30 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 21


The person or persons that do not read my blog but I wish he/she/they would is…

Lady Gaga.

I know that sounds crazy considering I don’t even like her music and don’t know that much about her personally. What I do know is that I would love to have more followers. I would love to reach more people when I write on certain topics. I would especially love to have more teenage girls to read those posts when I write them and where there are females there are sure to be some teenage males following close behind.

Lady Gaga has more Twitter followers than anyone else on Twitter (pay no attention to my first post about Twitter). If Lady Gaga tells people she reads my blog and only one percent of her 23,397,137 followers begin to read Morning Erection…

Do you mean to tell us that you are only blogging to get more readers and not just simply because you like to blog? I blog because I have (sometimes) something to say. There are those rare occasions when I write something and I want the entire world to read it. So, the answer is both. I blog therefore I am and I am blogging because I want lots of people to read what I wrote. I hope I don’t sound like a sell out.

, ,

  1. #1 by Miko on April 28, 2012 - 8:05 AM

    Don’t worry Tom it didn’t sound like a sell out. But I understand your point. I like what you said that you blog because you have something to say, that alone is a worthy reason to continue blogging. I guess the greatest reward a blogger would get from blogging is that as they share their two cents about life (or anything and everything under the sun) they are also able to influence people to read, think and react :)

    • #2 by Tom Baker on April 28, 2012 - 8:35 AM

      Every now and then something I feel is important spews from my mind and it would be great if I had a larger audience. With a name like Morning Erection it will never happen and I have no desire to change the name of my blog. My loss perhaps!

      • #3 by Miko on April 28, 2012 - 9:31 AM

        Well I think the people who would think think dirty about the name of blog are boring and shallow. So it’s their loss not yours Tom. As far as see it, it’s always the blogs with catchy names/titles are the ones that usually gets the attention, more so followers.

  2. #4 by Sofia on April 25, 2012 - 6:36 PM

    Nothing wrong with wanting more followers when you have something to share with the world. I don’t think you are a sell-out. Not at all. :)

    • #5 by Tom Baker on April 26, 2012 - 11:02 AM

      Confidentially speaking, even when I have nothing important to say, I still would like a piece of her almost 24 million followers! I admit it.

      • #6 by Sofia on April 27, 2012 - 1:27 AM

        :) lol it’s good
        For me I can barely keep with this meme and other comments. :) Yeah I am not very good at this blogging thing. lol

  3. #7 by mynakedbokkie on April 25, 2012 - 12:30 PM

    I dislike her immensely but get your point. X

    • #8 by Tom Baker on April 26, 2012 - 11:01 AM

      It’s just a means to an end.

  4. #9 by Cherlyn on April 24, 2012 - 10:02 PM

    I think we are all “sell outs” in some ways (though I don’t like that word). If we all wanted to write just for the sake of writing for ourselves, we would just keep a journal. But all writers want to express a message to someone, and I’m not talking about just bloggers, I’m talking about all writers. That’s the best part of writing, is expressing our thoughts, opinions, and feelings on something, and having someone hear them. So if that makes you a sell out, then it’d make all of us sell outs – who doesn’t check their monthly hits to see how their blog is doing?

    By the way, great answer – I never even thought to include someone that I don’t know. Great answer!

    • #10 by Tom Baker on April 26, 2012 - 10:59 AM

      I don’t like the word either but in preparation for being viewed as such I called a duck a duck. Fortunately you all are understanding and it looks like feel the same way. I don’t know how I came to her as an answer but I liked your answer especially since we had discussed it prior to the 30DBH.

  5. #11 by wildcatnova on April 24, 2012 - 4:19 PM

    Not a sellout, Tom. I, too, blog for me – but that doesn’t stop me from dreaming of a world where my blog could reach the masses.

    FWIW, if you ever wanted to read mine – http://www.aidanwitheos.blogspot.com

    • #12 by Tom Baker on April 26, 2012 - 10:56 AM

      Sounds like a dream come true. I will check out your other blog.

  6. #13 by studiojan on April 24, 2012 - 12:11 PM

    I think you are just being honest ! I am sure every blogger deep down inside wants exactly what you were bold enough to say out loud :D

    • #14 by Tom Baker on April 26, 2012 - 10:56 AM

      I think you are right but I have been criticized in the past for expressing it. Oh well. Such is life.

  7. #15 by everything L&L on April 24, 2012 - 9:44 AM

    Doesn’t sound like a sell out to me. Secretly we all want a the world to read our blogs, actually some people stop blogging because gaining an audience in painstaking and sometimes the feedback it just plain negative.. If Beyonce read mine I don’t know what I would do. I like that you said sometimes you have something to say. I find that to be the hardest part about blogging finding meaningful things to say on a regular basis, Even when I write post ahead of time.

    • #16 by Tom Baker on April 24, 2012 - 9:55 AM

      I wish every word I typed was meaningful but I am not that person. If I could have just one post get freshly pressed it would be great but I would need to change the name of my blog for that to happen and even then there is no guarantee. Oh well. I’ll just keep on keepin’ on. When I started blogging I never expected anyone to read.

  8. #17 by TemptingSweets99 on April 24, 2012 - 2:22 AM

    two thumbs up! ;-)

    • #18 by Tom Baker on April 24, 2012 - 9:50 AM

      Thank you. For what? My choice of Gaga?

      • #19 by TemptingSweets99 on April 24, 2012 - 12:30 PM

        two thumbs up for a well-thought out response. Makes a lot of sense and would work — your choosing Gaga and the results.

  9. #20 by Melanie T on April 24, 2012 - 1:13 AM

    Lol :) more readers means more commenters. I love knowing they are other people in the world that think like me, agree with me, or tolerate me and my views.

    • #21 by Tom Baker on April 24, 2012 - 9:49 AM

      Yes, I admit that I am someone that would like lots of followers online whereas in real life i rarely want the attention.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

