know. So much to think about. But then it got me to remembering Practical Magic (Sandar Bullock, Nicole Kidman) and the warning they received that when you resurrect someone you don’t bring back their goodness but their darkness so that the person who is returned to you – is not the person you lost. The ultimate “no good deed goes unpunished.” This resurrection business is tricky. We should leave it to the professionals: doctors, Gods, and nature.

    Love your image. Had me a good morning chuckle.

    • #13 by Tom Baker on April 19, 2012 - 1:25 PM

      I figured each person would create their own scenario about what happens after the resurrection. Zombies, no change, a new person. Still a great question I thought. You?

  7. #15 by Bluejellybeans on April 19, 2012 - 4:25 AM

    That headstone is great!

    How about John Hughes? That’s a good choice for resurrection too ;)

  8. #17 by Clare Flourish on April 19, 2012 - 2:50 AM

    What, Tom? A Like? A Like? I want a Follow, at least!

  9. #19 by prysmatique on April 19, 2012 - 1:36 AM

    Ohh I like the housekeeping bit a lot! I’m going to submit questions of course! I love this new group of blogger friends I’m making. Also, this is a great choice, but I must say…I would have used my pick on somebody who died before his or her time. And I know it’s not really up to us to determine when somebody should die, but he lived a successful and full life I think.

    • #20 by Tom Baker on April 19, 2012 - 1:57 AM

      Yes he did but the young ones I could think of died with lots of personal demons.

      • #21 by prysmatique on April 19, 2012 - 2:08 AM

        Yeah I read and understood. Why bring them back to life to watch them continue down that path. Absolutely agree.

  10. #22 by Broken Sparkles on April 19, 2012 - 12:34 AM

    I’d go with Withney Houston or Freddie Mercury!

  11. #24 by theferkel on April 19, 2012 - 12:27 AM

    Lol! The grave picture is funny! (I’m going to Hell for this) *snicker*

    • #25 by Tom Baker on April 19, 2012 - 1:56 AM

      My father told me Merv had that kind of humor.

  12. #27 by TemptingSweets99 on April 19, 2012 - 12:14 AM

    I like the list of celebrities that you considered.

    • #28 by Tom Baker on April 19, 2012 - 1:55 AM

      Thank you. I really didn’t know who to pick.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

