30 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 20


I’m half naked, cold, tired, hungry, hurt, wet and just washed up on a deserted island. The first things I need to do to survive is…

Do you mean before or after I stop crying? Pray there are no snakes on this island – poisonous or not! Then I would pray some more. I hate snakes! There are different scenarios depending on whether or not I came ashore during the day or night time. Regardless of what time of the day it is, I would be in need of drying off. I would search for dry wood to start a fire. Being a nudist and alone on the island, I would already be in my comfort zone. Of course I would not know the island was completely deserted until I had the chance to investigate the entire piece of land.

Water would be a priority and getting the courage to stop thinking every little sound I heard  was a snake would better enable me to survive. I would conjure up thoughts of Gilligan’s Island, Robinson Crusoe, Castaway, I Shouldn’t Be Alive. I would wonder if MaryAnn and Ginger were here.

Who am I kidding? Without another person on the island with me, most likely I would not survive past a few weeks. Just being honest.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by bannatreasures on May 3, 2012 - 12:53 AM

    hahaha I didn’t even read yours before I wrote mine but my reaction is similar I’d probably just cry the whole time haha! But at least you’d try and find water, that’s really a lot more than I would do! but on one hand I think taking advantage and going nude is great! But on the other hand I feel like all sorts of bugs would be all over bare skin in an instant :/

  2. #2 by Sofia on April 25, 2012 - 11:10 AM

    I love and hate snakes. :)

  3. #4 by wildcatnova on April 24, 2012 - 4:22 PM

    I’m impressed by your few weeks timeline. I’d be gone in 2 days.

    • #5 by Tom Baker on April 26, 2012 - 11:14 AM

      Well after crying for so long I would need to hydrate. If I could not find water…

  4. #6 by savesprinkles1234 on April 23, 2012 - 2:13 PM

    I’d want my husband with me! With 20 years in the army, he has very good survival skills. Snakes would be no problem. We’d eat them before they had a chance to bite us!

    • #7 by Tom Baker on April 24, 2012 - 8:07 AM

      A Philadelphia Cheese Snake Sandwich! Taking your husband would be cheating.

      • #8 by savesprinkles1234 on April 25, 2012 - 7:44 AM

        Ewww! Cheese snake! Well, if I can’t take the hubs, I guess I’ll take a big book about survival and rescue!

  5. #9 by AnonymousBurn on April 23, 2012 - 12:30 PM

    Saw a Discovery Channel, maybe it was Travel Channel now that I think about it, about how Hawaii doesn’t have snakes. They aren’t indigenous and there are snake sniffing dogs in their airports to make sure no snakes catch an illegal ride on landing gear. I think all islands should be like Hawaii.

    I don’t know why I didn’t link the movie to my post but seriously…everyone…go watch Castaway on the Moon. If you don’t die of laughter then I’ll be shocked. (streaming on Netflix if you have it)

    • #10 by Tom Baker on April 23, 2012 - 1:01 PM

      If I have to be stranded somewhere I would first make everybody in Hawaii leave and then be stranded there! I’ve added Castaway on the Moon to my queue.

  6. #12 by TemptingSweets99 on April 23, 2012 - 2:06 AM

    LOL! So, you hate snakes, just like Indiana Jones, huh? ;-) I think you’d do just fine on that island until you’re rescued. ;-)

    • #13 by Tom Baker on April 23, 2012 - 9:14 AM

      Just like the young Indy, not the fourth installment Indiana.

  7. #14 by veehcirra on April 23, 2012 - 1:58 AM

    Very funny, before or after crying..this is one stressful situation to find oneself in…

    • #15 by Tom Baker on April 23, 2012 - 9:17 AM

      I would still be crying! I would want to do some fishing and make some tools. I might do well because I would want to live!

  8. #16 by theferkel on April 23, 2012 - 12:51 AM

    Why do you hate snakes? Water ones are so harmless! The brightly coloured ones are not.
    I hate spiders! This is why I’ve told myself never to visit Amazon Forest until the nice little predatory species of funnel spiders dies out.

    • #17 by Tom Baker on April 23, 2012 - 9:20 AM

      I thought water snakes were some of the most venomous. Spiders aren’t too much better.

  9. #18 by Tiffany (lifewithblondie) on April 23, 2012 - 12:06 AM

    oooh, I hate snakes too! With a PASSION! I think I would be taking apart my cell phone to see if I could dry it out enough to use it… one last round of words with friends, right after I check my new blog comments, please! :)

    • #19 by Tom Baker on April 23, 2012 - 9:21 AM

      Tiffany if there were a cell tower close enough for you to use your cell phone, you could swim to safety! Blogging would be on my mind too.

      • #20 by Tiffany (lifewithblondie) on April 23, 2012 - 10:04 AM

        Surely you can fashion a cell phone tower out of coconuts and banana leaves? Can’t you??

        • #21 by Tom Baker on April 23, 2012 - 10:19 AM

          If only the Professor form Gilligan’s Island was there.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

