You Love Horror Movies But They Don’t Always Love You Back

You Love Horror Movies

You love horror movies. You love the feel of your heart beating like it’s coming right out of your chest. The adrenaline courses through your veins and sweat appears on your brow. You have greasy butter covered, salted lips and a lump in your throat. Then the movie is over… and you have to go home to a dark empty (?) house.

Sometime during the night you have the worst nightmare you have ever had and you cannot get back to sleep. You are fully convinced your dream is the direct result of the movie you just watched and you know you won’t be able to get back to sleep.

You hear a noise, you see something out of the corner of your eye. Has that ever happened to you? More than once?

I’m just curious. Has this ever really happened to you? What was the movie and tell me about the dream. When did you get over it and finally get a good night sleep?

, , ,

  1. #1 by Amber on June 7, 2012 - 8:50 PM

    I LOVE horror movies – all different kinds – slasher, zombie, ghosts, whatever, I love it! But yes, they stay with me. My solution? Brain candy. I find something silly to watch or Seinfeld. I have a theory that nothing bad can happen when Seinfeld is on. And it seems to always be on so I know I’m safe.

    Little known fact: my mother took me to see The Exorcist in the theater. I was 5.

    • #2 by Tom Baker on June 13, 2012 - 11:41 AM

      People don’t like it when you talk about their mother so I will keep my mouth and fingers shut.

  2. #3 by cashewsandthings on May 31, 2012 - 12:43 PM

    I can’t watch horror movies to save my life. You can see from my blog that I have a wild imagination, and that causes my ultimate horror-movie-watching downfall. </3 I've always wanted to appreciate horror plotlines, but visuals, music and well, the plot itself cause me to leave my lights on at night and have my sister accompany me to the bathroom. :( *fail*

    • #4 by Tom Baker on May 31, 2012 - 4:44 PM

      Not a fail to admit you have a real ‘fear’ of horror movies. Only the fool would watch them knowing in the end how it will effect them. You did not fail Cassie.

  3. #5 by jlapis on May 30, 2012 - 12:47 AM

    This is exactly why I don’t like watching horror films…

  4. #7 by Donald Miller on May 29, 2012 - 3:39 PM

    I’ve had some nightmares, but it was mostly due to hearing about people who feel into the hands of horrendously evil people.

    I’ve never had a movie effect me as you described. I will say, though, that Nosferatu is the best horror film of all time, imo. It is scary. Anyone who wants to watch it should get the version of the soundtrack with the chimes. (It’s a silent movie).

    Okay, I formally invite you to the discussion on evolution.

    http://wordexpressweekly.wordpress.com/discussion/the-debate-over-how-we-got-here/

    • #8 by Tom Baker on May 29, 2012 - 9:42 PM

      I am most definitely a Creationist but I’m not sure I can add anything intelligent to the conversation Donald.

  5. #9 by Bluejellybeans on May 29, 2012 - 2:03 PM

    I’m always able to go back to sleep, no matter what. But watching Paranormal activity 3 by myself one night, I had to stop and turn on a lot of lights before making a run to my bed!!!

  6. #11 by Roshni on May 29, 2012 - 8:51 AM

    This always happens with me. OK, maybe not always. But very often. :) And yes, there have been nights when I couldn’t get back to sleep after a scary dream or sometimes, I couldn’t fall asleep after watching a horror movie. :D

    • #12 by Tom Baker on May 29, 2012 - 10:01 AM

      You know it used to happen to me as well but horror movies are either not made as well as when I was younger or I was so young they really bothered me or maybe it’s secretly because I don’t like them anymore. Horror movies seem to be less about horror and more demonic in nature. I just don’t watch anymore. Ain’t nobody got time for them!

  7. #13 by Wilhelmina Upton on May 28, 2012 - 3:50 PM

    As a kid I was really into crime novels (kinda still am) so I slept with a huge flashlight in my bed in case I needed it (to defend myself from burglars?!). I was also very afraid to be alone in the dark after I read the first Kay Scarpetta novel by Patricia Cornwell two years ago and I never bought a follow up book. Sorry, you asked about movies but I didn’t have a title to share as I don’t watch that many horror movies.

    • #14 by Tom Baker on May 28, 2012 - 4:50 PM

      Whatever scares ya is fine with me Mina. Did you say two years ago?

      • #15 by Wilhelmina Upton on May 28, 2012 - 5:36 PM

        Just had to take a look at when I purchased said book and it’s been almost two years ago.

        • #16 by Tom Baker on May 28, 2012 - 5:42 PM

          Mina, I am tad curious about something. Prepare yourself for an email sister.

          • #17 by Wilhelmina Upton on May 28, 2012 - 5:44 PM

            Okeeeee, dunno what could have made you curious about the comments but whatever. I’ll see it when I get to read your mail tomorrow morning.

          • #18 by Tom Baker on May 28, 2012 - 5:45 PM

            Already sent.

  8. #19 by nightshade130 on May 28, 2012 - 9:06 AM

    for me it was the first nightmare on elm street that i watched at age 8. i found it more fearful than the exorcist. I kept seeing freddy kruger and that annoying “1….2….freddy’s lookin’ for you” song kept playing over and over.

    • #20 by Tom Baker on May 28, 2012 - 4:53 PM

      That is annoying! You watched the Exocist when you were 8 and Nightmare? Wow!

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

