30 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 24

Given the choice between having to live the rest of my life without my voice, or living the rest of my life without the ability to hear, I would choose…

My voice. This was the easiest question so far. You see, I don’t like hearing my own voice but having to give up hearing all the things that I have grown so accustomed to would be difficult. Not impossible because people the world over have to do it everyday. Losing my voice would affect others more so than me. Losing my hearing would directly effect me.

People would have to do without hearing my voice but I would forever have to do without hearing my favorite songs, laughter, children, Morgan Freeman’s narration of almost every nature documentary ever made except the ones James Earl Jones did, that noise when the Emergency Alert System goes for a test, a friend’s hello, my favorite instrument – the piano, a wife’s I love you, the theme song from Doctor Who, sounds of love making, birds chirping, someone trying to get away with farting on a crowded elevator, the slight delay in hearing the bat hit the ball after you see the ball flying through the air, trying to quickly skim past Nancy Grace but knowing full well her voice will make it through as you channel surf.

photo credit

I would have to deal with not being able to hear the mailman’s truck while he’s down the street so I can grab my mail and packages and run out to meet him, thus saving me a trip to the post office. I would miss the sound of the jerk chicken I’m gonna grill tonight with broccoli and quinoa. I would not hear James say, “Bond, James Bond.” I would miss Picard’s “Make It So”, Lt. Columbo’s peculiar way of annoying murder suspects, Princess Buttercup, Prince Humperdink, Wesley and every famous line from The Princess Bride. I would miss out on hearing the voices of any blogging friends I might meet later in life, the power of the space shuttle take-offs and so much more. Good, bad or smelly, hearing is what I would want to keep and the vocal cords is what I would be willing to give up.

I am very thankful to have use of all my senses and faculties.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Miko on May 2, 2012 - 5:35 AM

    This is an interesting answer Tom. I agree with you that losing both senses is unbearable. I am very grateful that I am blessed to have my voice and hearing senses functioning well. I feel sad for those who are suffering this kind of situation. I do pray that these people will still be able to live life with meaning. But regards to the question, I prefer to lose my voice, I guess because I talk (way,way,way) too much! -.-

    • #2 by Tom Baker on May 2, 2012 - 12:01 PM

      It’s good we don’t have to lose either.

  2. #3 by Fay Moore on April 27, 2012 - 9:30 PM

    You are right – when we have these senses, it is hard to fathom losing one or more of them willfully. You drove home the gratitude factor. Thanks!

    • #4 by Tom Baker on April 28, 2012 - 8:16 AM

      Hey Fay, always glad to see you visiting. I am grateful.

  3. #5 by Cherlyn on April 27, 2012 - 11:02 AM

    “someone trying to get away with farting on a crowded elevator” – yes a majestic sound indeed my friend :P I too would miss hearing Picard’s “Make it So”, too sad to give up!

    A really good answer Tom :)

    • #6 by Tom Baker on April 28, 2012 - 8:14 AM

      I think I sat at the computer for what seemed like hours trying to come up with good and bad sounds. “Engage!”

  4. #8 by Sofia on April 27, 2012 - 10:14 AM

    I also wrote that I don’t like my voice either. :) Like you I would miss hearing. :(

    • #9 by Tom Baker on April 28, 2012 - 8:14 AM

      There is so much involved in hearing and so much to be heard at the same time. I’m amazed at how the brain can ignore thousands of sounds so we can just concentrate on one thing.

  5. #10 by AnonymousBurn on April 27, 2012 - 10:07 AM

    I agree – this question (the actual one) was by far one of the easiest…although, I answered the time/money question in a heartbeat.

    • #11 by Tom Baker on April 28, 2012 - 8:12 AM

      i forgot about the time and money question.

  6. #12 by Tiffany (lifewithblondie) on April 27, 2012 - 8:59 AM

    I bet my kids would love it if suddenly I could never raise my voice again. I’d have carpel tunnel from all the furious scribbling!!

    • #13 by Tom Baker on April 28, 2012 - 8:11 AM

      Yes, I imagine kids would find it very amusing.

  7. #14 by Vanessa Chapman on April 27, 2012 - 3:03 AM

    Yes, I agree Tom, losing either would be terrible, but losing hearing would be worse because. On any given day I would imagine (without any stats to hand!) that we receive many more times more input into our ears that output through our voice, so we are losing a lot more if we lose our hearing.

    • #15 by Tom Baker on April 27, 2012 - 8:31 AM

      I imagine you are correct but can you imagine the staggering number of stimuli the eyes get even while closed.

  8. #16 by Paul Orr(leprachaunz) on April 27, 2012 - 12:41 AM

    Tom, all the things you say you would miss have to do with hearing. I would hate to lose any of my faculties, but to lose my hearing would mean I couldn’t listen to my favorite music, other people’s voices, and laughter. It would be devastating.

    • #17 by Tom Baker on April 27, 2012 - 8:30 AM

      Yes Paul, I would miss my hearing more than losing my voice. I forgot to mention that due to laryngitis I have lost my ability to speak many times in my life but have never lost hearing. My voice being lost would be easier to deal with.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

