30 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 25

My biggest pet peeve that has nothing to do with blogging, being online, computers or anything else related to the Internet is…

Right or wrong, I hold women on a pedestal. It’s not that they are any more important than men but I have a respect and admiration and caring and something else that I just can’t put into words for the female gender. They certainly put up with a lot. Child bearing, dealing with the male gender, PMS, menstrual cycles, child raising, careers, and so much more.

The one thing I really hate is profanity. For anyone who uses it, it is most definitely your prerogative but this is my pet peeve and even if I step on someone’s toes, I have to be honest. So that being said, women who use profanity a little or even a lot are my pet peeve. Not the women themselves; just how their use of cuss words affects me when I hear it. Don’t misunderstand. I don’t like to hear it when men use it either. But there is a shiver that runs from the bottom of my spine to the top of my neck when I hear a woman curse. Even worse when it’s a woman I respect and admire.

There is something classy, no sexy about a woman who can get her point across without resorting to profanity. I’m not pointing the finger at any one person. All throughout the month I have seen profanity in post after post but do not think I am singling anyone out. In fact I am trying to go out of my way not to offend anyone reading this. Don’t go changing for me though. Be yourself. I kind of like the shiver running the length of my back from time to time although I could do without it.


Would you be interested in reading a blog where the tagline reads, Pooping in public? Pooping would thus describe each blog post written and published? Does the blogger sound like an interesting person? She is! Next Saturday, May 5th, Prinsesa Musang will be guesting here. If you have been following the 30 Days of Blogging Honesty, most likely you have read her comments or even visited her blog, Prinsesa’s Anatomy. If not I would suggest reading some of her posts especially from this month.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by bannatreasures on May 10, 2012 - 2:35 PM

    This does make a lot of sense.. I’m not a fan of vulgarity in general- Profanity is just not very polite or classy. I don’t mind hearing it except when it’s directed specifically at me which I find extremely offensive. Between men and women doing it though, I wouldn’t prefer either cursing, but I can see where you’re coming from with respect and the swearing.

  2. #2 by ambrosiapeyton on May 3, 2012 - 1:41 PM

    The girls at my school for the most part are cleaned mouth and I truly hate profanity like you do. It annoys me when I hear children using it as well.

    • #3 by Tom Baker on May 3, 2012 - 1:46 PM

      Maybe they are cleaned mouth around you because they know you don’t like it. You are the second person to mention children. It is a shame.

  3. #4 by Cherlyn on May 1, 2012 - 10:23 AM

    I think it’s a bit of a double-standard that it is more socially acceptable for a man to swear than a woman – it’s a bit sexist. I don’t care if you don’t like me swearing, if it’s that much of an issue, people can stop talking to me or effing deal with it. That being said in certain contexts or situations I never swear (i.e., work, school, visiting my grandmothers or meeting new people), but I don’t like having to censor myself for my friends or close family members. Like I said, if they dont like it, then by all means, don’t talk to me because I’m not going to fight for someone who can’t accept me for who I am and tries to push an outdated, old, sexist, stereotype onto me.

    • #5 by Cherlyn on May 1, 2012 - 4:33 PM

      I realize this comment sounds more like a rant or something – that’s what happens when I haven’t had coffee yet lol. Sorry! Didn’t mean to sound so angry! lol

      • #6 by Tom Baker on May 1, 2012 - 7:55 PM

        Don’t even worry about it Cherlyn. I knew how you felt when I decided to write the post with this particular answer. Just be yourself!

  4. #7 by PM on April 30, 2012 - 8:02 PM

    i love how you constructed this post, tom. it makes sense. i feel a bit irked when i hear fems cursing too, particularly when it is so loud, but i guess i do not feel as strong about as you do. but i certainly do not appreciate it too.

    • #8 by Tom Baker on May 1, 2012 - 7:53 PM

      Thanks PM but I didn’t expect anyone would think like I do. I was pleasantly surprised.

  5. #9 by Bluejellybeans on April 29, 2012 - 2:37 PM

    That was a %&$#@ great post!! ;) I’m kidding. I think you are right, it doesn’t look good…

    • #10 by Tom Baker on May 1, 2012 - 7:52 PM

      I knew there would be at least one smarty pants who would do this but it’s good that it was you. I laughed a lot when I read it.

  6. #11 by Sofia on April 28, 2012 - 11:24 PM

    My little sister feels the same way as you… she never uses profanity. You two will get along. :)

    • #12 by Tom Baker on May 1, 2012 - 7:51 PM

      You aren’t saying that we don’t get along are you?

      • #13 by Sofia on May 16, 2012 - 6:53 AM

        *smiles* Of course not. lol

  7. #14 by everything L&L on April 28, 2012 - 10:28 AM

    Father Tom, why do you do this to me???? Making me rethink my thoughts and ways of being with your eloquently put insights. I will be thinking of you the next time I use profanity. I have a potty mouth and my brother always says that it makes it seem as though I don’t have an inadequate vocabulary. I will take more consideration with my words in the future.

    • #15 by Tom Baker on May 1, 2012 - 7:50 PM

      I always like to make people think but this was in no way directed at anyone. I knew it would stir some emotions because there are only two men doing this challenge. Truth be told I don’t like it no matter what gender or age a person is, I just don’t like it.

  8. #16 by musingsoftheamusingmuse on April 28, 2012 - 7:27 AM

    I’m guilty of tossing out profanity from time to time (sometimes frequently). I’ve no issue with the occasional use of “verbal punctuation”. I’m a huge fan of George Carlin, but his use of curse words carried a certain eloquence with it – i haven’t heard a comedian since who could match the skill he employed. I’m guilty of being offended when I hear someone speak and they drop the “f-bomb” every other word – even every sentence. I am of the opinion that excessive use of swearing shows a lack of imagination and/or a very small vocabulary; but I also am suspicious of people who NEVER curse. What are they hiding? Can they just not let go….ever?

    • #17 by Tom Baker on April 28, 2012 - 9:00 AM

      I like George Carlin, Richard Pryor a lot too but I am very impressed with Sinbad and Bill Cosby who can get as big a laugh from me as the other two can. It’s not right but I kind of expect profanity from comedians and for some odd reason they get a free pass and that is not fair to everyone else. I think I will begin to hold them to the same standard I have for everyone else. Not the dead ones of course!

  9. #18 by AnonymousBurn on April 28, 2012 - 4:04 AM

    I am a huge offender of this and I wondered, Tom, as I’ve noticed the post that do not get comments from you are often ones in which I use them. I find myself editing a lot because they are my words but I want people to read them and realize it can be offputting at times. If they are there it is, as you say, because I couldn’t find better words to get across the point of my exact feeling on a thing. Often, the course, crude, flippancy is used as a verbal exclamation pint and I use it. I won’t change, don’t you worry. I like your honesty and I don’t mind our differences.

    • #19 by Tom Baker on April 28, 2012 - 8:56 AM

      I don’t expect people to change for me in any respect unless you are in my car or my house. The same as cigarette smoking or excessive farting (smile). But in everyday life I have no control and really don’t want any. I never intentionally not comment because of profanity in a post. Like, your home or car, it is your blog and you can do what you like and I very much respect that. Lately because of the carpal symptoms I have not been commenting on very many blogs. It’s just enough for me to keep up with mine and I don’t do it daily. I’m using my left hand to control the mouse now and as I get better, I will try to get back and comment on more of everyone’s posts. When I wrote, don’t change, what I wanted to write was lyrics to a Billy Joel song!

  10. #20 by Vanessa Chapman on April 28, 2012 - 3:19 AM

    I must admit, I occasionally come out with the odd profanity, but I’m never very pleased with myself when I do! I don’t mind an occasional use of it from people, or I should say I can understand it when it’s in a spontaneous outburst, but not when it’s continually part of their speech. What I can’t stand is when people use it in a deliberate attempt to shock, or because they think it impresses people, or that it’s funny. The worst thing for me is when you see little kids using it and adults laughing because they think it’s cute!

    • #21 by Tom Baker on April 28, 2012 - 8:51 AM

      I don’t like to see children use it either but society seems to want our children to grow up before their time and using profanity because they are exposed to it is certainly not cute to me either.

  11. #22 by Paul Orr(leprachaunz) on April 28, 2012 - 12:34 AM

    It annoys me too. My major peeve is people who use the “F” word in every sentence. I consider it to be, not so much offensive, as the lack of a basic vocabulary.

    • #23 by Tom Baker on April 28, 2012 - 8:48 AM

      When I was searching for images to go with this post I came across one but I did not want to put people off anymore than the post itself did. Here is the link.

  12. #24 by Melanie T on April 28, 2012 - 12:14 AM

    my boyfriend feels the same way. luckily, i feel the same but for both genders. although when i hear it from males i roll my eyes because that’s standard vocabulary… but when i hear it from females…i cringe…

    • #25 by Tom Baker on April 28, 2012 - 8:43 AM

      I don’t know why it is so much a pet peeve of mine. Maybe I’m a little OCD about it. Even when I sing a song with a lyric, I always change it to something more palatable.

    • #26 by Sofia on April 28, 2012 - 11:27 PM

      Just wondering? Have you let your friends know how you feel. I have a friend that can’t stand the world “shut-up” so I never use it around her. So if I knew someone hated profanity and it made them cringe I would never use it around them. After all what are friends for but to try to please and honor their beliefs. :)

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

