Photographic Excellence


Photographic Excellence will be posted regularly on the third Friday of every month. Featured in this series will be awesome works by great photographers, but unlike Poetic License which only features poets who have blogs, Photographic Excellence will showcase any photo found anywhere on the Internet. I will do my utmost to only showcase the best of the best. Credit will be given to the photographer, the page and site the work came from as well as any other relevant information about the photo.

Still it is my desire to get their permission so that I can ask the photographer some questions. Poetic License only has a theme once a year. Photographic Excellence will have a theme or category and only one photograph from one photographer will be featured. This month the theme is Blue.

For me to say it was difficult to choose a theme once I saw all the amazing images Florent has captured through his lens would be an understatement. You will see for yourself when you visit his website how hard it was to pick just one photograph but to go with the Blue Theme, you will agree I made the correct choice. Enjoy his Creeping Mist.


Creeping Mist
Photo Category: Landscape
© Florent Courty aka Lavaspawn

At the end of a rainy day, the sky finally clears and mist appears in the valleys and woods at dusk,
immersing the land into a dark eerie atmosphere in Puy de Dôme, France.

Florent is a self taught, 19 year old French photographer. Mr. Courty can be found on both WildScapes and DeviantArt. Go see for yourself why it was so difficult to feature just one image. The equipment he uses is the Canon EOS 7D, the Canon 17-40 L and a Sigma 70-300mm lens. If interested, most of the images on either site are available for purchase.

All rights reserved by Florent Courty. Tom Baker and his Morning Erection blog make no claims to any photographic images in this series.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Rose Reynolds on May 23, 2012 - 9:37 PM

    Phenomenal! You have good taste Tom.

  2. #2 by Sofia on May 23, 2012 - 12:06 PM

    Beautiful…

  3. #3 by prysmatique on May 22, 2012 - 1:51 AM

    Wow this is an outstanding photograph! I thought this was photoshopped or at least touched for perfection, but this is truly breathtaking! The lights that look like they’re just strong across the photograph just above the middle are a great touch too, intentional or not. I really love how mysterious that road looks.

    • #4 by Tom Baker on May 22, 2012 - 7:44 AM

      No photoshopping! I’m really glad people liked this photo and I hope I can provide the same high quality shot each month.

      • #5 by prysmatique on May 22, 2012 - 7:46 PM

        Did you ask for permission to post the shot on the site? I’m assuming you did, just wondering. I have a few friends that are into photography, would you be open to e-mailed submissions, or do you want to leave the series for shots you find on the web?

        • #6 by Tom Baker on May 22, 2012 - 9:13 PM

          Yes indeed I did get permission and I am happy to accept email submissions Pry however, they have to be exceptional shots. Anyone can submit but I don’t like the idea of rejecting something. If it doesn’t smack me upside the head in its awesomeness I will have to. I trust your judgement though! Have a wonderful evening.

          • #7 by prysmatique on May 22, 2012 - 9:38 PM

            I’ll let them know you expect the best, and nothing else! I also don’t know if they would actually submit, but feel free to reject; they won’t mind. I’ll tell them to send a rare gem your way though, and hope that they will!

          • #8 by Tom Baker on May 22, 2012 - 10:43 PM

            Gracias!

  4. #9 by PM on May 19, 2012 - 11:05 PM

    that’s fantastic! :D

    • #10 by Tom Baker on May 20, 2012 - 6:41 AM

      Yes it is. I hope you check out his other works.

  5. #11 by ambrosiapeyton on May 19, 2012 - 8:16 PM

    Stunning and I would love to travel to France.

    • #12 by Tom Baker on May 20, 2012 - 6:42 AM

      Maybe you and Shira (Nenskei), should meet up one day in Paris. Enjoy the city.

      • #13 by nenskei on May 23, 2012 - 2:16 AM

        Why not? if time permits….. one day

  6. #14 by Anonymous Burn on May 18, 2012 - 11:48 AM

    Beautiful.

  7. #16 by Tiffany (lifewithblondie) on May 18, 2012 - 9:45 AM

    I will have to watch him on my DeviantArt page. I can’t wait til I can get my Canon Rebel. It’s all I dream of!! Til then, it’s just me and my Kodak Easy Share…. LOL

    • #17 by Tom Baker on May 18, 2012 - 11:19 AM

      There is a Nikon I want but until then all I can do is dream too. You really do need to follow Florent. At least to see his other masterpieces! I’ve never seen someone so young with such a great eye for composition and depth of field. What is your Deviant page?

  8. #18 by celestealluvial on May 18, 2012 - 9:21 AM

    Great job picking this one….breathtaking and surreal….love it….
    Celeste

    • #19 by Tom Baker on May 18, 2012 - 11:20 AM

      Thank you Celeste. I’m not so great at taking them but I can tell you what I like.

  9. #20 by Wilhelmina Upton on May 18, 2012 - 9:21 AM

    That is a freaking magnificent picture. Thanks a lot for sharing, Tom!

    • #21 by Tom Baker on May 18, 2012 - 11:21 AM

      You are welcome Mina – it is an amazingly awesome image.

  10. #22 by Bluejellybeans on May 18, 2012 - 6:56 AM

    Amazing!!

  11. #24 by nenskei on May 18, 2012 - 1:51 AM

    France! One of the exquisite place I’ve ever known tho never been yet!
    I’m imagining myself within the place, the beauty it brings takes me!
    No word can define this photo! A mix emotion could be seen!

    • #25 by Tom Baker on May 18, 2012 - 6:06 PM

      France is a romantic place and this photo looks like a great spot for outdoor romance. I’m glad you like this image.

      • #26 by nenskei on May 18, 2012 - 9:22 PM

        I wonder why France is most romantic place of all! Yeah, place is very nice tho how do they find it romantic? Ambiance? hmmmm

        • #27 by Tom Baker on May 18, 2012 - 9:50 PM

          I don’t think it is the most romantic but lots of people do. The wine, the food, the great cities and of course, like you say the ambiance.

        • #28 by ambrosiapeyton on May 19, 2012 - 8:17 PM

          Ill go to France with you Nenskei. I think it is the most beautiful place to visit.

          • #29 by nenskei on May 19, 2012 - 9:11 PM

            Perhaps it is! I’ll set my flight 20yrs from now! I hope the romance is still up when i got there!

  12. #30 by TemptingSweets99 on May 18, 2012 - 12:44 AM

    Very captivating photo! Thanks for sharing Florent’s work with us.

    • #31 by Tom Baker on May 18, 2012 - 6:10 PM

      You are welcome and as usual I should thank you for stopping by to see it.

  13. #32 by Inside the Mind of Isadora on May 18, 2012 - 12:33 AM

    Outstanding photographic presentation …. the image is breathtaking. It defies
    what the human eye can see. He is a master craftsman of the art of photography.
    Beautiful …
    Iaadora

    • #33 by Tom Baker on May 18, 2012 - 6:11 PM

      Exactly right. There are nuances in this image that the human eye might overlook. It is beautiful.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

