30 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 29


My television is showing the same show on every channel. I really don’t mind watching ____________ (from the 1960′s) and I really love this show because…

It is what I think started my love for science fiction. There is not too many years between my sister and I however whenever she was afraid to watch a TV show alone, I was always forced to endure it also. Thanks to her I suffered through many many nightmares. We watched reruns of Dark Shadows, Twilight Zone, and believe it or not I still (to this day), have flashbacks of a movie she forced me to watch about aliens that had really long fingernails, like hypodermic needles and really huge heads. I have the link to this movie somewhere in my bookmarks but I have too many un-categorized links to even begin searching. If I find it I will post it later in the comment section or something.

Aside from her torturing me, I found a show on my own that I would and have and still do watch over and over and over and over again. It is the original Star Trek series.

I was fascinated as a kid by the world Gene Roddenberry created. All grown up now I do not believe such a society is possible. People going to work because there is a necessity for a job to be filled. A society that does not use monetary rewards. People getting along not only with the other races and religions but also with alien civilizations (which I don’t believe in) is too much to accept. Even though it is more like science fanta-fiction, I still love the show and most of the other incarnations and movies. On a cold winter night I could grab my remote and my DVDs and be very content to see Kirk, Picard, Sisko, Janeway and sometimes even Archer. If you need me and can’t find me; I’ve probably boldly gone!

Footnote:
I would to thank Marie Overfors for her post on Martians. It caused me to remember the name of the movie my sister forced me to watch. It was called Invasion of the Saucer Men.

In just three days, on Saturday, May 5th, Prinsesa Musang will be guest posting here. Prinsesa’s post is about how a particular holiday is celebrated in her country, The Philippines. I know you will enjoy reading the interesting post and if you have never visited her blog, please do so, Prinsesa’s Anatomy. She has a wonderful outlook on life and a great sense of humor. Come back this Saturday for a very informative post.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Miko on May 12, 2012 - 6:35 AM

    Wow, good for you that you enjoy sci-fi stuff. I’m currently learning how to appreciate this kind of genre. I’m somehow stuck with Star Wars though. I’ve tried to Google about Star Trek and Battlestar Galactica too. But heck, I’m boring like that. Gulp :(

  2. #2 by bannatreasures on May 10, 2012 - 2:22 PM

    Twilight Zone was such a good show! They just don’t make stuff like that anymore! I haven’t heard about a lot of these but sounds interesting. You have good taste in TV, that’s for sure!

    • #3 by Tom Baker on May 11, 2012 - 12:07 PM

      It was a good show and SyFy has a marathon on New Years day every year. Thank you.

  3. #4 by Sofia on May 8, 2012 - 8:03 AM

    I love Star Trek. :)
    I agree, if I am reading you right, that we are too self-destructive and selfish to achieve a Star Trek society.
    As for aliens… Who knows what’s really out there. :)
    But, since there are many galaxies I really hate to think we are alone. That we, humans,
    are the only ones.

    • #5 by Tom Baker on May 11, 2012 - 12:04 PM

      Yea, you read me right. We are a hateful, selfish race and even in Star Trek humans prove my point. Not everyone achieves the utopian mindset Roddenberry dreamed of.

  4. #6 by prysmatique on May 7, 2012 - 3:30 PM

    Star Trek, wonderful choice. Not my kind of thing, but still a good choice! :D

    • #7 by Tom Baker on May 11, 2012 - 12:00 PM

      Sci-fi is not for everyone but did you ever see Alien? If so, did you like it?

      • #8 by prysmatique on May 11, 2012 - 12:02 PM

        Nopeee. Closest I got to Sci-Fi is Transformers and ET lol. And maybe Fringe.

        • #9 by Tom Baker on May 11, 2012 - 12:05 PM

          You mention Fringe and immediately X-Files comes to mind. Another great sci-fi show. How are you Pry?

          • #10 by prysmatique on May 11, 2012 - 4:54 PM

            Okay fine, I watched X-Files once in a while!

          • #11 by Tom Baker on May 11, 2012 - 6:17 PM

            Ain’t honesty grand.

  5. #12 by Cherlyn on May 7, 2012 - 8:11 AM

    Star Trek is a great show indeed :). I’m not a fan of Dark Shadows, and I’m afraid to say I think the movie looks absolutely stupid – however that’s my bias against Burton/Depp films now; I mean, c’mon Tim Burton, there are other actors out there, Johnny isn’t going to stop being your friend if you don’t cast him in your movie. They have the most annoying bromance ever :P. It’ll probably be an ok movie, I just know I won’t like it.

    Great answer though, Star Trek is definitely a great choice!

    • #13 by Tom Baker on May 7, 2012 - 8:17 AM

      I thought Dark Shadows was a movie that I just had to see but I decided to see The Avengers instead. I don’t like my reviews so much but I’m going to do one soon. I have to after seeing the movie.

      “Make it so.”

      • #14 by Cherlyn on May 8, 2012 - 4:32 PM

        I’ll probably see the Avengers, but I may wait until it goes to the cheaper seats. I want to see Cabin in the Woods still. And Prometheus soon! Hurray!

  6. #15 by Momma E. on May 3, 2012 - 8:14 PM

    Star Trek! What started it for me! I also LOVED Dark Shadows and I’m really looking forward to see what Tim and Johnny do with it later this month. But tomorrow, I am going to see The Avengers with at least one of my two hooligans, and possibly the husband if I can talk him into it. And no, you never forget your first love. I got literally tongue tied and stammered like a complete idiot when I met Leonard Nimoy at a convention back in the 80’s. (meet and greet stuff) What fun!

  7. #16 by Virgil Ford on May 3, 2012 - 4:40 PM

    I have been and shall always be a fan of all things Star Trek! A very interesting blog!

    • #17 by Tom Baker on May 11, 2012 - 12:01 PM

      Great reference! Thank you for liking my blog.

  8. #18 by TemptingSweets99 on May 3, 2012 - 9:48 AM

    Always enjoyed Star Trek!

    • #19 by Tom Baker on May 3, 2012 - 1:21 PM

      That is where my love of sci-fi started.

  9. #20 by Anonymous Burn on May 3, 2012 - 8:47 AM

    Nice choice. I was never much for space exploration movies or shows – although, I’ll watch astrophysicist documentaries on Discovery – but I know this show was loved by many so I approve. I concede it must have been good stuff :)

    • #21 by Tom Baker on May 3, 2012 - 1:19 PM

      You must have known that I am always seeking approval of my peers!

  10. #22 by terriblethinker on May 3, 2012 - 8:22 AM

    nice. i saw Star trek when i was very young but sadly, i dont remember much. The original space sci fi serial, i guess

    • #23 by Tom Baker on May 3, 2012 - 1:19 PM

      It’s okay, The Next Generation is a good Star Trek to start with if you cannot get to see the original.

  11. #24 by Paul Orr(leprachaunz) on May 3, 2012 - 12:37 AM

    Tom, I, too loved ‘Star Trek’, although, looking back at the earliest episodes with William Shatner(Kirk), they seem so corny now. That said, they are still fun to watch.

    • #25 by Tom Baker on May 3, 2012 - 1:17 PM

      They are campy and corny but as far as sci-fi goes it was my first love and you never forget your first love.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

