30 Days Of Blogging Honesty: The Dare

Category: Good Eats
Eat completely healthy for an entire day even if it means eating foods you do not care for. Document all failures or start over another day if you mess up.

Originally I did not follow directions. I did the dare requiring me to offer an apology to someone. Instead I wrote a forgiveness letter for someone who did me wrong. I believe I left the pain in the past and have forgiven the person but never let him know. Because I don’t have a way to get the letter to him and being the host of this meme, I thought it was not appropriate to deviate from the ‘spirit’ of the dare. So, I decided yesterday to change up and eat healthier. This enables me to fulfill this dare as well as come up with a few recipes that I can feature in August. During the entire month of August I am going to have food and health related posts with three or four recipes.

For breakfast I had four eggs. Despite any bad press that eggs have received over the years, they really are good for you. You even get more benefits by having both the yolk and whites together rather than just the whites.

For lunch I had vegetable panini. It was delicious. Let me say that again. It was so good, I wanted it for dinner too. It was delicious. First I sautéed onions, garlic and mushrooms together with cayenne pepper. Then I buttered the chabatta bread and heated the panini maker. I put the sandwich together by layering American cheese, mushrooms, garlic and onions mixture. Next came the spinach and thinly sliced tomatoes. I closed the top of the sandwich and closed the lid on the panini maker. The rest is history.

Dinner was good too. I made grilled jerk chicken and jerk shrimp that I had never heard of before but wanted to try to make it. The jerk seasoning I found on Food Network’s Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives aka Triple D. There were 36 ingredients and that was just to much for someone who doesn’t own a restaurant. Using nothing but my pantry and imagination I altered the recipe but still the chicken and shrimp came out very tasty. The recommended time for marinating the shrimp is only two hours. All the citrus juice in the marinade would have cooked the shrimp if I kept them in for the 10 hours the chicken was marinating. For my post in August I am going to marinate for  at least over night.

I had no dessert and drank more than enough water for the day? Do you know how you can tell if you have had enough water for the day? When your urine is clear, you’ve had enough.

It is finished! The challenge returns in February 2013 and the questions will be posted mid December. If you want your questions to be a part of the challenge, give me your questions now or I will get them elsewhere.

Photo Credit

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Miko on June 4, 2012 - 7:22 AM

    Wow, nice choice of meal for the day. The chicken looks delicious! Would you be kind enough to share some cooking tips/recipes to me Tom? I’m planning to learn how to cook again :) Also, I have just finished my dare too. I’m so happy I finally answered it :)

    • #2 by Tom Baker on June 5, 2012 - 6:41 AM

      Miko, how are you? I miss seeing you around since the month challenge is over. I would be happy to give any tips I might have but you have to let me know what you need.

      I loved your dare photo! I’m devoting the entire month of August to healthy eating and food. I’ll post a few recipes as well. Just let me know how I can help you now.

  2. #3 by Anonymous Burn on May 18, 2012 - 11:52 AM

    My dare, finally, is ready.

    • #4 by Tom Baker on May 18, 2012 - 6:16 PM

      Thanks Meg. I read and commented. It was a great outcome to your dare choice.

  3. #5 by Sofia on May 18, 2012 - 1:40 AM

    yum yum… :)

  4. #6 by bannatreasures on May 10, 2012 - 2:15 PM

    You sound like an amazing cook! I’m thinking I should go and buy a panini maker. You should write for a cooking magazine..

  5. #8 by TemptingSweets99 on May 8, 2012 - 7:55 PM

    delicious meals! and yes to the whole egg being healthy, not just the whites. i’d like to make your pannini. i don’t have a pannini maker but i’ll improvise. :)

    • #9 by Tom Baker on May 9, 2012 - 9:31 AM

      A grilled sandwich would be perfect if you don’t have a panini maker. It was good.

  6. #10 by Cherlyn on May 8, 2012 - 4:29 PM

    Not too shabby, however I’d say that the American Cheese probably wasn’t a good choice – it’s pretty much plastic. Next time I’d either omit the cheese or go for a low fat mozzarella (which also melts amazing and makes it super cheesey!). Other than that pretty good! Shrimp is also an iffy one, however, if you don’t have it every day it’s not too bad, just if you eat it a lot it’s high in cholesterol. And eggs are very good for you, they are a great way to start the day! (I however have to reserve my egg eating, super jealous of you!)

    I was going to do this one but thought it would be half-assing it on my part because I’m already actively keeping a daily food log and keeping record of all my mishaps (today I had a doughnut at school, so not so good). I think it was a good dare to contribute though, because for some people it can be really hard to eat healthy allll day. Sounds like you’re a really good cook though, so I imagine if you put a lot of effort in you could be eating really healthy all the time :). I’m trying to keep up with it, but its hard to not give in to temptation!

    • #11 by Tom Baker on May 9, 2012 - 9:30 AM

      You are right about the cheese and next time I will get some mozzarella. I wanted to try to not have to buy anything in order to do the dare. I will take the hint and your compliment and eat more healthy all the time. Thanks for caring. I’m curious as to which dare you selected,

  7. #12 by Anonymous Burn on May 8, 2012 - 1:49 PM

    YUM!! This sounds delicious! More importantly – did you notice feeling any better today? I always have more energy when I lock down my diet.

    • #13 by Tom Baker on May 8, 2012 - 1:55 PM

      I did feel better. Thanks for asking!

  8. #14 by Gretchen Chase on May 8, 2012 - 5:04 AM

    I’m not so sure the cheese is a healthy choice but the rest of your day is culinary bliss. I saw the challenge on another blog and that is what brought me here. Maybe it was PM’s Anatomy. Regards.

    • #15 by Tom Baker on May 9, 2012 - 9:27 AM

      Thank you for stopping by Gretchen. I don’t usually eat dairy so I thought it would be okay just this one time.

  9. #16 by Marliz3e on May 8, 2012 - 1:06 AM

    I don’t think I can do a whole day of healthy eating!!! I love my pasta etc too much! Although I have a ‘healthy’ pasta recipe… Hmmm, I think I might just try this for today!! Nice work btw, that panini sounds amazing!!

    • #17 by Tom Baker on May 9, 2012 - 9:25 AM

      I think you could. You said you might try it, how did it go?

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

