Prejudice

You know by now that I traverse the web commenting on at least ten blogs a day to help increase traffic to my site and perhaps make new friends. Several weeks ago I came across a Xanga blog. The post “I Would Never Be Friends With A Black Person” was the one I read. It received almost 19,000 page views and 500 comments. I didn’t hit 500 comments until early last week for all my posts totaled. I was impressed and after reading the  post I wanted to share it with my readers. I cannot find my comment out of the 500 that were left, but the author, RadCookie just gave me permission to reprint her original post.

After you finish reading her post please leave a comment answering her question. I think prejudice is just a big a problem today as it was when I was a kid, despite having a Black president.



I Would Never Be Friends With A Black Person

One day, it was a Wednesday as I recall, I was sitting in chemistry class, filling out a lovely worksheet on gas laws. My table partners, Landry, Chris H, and Brandon seemed too occupied in some odd conversations about friendships to realize that the blank worksheets resting on their desks are due by the end of the period.

As soon as I found that the pressure equals to 4.91 atmospheres, at the glory of my founding, I listened in on the boys’ conversation. However, I listened in at the wrong part.

“I would never be friends with a black person,” Brandon proudly and cockily states.

My ears shot up, the pupils in my eyes dilated, and my teeth gritted. “You would never be friends with a black person?” I slowly repeated as if to make sure I heard correctly. Chris and Landry went silent and looked nervous.

Brandon went on, “Yeah, they’re just weird and I don’t like them.”

As these words came out of his little mouth, I weighed my two choices.

Choice A: Pull my fist back and punch his face with all of my force, causing his two front teeth to fly out. As he would be dazed by the pain, I would kick him in the balls… Wait, he doesn’t have any, which was proven by that comment he said. So scratch that, instead of kicking him in the balls, I will punch him in the stomach, causing him to scrunch in pain, turning into fetal position. To finish it up, I would drag his little body into the girl’s bathroom and leave him laying there, writhing in pain.

Choice B: Take a deep breath. Be cool. Finish your chemistry.

Choice B seemed the most practical, so I went with that. But instead of turning to my chemistry worksheet, I calmly said to that little boy, “My dad is black.”

Brandon nervously laughed and said, “Haha. Yeah, right.”

Chris turned to him and quietly said, “Yes he is.”

Brandon’s face turned the color of a grapefruit and his eyes shot down on the floor, avoiding any eye contact with me. Then, as if on cue, the bell rings and Brandon storms out of the classroom.

Now Brandon’s comment about not liking black people caught me aghast. I thought that racism in United States was something in the past, something that only senior citizens would participate in. Especially growing up in Washington State, nobody seemed to look at your skin color or make a comment about it.

Now, in China, a little white Texan boy crushed my Utopian thought that racism was a thing of the past.

Hearing Brandon announce his dislike for black people, my next thought was, What did black people do to him?

Of course, Brandon is from Texas, maybe it’s just the whole Southern idea? After all, they did lose the Civil War. But Dustin is from Texas too. Chris is not from Texas but he is a Southern boy from Louisiana. Landry is from Georgia, which qualifies as the South. So many of my friends are Southerners but I have never heard them utter anything about disliking black people.

Or maybe Brandon is just a plain a**hole?

I guess I’ll never know why Brandon, a sixteen-year old boy, doesn’t like black people. But I know that his comment hurt me, even though I am not black but my step-dad is, and I truly wish he hasn’t said that.

Do you think that these racist remarks come from the family?

Our Guest blogger for March is Nathan Pralle from PhilosYphia. Saturday March 6, 2010 Nathan’s topic is Time. If you’d like to, first stop by his site to get a feel for the kind of reading, insight and humor you can look forward to this Saturday.

.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Chris on March 7, 2010 - 9:16 PM

    Its amazing that the more humanity advances certain things like prejudice just don’t go away. I suppose children learn some of these traits from their parents/family. I just can’t understand why a person would say they couldn’t be friends with someone based on the color of their skin. Does that make them less deserving of your friendship? It just blows my mind. Very thought provoking stuff though.

  2. #2 by Lester on March 5, 2010 - 8:06 PM

    It’s a shame the way we treat others. God don’t like ugly and He made us all. Love one another is the only way.

  3. #3 by Julia G on March 5, 2010 - 4:12 PM

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, Tom. I might never hit 500 comments, but that makes one more :)
    This post from radcookie certainly did make me stop and think. I’m a Canadian living in Australia, and have had several black friends during my life (only one here in Oz – there are many more Asians!) I can’t imagine Brandon’s remarks not having some kind of springboard, so if it’s not his family it might be a book, a movie, or one black person in particular who hurt him in the past.
    I hope for a day when we can describe someone across the room using their skin colour as well as their hair colour, and not feel nervous that our observation might be taken the wrong way.

  4. #4 by Jia Jia on March 5, 2010 - 3:00 AM

    :( sad to hear that. Its very sad to be discriminated by someone. well, I personally feel that racist thoughts can come in all forms.. be it media, friends, family or even organisations. Take it easy (altho its so difficult!), a race is just beyond skin colour.
    Those racist people should really just reflect and get a life.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

