The Most Beautiful Girl In The World

This post was inspired by a poem I read called Cannot Fly. When I read the poem I started thinking about how much pain and sorrow there is in the world and how we usually try to box ourselves into our comfy little world and think everything else is fine. Well when even one person is hurting, everything else is not fine. Sometimes we box our self into a very uncomfortable world.

I have been very fortunate to know lots of girls/women in my life. Some were short, some were tall. Some were rich and some poor. Some were very smart and some not so much. Some were thin and some were heavy. They were Black and White, Yellow, Brown and Red. Despite their differences they most likely had one thing in common; unhappiness or a lack of self esteem that they hid from all but a few. Some of these girls were burdened with carrying a heavy load and left unchecked turn into baggage that gets carried around and infests every aspect of their lives, but especially in their marriages.

I sit here writing this post because I deeply care. I genuinely care about people. People I know and those I don’t and here on this blog where I am ‘kind of” getting to know people. I am not a Mother Teresa, a Martin Luther King or someone like that but I do sympathize and can empathize with a lot of people in their different situations.

Beauty truly is in the eye of the beholder. I have met some truly lovely, gorgeous, sexy women and some of them actually believe they are ugly. In their eyes they are and nobody can convince them differently. Why is that? The only truly ugly women that I know are only ugly because of their personality. They are mean, abrasive, brassy, know-it-all, think too highly of them self women. And who knows why they act the way they do, but they are not ugly looking. Simply ugly acting.

I have met women who have been molested or raped and some, most often by relatives. Some times it was over the course of years and for some just a one time torment. Regardless, they are survivors! Some things are not meant for children and sex is one of them. It’s not meant for children with other children and definitely not meant for children with adults. I’m not a religious person but I am beginning to understand the logic behind God’s demand for Christians to wait until marriage and then only between their own spouse. On a side note, ever since April (my wife) was ill for so long, I have begun looking into learning more about God.

Speaking with my sister Terri, I learned that so many females struggle not only with the way they look, but their weight specifically. Of course that might seem obvious to most people but I didn’t know to what extent. I was shocked to learn that it was common practice for her and her friends to take diet pills on a regular basis to curb their appetites. We are talking about girls who are either by government standards are the right weight for their height or who even weigh less than they should. My sister’s friends had no reason to take diet pills. But it was their perception that mattered, not the truth.

There are girls who are anorexic, or obese and over weight. Food is both friend and enemy. For some being overweight is just a fact of life and should they decided they want to lose weight, they could. For others food is a drug like alcohol and is used to comfort them or help them escape some deeper issue. Hollywood and Wall Street make things even more difficult by only showing one type of female. Young rich and thin. That is not reality…

Forgive me please. I could go on with much much more, but the longer a post is, the less likely it will get read in it’s entirety. I’m pretty sure you know every kind of girl mentioned in this post and for every one you know, there are those that behind closed doors suffer as well and you would never know. Love heals a multitude of problems. Find somebody you love and get to know them better. Talk with someone you don’t know (safely), and get to know them. Peel back the layers of people’s lives. Get to really know someone. Get them to open up. Open yourself up to someone. Get down and dirty. Dig into the dirt of peoples lives. Make them open up. You just might save a life.

I don’t mean that someone is thinking of committing suicide. I mean that there are people walking around everyday that are dead inside. They feel they have nothing to live for. They live destructive lives and pass that destructive behavior onto their daughters. It becomes a vicious cycle. Women are grandmothers in their twenties because their daughter who they had when they were a teenager, had a baby in her teens. Sometimes the cycle may never be broken. Sometimes it won’t be broken because you did nothing…

Ladies, life is too short. Girls are hurting and they are the backbone of society. They are the ones who will be raising the men of society. They are the ones marrying the men of our society. It is of the utmost importance to have the women of a society as mentally and physically healthy as possible.

Men. Love your daughters. Love your girlfriends or your wives. Love your sisters and most importantly your mothers. If you don’t have one or any of those find someone elses and show love to them (NOT SOMEONE ELSE’S WIFE). Don’t tell someone I told you to go have an affair with somebody’s wife. That is not what I am saying. And it may seem corny or simplistic to you or even for you, out of character; but love really is the answer.

A pretty woman or a cute girl can turn my head sometimes but a woman with true inner beauty can turn my heart every time.
~ Tom Baker

Why did I choose Prince’s The Most Beautiful Girl In The World? I recall watching the video and women of every background and shape were a part of the video. Prince is known for having the likes of Sheila E., Apollonia and Vanity hanging onto him. I wasn’t even aware that someone like Prince knew that women came in all shapes and sizes. He impressed me and I had a new found respect for the man and not just the musician. Every woman can be beautiful but it is the inward beauty that is most important. Their outward appearance is less important. It’s like the crust that kids peel off their slice of bread to get to the good part.

Fellows, let every woman you encounter be your favorite work of art. Women. Learn to love yourself and watch your world and the whole world change.

The woman who wrote the poem is Cherlyn (that’s C-h-e-r-l-y-n) Cochrane. You can find out more about Cherlyn by visiting her blog, Over A Cup Of Coffee and coming back here on September 4, 2010 as she will be the guest blogger.

Of course this post is just as apropos for males as it is for females. I don’t want to exclude the problems men face although nobody made a song for men like Prince did for women. Could you be the most beautiful girl in the world? Ladies you already are!

Photo Credit: Natalia Łowicka, Poem Credit: Cherlyn Cochrane

Please share this with someone, anyone. I don’t usually beg, however if you think someone might benefit from the reading of this post, I beg you to share it on any social network you are a part of. Please comment as well, positive or negative. Thanks for reading.

.

Some content on this page was disabled on November 7, 2016 as a result of a DMCA takedown notice from Natalia Łowicka. You can learn more about the DMCA here:

https://en.support.wordpress.com/copyright-and-the-dmca/

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Dyanne Pauline on May 26, 2014 - 10:01 AM

    This is so wonderful. Thank you so much for taking time to share how sensitive we are and how much we need some pullin’ up at times.

  2. #2 by socialsistersblog on June 2, 2012 - 12:59 AM

    This is very great to read. I know I don’t always feel confident enough about myself.
    Thanks so much for sharing! :)

  3. #3 by Roshni on May 24, 2012 - 9:06 AM

    I loved reading this post. Thankfully, I don’t really fall into the category of girls who worry about weight and looks. But yes, there are times when I go low on self-esteem and confidence. Never for long, though. :) I’m sure this post will be helpful for so many girls out there. Loved it! :)

    • #4 by Tom Baker on May 24, 2012 - 1:13 PM

      I’m happy to know that not every woman on the planet has issues like this. I hope women like yourself can help other women who have dealt with problems like I mentioned and worse. Thank you for reading it!

  4. #5 by Gretchen Chase on May 8, 2012 - 5:19 AM

    I wish words alone could heal some of the hurt I’ve been taken through. I will try to take your words to heart. It’s both beautiful and sad to know a stranger cares more than people I see and have known all my life. Thank you for that.

    • #6 by Tom Baker on May 24, 2012 - 1:11 PM

      Hey Gretchen, believe it or not I do care. If you need to talk for any reason, don’t hesitate to email.

  5. #7 by scrunchylips on March 24, 2012 - 7:57 AM

    youre a great guy Tom.

  6. #9 by Daughter on March 22, 2012 - 12:45 AM

    Thank you for sharing your honesty and respect for feminine energy. Serious hi-fives to your wife April for knowing a “good one” and staying the course! (And to you for being mature enough to recognize her as “a keeper” as well)! You are right – love is always going to be the ultimate Rx to relieve our collective suffering, as human beings. *I will be sharing this post with others*

    • #10 by Tom Baker on March 22, 2012 - 8:09 AM

      Thank you Daughter. Sharing this post is just what I want. I thank you for spreading my thoughts throughout…

  7. #11 by Anna Rae on March 21, 2012 - 6:00 PM

    “Get to really know someone. Get them to open up. Open yourself up to someone. Get down and dirty. Dig into the dirt of peoples lives. Make them open up. You just might save a life.” I especially like this part! Actually, I love it! It is true that so many women struggle with self image (even the pretty ones) and I think that being a real friend to people and making them feel important is one of the solutions to this problem! I really really really really love this post! lol Thank you for sharing!!! Can I link this post to one of my posts in the future??? This is definitely a topic I am planning to write about too!

    • #12 by Tom Baker on March 21, 2012 - 6:49 PM

      Yes and I know you can do a better job than I. I hope this is the beginning of a great friendship. Take care Anna.

  8. #13 by Juan202020 on March 18, 2012 - 4:20 PM

    Tom, remember me? I just gave some friends this link. I think they will like it.

    • #14 by Tom Baker on March 18, 2012 - 5:35 PM

      Share the link with everyone Juan!

  9. #15 by Southern Cricut Lady on March 18, 2012 - 2:52 PM

    Thank you Tom for this heartfelt and inspiring post. For some reason, it resonates even more with me because the words came from a man. This is truly a post that all should read – men, women, boys, and girls. I have been blessed with a loving husband (ten years in July!) who cares more about the inside than the outside and it’s so refreshing. And it’s so refreshing to hear a man’s supportive view of what females go through during the course of their life time. There is so much pressure to look a certain way, act a certain way, be superwoman in all things and look good doing it. But you’re so right, what good is the vanity if the contents are not worth looking at? I too believe in personality over anything else. As a teenager, I dated some cute but vain guys and in the end was disappointed when I learned there was no substance. A pretty face may get a passing glance but if there’s nothing real to hold you there, it’s just a pretty face.

    • #16 by Tom Baker on March 18, 2012 - 2:57 PM

      Thank you kindly! I commend your husband on being a great guy.

      • #17 by Southern Cricut Lady on March 18, 2012 - 3:03 PM

        Thank you! I will pass that along :). Sounds like you’re a great guy to April too. Blessings to you both!

  10. #18 by mynakedbokkie on March 6, 2012 - 8:15 AM

    Thanks for the link T. Enjoyed the read. I did take a pop past this morning and on fact even put a note in my diary to get involved with your 30 day blogging! Think that is brilliant.
    X

    • #19 by Tom Baker on March 7, 2012 - 9:26 AM

      Bokkie, the questions are being fine tuned and I look forward to any and all participating with Cherlyn and I. What I like about the month is the questions are always ready early and you can complete the entire month long before the first. If you know of any girl who

        needs

      to read this post, please point them here.

  11. #20 by veehcirra on February 29, 2012 - 8:21 AM

    Wow, thanks Tom for recommending this post.
    I love it!!
    Every girl of any age should read this. If only more men thought like this? Seriously…
    Very inspiring :)
    Thanks.

    Veeh.

    • #21 by Tom Baker on March 1, 2012 - 7:34 AM

      Veeh, it is my goal that every girl reads this. If you could share it with your female friends that would be great. If they take it to heart and live with the thoughts that they are special, that woudl be even better.

  12. #22 by Juan Lopez on February 28, 2012 - 8:45 PM

    My goodness. It is a shame there is a need for posts like this but great for you to do it.

    • #23 by Tom Baker on February 28, 2012 - 10:55 PM

      It is a shame. Thank you for reading. I hope it helps a lot of people.

  13. #24 by Chicago-Style Girl on February 28, 2012 - 7:13 AM

    This post is pretty intense. It makes me thankful for having a loving father and now a loving husband. Unless you’re taught at a very early age that the bad things that happen aren’t your fault or a reflection on your worth, it’s hard to teach that lesson to yourself. I’m glad you’re out here encouraging people to reach out and care.

    • #25 by Tom Baker on February 28, 2012 - 11:00 AM

      Hello HotGirl! Father’s play a huge role in the self esteem of their daughters. It is one of my favorite posts so I am always glad when someone responds positively.

  14. #26 by Mai Mergili from PENCIL PILLOW on February 24, 2012 - 6:47 PM

    Tom,

    thank you so much for telling me to read this post. It is not only a simple blog entry or post, it is a really really beautiful and profound essay about what is really going on with women on the earth. It made me pensive because it is so true and I do know the sorts of women and I can totally understand them because, well, since I am a woman as well, I sometimes feel the same. You know, your entry makes me think about one entry I have written last June when I had just started blogging. Its title is “Fashion is the healthiest motivation for losing weight” – it’s a quote I found on a friend’s facebook profile and it really shocked me because this quote actually EXACTLY expresses the opposite. Currently, I am so annoyed at not being able to write in English like in German because it’s not my mother language!!! You know, there are many anorexic (…) women and it’s not their fault, it’s our fault because we are the people having influence on them. Nowadays, the ideal of beauty is so questionable and disputable. I am just 16 and have already made so many diets which haven’t helped at all. And I was so stupid to make this diets because well, I was skinny and now, I am not fat as well and with the diets, it actually even became worse. So the last 2 years, I have learned a lot about the inner beauty and luckily, I got to know more and more people who love me for what I am and not for how I look and that’s why I realized that looking good is not everything (sounds paradoxical from a girl who runs a fashion and photography blog). What makes you look good is a nice personality and self-confidence, nobody can love you if you don’t love yourself.
    Ok, I have to go now and do my school stuff … but my time was really worth reading this, Tom. Thanks again and good night (it’s 1 AM in Germany).

    • #27 by Mai Mergili from PENCIL PILLOW on February 24, 2012 - 6:48 PM

      Sorry for the long comment!!!!!!

      • #28 by Tom Baker on February 24, 2012 - 8:57 PM

        You never have to apologize for long comments. I love ’em.

    • #29 by Mai Mergili from PENCIL PILLOW on February 24, 2012 - 6:50 PM

      +++++ Plus: the poem is wonderful!

    • #30 by Tom Baker on February 25, 2012 - 11:53 AM

      Mai, I hope you got a good night sleep. I reread you comment and I suppose if we teach children to love themselves the way they are (not egotistical) then they have a better chance of not letting what other people say and think about them matter. It is every ones job to teach kids that. I believe it takes a village to raise a child. If children only hear it from their parents about how special they are, they might think that parents have to say that because they love them. If other people say it, it might sink in. Stop smoking, eat your veggies and leave those diets alone!

  15. #31 by misselsie19 on February 10, 2012 - 2:29 PM

    Definitely one of the best posts I’ve read. Very inspiring too…I’m glad you shared this with everyone especially the women. Thank you for following me too.

    • #32 by Tom Baker on February 10, 2012 - 2:31 PM

      Elsie, you are very welcome. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  16. #33 by hajpaj on January 28, 2012 - 10:49 AM

    This is such a sweet post. I think I’ll open this up and read it whenever I’m down. :)

    • #34 by Tom Baker on January 28, 2012 - 10:06 PM

      I am glad you liked this post Hajpaj and I do hope it helped you in some way.

  17. #35 by nenskei on January 10, 2012 - 7:23 PM

    Hi tom,
    this is such a beautiful post .. very wonderful to read to start something different in 2012….
    somehow .. thoughts are popping out in my mind….

    • #36 by Tom Baker on January 10, 2012 - 7:47 PM

      I’m very happy to hear that you liked this post. It was meant for you!

  18. #37 by Saara on December 13, 2011 - 11:12 AM

    Thank you for writing this. I’ll put a note somewhere in my room to remind me to read this post whenever I feel low. I just wish there were more men out there who thought like this. What it’s like to be depressed? Well, most girls would know the answer to that. I just wish they hadn’t.

    Thank you, again, for writing this. I admire your empathy. And yes, I am sharing this!

    • #38 by Tom Baker on December 13, 2011 - 7:50 PM

      Thanks for sharing this with others Saara. There is also a poll that goes along with it.

      I’ve just spent some quality time at your blog and I was inspired to write another post. Thank you.

  19. #39 by BlueGem on November 19, 2011 - 6:52 PM

    Talk about charisma and rationality!!! Your blog is awesome. I look forward to reading more and more :)

    • #40 by Tom Baker on November 21, 2011 - 8:48 PM

      Thank you BlueGem for stopping by. I appreciate your kind words. I do hope you come back and read more. Thank you also for subscribing. I really hope you enjoyed this post.

  20. #41 by shahanifudge on November 19, 2011 - 11:47 AM

    What a great post…you made great points..

    • #42 by Tom Baker on November 21, 2011 - 8:51 PM

      Thank you for taking the time to read it. It was meant for women all over the world. I wish I could share it with everyone.

  21. #43 by fluffymocchi on November 19, 2011 - 9:52 AM

    Wow! This such a beautiful post. I twitted this and shared it with my followers :) I’ve known a friend for almost 11 years. When i met her she was healthy and happy… as the years went by she lost so much weight because it was the “only thing she can control in her life”. She went down dangerously to 80 pounds for a 5″3 girl. What you wrote was just so inspiring. I remember when I was in my early 20’s. I would look for the “quick and easy” ways with my bestfriend to lose weight. For me, being in an Asian culture… it’s def family pressure. Especially with all the diet ads in HK…. I’ve def in a healthy weight, but it’s not what is expected from a Hong Kong Culture. So I can only try to maintain a healthy-life style and use that line to bash my relatives in HK who calls me chubby or fat! I still remember… when I went back to HK after 10 years for the 1st time… the first thing my relatives would say is “…. WHAT did Canada FEED YOU!?!?!, Too much burgers and fries?!” It’s funny now, but at that time not so much.

    Anyway, I’m blahing. Great post! And Thanks for directing me here. As always. I really enjoy your posts.

    • #44 by Tom Baker on November 21, 2011 - 8:58 PM

      Thank you for sharing it with your readers. I hope they like it. I want you to eat healthy and take care of yourself and the weight will take care of itself. Be happy!

  22. #45 by Kat on October 29, 2011 - 11:25 AM

    Thanks Tom for letting me land on this post. I love it. I have never read a blog that sounded as sincere as this.

    God bless!

    • #46 by Tom Baker on October 29, 2011 - 11:42 AM

      Kat, I’m glad you read it and thanks for leaving a comment. It was most definitely from my heart. Stop by often.

  23. #47 by Michelle on October 14, 2011 - 8:44 AM

    Hello, Tom. First off, thank you for the comments you left on my blog. Secondly, and you’ve probably received many statements like this but– great post. It is exceptionally rare for people to notice these things nowadays, especially if it’s coming from a man. I also feel the need to tell you that I wasn’t always a person with low self-esteem. In fact, if you ask me at this very moment, as I am sitting here right in front of my laptop typing away, if I feel self-conscious now, with my face which is oily to the highest degree, my hair in tangles and myself dressed in a baggy T-shirt with shorts, I would say no. I don’t have a great figure, and I am one of the shortest students in class. I don’t have perfect vision and I wear braces. Yet if you ask me to go around town in my current condition, I wouldn’t be ashamed to do so. I am proud of who I am, and thus I am proud of my imperfections and flaws because they are the vital elements that make up each and every atom in my body! And why would I hate something that God has so graciously given me, me, and not that poor handicapped girl who is begging by the streets? And of course, so many others who are so much more less fortunate than me, and also many other girls, and boys alike, who claim that they are the ugliest of the uglies.

    But then again, there comes the factor of society, which we inevitably have to add in each equation. And sometimes, even though we are armed with the highest degree of confidence and self-esteem, you just cannot control your emotions when someone (especially if that someone is someone you know and actually care about) so much as utter, “Why have you gotten so fat?” or “You really should slim down.” And it really does take up all the energy within yourself to keep from bursting out that “It is my body, and my own copyrighted property so I shall do with it whatever I want without you commenting on it!”

    That’s where my low self-esteem came from, the constantly prying eyes and gossiping mouths of society. I am still trying to work on that issue I have.

    I am so sorry for writing an essay in this comment space but since we were already on that matter I couldn’t help but share my two cents. I do wish more people have the same mentality as you do, because then there would be less suicides, inventions of dieting pills, tragic stories of unconfident teenagers and so many other sad chapters that weave the tale of modern society.

    • #48 by Tom Baker on October 14, 2011 - 10:29 AM

      Michelle, don’t ever apologize for leaving essays for comments. Believe me when I say you are in great company. Two other people who will remain nameless, but they know who they are, (Cherlyn and Blaga) also like to leave essays.

      Society makes a lot of things difficult for people. It is a shame that we rely so heavily on the opinions of others. I agree, God made you special and nobody can take that away from you. You just have to continue to walk in the belief that God doesn’t make junk. You are beautiful Michelle, the most beautiful!

      Thank you for stopping in and reading my favorite post. I like essays for comments.

  24. #49 by Mary J. Shore on August 21, 2011 - 9:32 PM

    It is truly a blessing that man wrote this. I shared this with my Mom. Despite the title of your site she was impressed as well. I took your poll too.

  25. #50 by brittany220 on May 30, 2011 - 1:06 PM

    Hey Tom, this is a beautiful post! I don’t think anyone is really happy with their appearance and everyone finds something to dislike. It helps talking it out though and realizing that sometimes our image of ourselves is distorted. One of my friends is constantly saying that she’s so fat and ugly and I don’t even know how she thinks that. Others think they look so bad in pictures when they don’t, and I wish they would believe me when i say it. In general I think girls are just especially hard on themselves. I can be hard on myself too when I look at beautiful celebrities and all that, but mostly I’m happy with my appearance though I do like to keep fit and eat healthy as much as I can. But I also eat cookies and cake and what not when I want to and don’t think I shouldn’t be allowed to pig out on the good stuff just because I’m a girl! Some girls can order their salad and glass of water, but the few times I go out to eat I want something to fill me up like a burger or chicken strips!

    • #51 by Tom Baker on May 31, 2011 - 8:29 AM

      I’m happy you liked the post. Those beautiful celebrities (except for Cindy Crawford) look just like you and I without their make up on. Regular pimple faced, blotchy skinned, freckled, bad breathed, smelly underarms, hair weave wearing, breast implant carrying, wipe their butt just like you and I, feet smelling people. We always see them at their best and their best is a masquerade. Eat what you want but stay very healthy Brittany! I have a soft spot in my heart for you already. Take care.

  26. #52 by sukkhi on May 30, 2011 - 1:18 AM

    you wrote nice things.i appreciate it…

    • #53 by Tom Baker on May 30, 2011 - 12:25 PM

      Thank you, I hope it touched you in some way.

  27. #54 by Danni on May 22, 2011 - 9:16 AM

    Wonderfully written Tom and received very warmly in my soul. Thank you from me and my daughter.

    • #55 by Tom Baker on May 22, 2011 - 1:10 PM

      Thank you Danni. It was an honor to write it. It blessed a lot of people so far.

  28. #56 by yuuki-chan on April 10, 2011 - 11:34 PM

    Tom, I love this post very much because it seems as if you’re speaking to me and that you wrote this for me. True, girls really do have it hard. Between mood swings and food cravings, there are a lot of things that we are to pressured to become – thin, tall, perfect skin, perfect hair. And it makes me glad to see that there is someone who saw that and took the time to compose a little prose for all the women he has loved, is loving, and will probably meet and love in the future – family, life, and friends.

    I am proud to call you my friend.

    :)

    • #57 by Tom Baker on April 25, 2011 - 11:22 AM

      Yuuki, I am very proud to be your friend! I am glad the post spoke to you. Stay sweet!

  29. #58 by Seth Winternight on January 28, 2011 - 4:49 AM

    Well, your literacy skills are as good as your understanding of intricate and personal topics. I do believe there is a song that would backup your story very well. A great music artist and I’m now going to quote from this song: “Pretty pretty please, don’t you ever ever feel like your less than f****n’ perfect. Pretty pretty please, if you ever ever feel like your nothing, you’re f****n’ perfect to me.” With that being said, It’s always inspiring to see more acts of appreciation and care towards delicate emotions. A man yourself, April is nonetheless proud.

    • #59 by Tom Baker on January 31, 2011 - 9:57 AM

      She is proud of me. How’d you know? Life is too short to go through thinking less of yourself than you should. Thanks for reading.

  30. #60 by jurline on January 24, 2011 - 1:26 AM

    Tom, you know how much I love Prince. I saw him in person, front row seats. I had a purple wrap and I kept waving it in his direction. I swear he looked and directly at me and start singing his next set. I felt as though I was going to pass out. To have Prince look in my direction is an experience that I will carry within my soul.The Most Beautiful Girl in the World, is one of my favorite. When I heard it for the first time, I felt as though he was singing to all of the women in the world. Prince is wise beyond his years and he realizes that beauty is only skin deep. I am so thankful for your posts. I have always encouraged women to look for their inner beauty. My mother had a saying, “all that glitters ain’t gold”. I too have been around lovely women and secretly envied them until I got to know them. Most were shallow and self centered. I truly thank God that I am beautiful by my standards not the world!!!Wonderful Post!!!!!!!!!!!! I love it. Thanks so much for encouraging each one of us to seek our inner beauty. always J

    • #61 by Tom Baker on January 24, 2011 - 6:07 AM

      When it comes right down to it, inner beauty is all that matters. Prince is a master of music for sure. Sounds like you had a great time. Front row seats!

  31. #62 by Lorselle on January 22, 2011 - 10:36 AM

    Hi Tom!
    This is just wonderful.
    I hope you don’t mind my saying but this post pulled me out of my rut of sorts.
    Gee that box is complex! ;)
    Thank you for this wonderful, wonderful post!

    • #63 by Tom Baker on January 22, 2011 - 6:11 PM

      Lorselle, I am so very happy that it was able to help in some way and I hope you check out the other post as well.

  32. #64 by classyrose on January 22, 2011 - 9:01 AM

    Thank you Tom, truly enjoyed reading it. :-)

    • #65 by Tom Baker on January 22, 2011 - 6:09 PM

      I’m glad people are still reading it. I’m glad you came by.

  33. #66 by Shumpynella on November 30, 2010 - 6:59 PM

    I won’t read the other comments lest I’m dissuaded by my redundancy but thank you. Sometimes I don’t know if men realize all these things – I don’t know if women do either. It is so important to care & reach out…

    • #67 by Tom Baker on December 1, 2010 - 7:18 AM

      With all the baggage people carry around for the various reasons, I don’t suppose people do realize their true value!

  34. #68 by callmeams on November 6, 2010 - 10:46 PM

    Well said! If there were more men who thought like you, then more women would feel good about themselves.

    • #69 by Tom Baker on November 7, 2010 - 10:29 PM

      I really wish more women didn’t need a man’s opinion to feel good about themselves.

  35. #70 by Scott Moore on October 30, 2010 - 7:25 PM

    Been following your blog for a while and I finally started a blog of my own. I put up a link to this post so if I get readers they can see it too. I also want to be a part of the meme.

    • #71 by Tom Baker on October 31, 2010 - 9:42 AM

      Glad to hear that you want to be a part of the meme. I will visit your blog soon. Thanks for finally commenting.

  36. #72 by Ava Aston's Muckery on October 30, 2010 - 3:07 PM

    Good writing Tom –I try to be open minded and look past blog titles, after all since mine is Ava Aston’s Muckery I realize I get passed by a lot as well.

    As a performer and constantly being onstage myself I am aware of body image, but I am also far more aware of a healthy lifestyle. With that said, I do agree with your comment that it is the inside beauty that counts. Well written.

    Blessings,

    Ava

    • #73 by Tom Baker on October 31, 2010 - 9:36 AM

      Thank you Ava. I am glad you think it was well written.

  37. #74 by Desiree on October 15, 2010 - 6:45 AM

    Hello Tom,

    I don’t know how to send an email via WordPress, lol! *noob* I read your comment on my poem Raindrop Memories, and it would be an honor if you would feature my poem on your blog. Thank you! I like your blog too, will come back more often.

    xoxx

  38. #75 by {JeLisa} @ Blogging Ever After on October 13, 2010 - 2:52 PM

    This was awesome, Tom. Thanks for it. :)

    • #76 by Tom Baker on October 13, 2010 - 8:13 PM

      Hey there Miss Mom, I’ve missed your comments. Thanks for stopping by.

  39. #77 by Catherine on October 6, 2010 - 11:18 PM

    This is beautiful. Thanks for writing it. A lot of this really needs to be said. http://simplysolo.wordpress.com

    • #78 by Tom Baker on October 7, 2010 - 7:32 AM

      Thank you for coming by again Catherine. I appreciate it and I’m glad you liked the post. A lot more needs to be said as well.

  40. #79 by barrycyrus on October 3, 2010 - 10:06 PM

    Was this on Freshly Pressed? If not, this should be! :)

    • #80 by Tom Baker on October 4, 2010 - 8:25 AM

      Thanks Barry, you’re the second person to say that but unfortunately the name of my blog is prohibitive, I would think.

  41. #81 by caramac1 on September 29, 2010 - 4:06 PM

    Very inspiring indeed, really made me think today……i felt like this was written for me. i read this just at the right time in my life thank you for making me sit up and take stock. I have been in a bad place in my life and been stuck in it for years. I certainly feel that this is the right time for me to change and would like to think you helped me along the way…………Thank you Tom

    • #82 by Tom Baker on September 29, 2010 - 8:11 PM

      Thank you. I’m glad the post helped you. You are very welcome. I hope life gives you all you richly deserve.

  42. #83 by monica on September 28, 2010 - 7:29 PM

    This hit me like a baseball bat! I was getting teary near the end… This is just lovely!!! A must read for women of all ages. I want this FP!! :)

    • #84 by Tom Baker on September 29, 2010 - 6:52 AM

      Thanks for your kind words Monica. Forgive my ignorance but what is FP?

      • #85 by monica on September 29, 2010 - 7:20 PM

        It’s Freshly Pressed :)…I want this article to be Freshly pressed here in WordPress :)

        • #86 by Tom Baker on September 29, 2010 - 8:09 PM

          Oh, dopey me! Sorry even if there were a chance, the name of my blog would prohibit it! I do want the world to see it though. Thanks again.

  43. #87 by Jean on September 9, 2010 - 12:10 AM

    Great…Awesome…This is a post all girls should read especially in high school.

    • #88 by Tom Baker on September 9, 2010 - 12:35 PM

      I think it would do a lot of high school girls good and lots of boys need to know how to treat a woman, especially if they aren’t learning it at home.

  44. #89 by Valencia Monroe on September 8, 2010 - 2:46 PM

    O.M.Gosh. where do I begin. This post truly opened my eyes even more! :) like I’m speechless. Greatest post in the world! Man. Oh. Man. This deep. I’m glad a person like me read this because I truly care for others and others family. I hurts me to see others deeply hurt.

    Man. I’m speechless. It was deeply amazing. CLAP CLAP CLAP CLAP CLAP!

    • #90 by Tom Baker on September 8, 2010 - 3:39 PM

      That is high praise. Thank you Valencia and thanks for stopping by again. You sound like a caring person from your posts and the comments you leave on JeLisa’s blog. How was your sixteenth birthday celebration?

      • #91 by vee15 on September 9, 2010 - 1:20 PM

        It was wonderful, I blogged about it on my blog go check it out lol! :)

  45. #93 by Scent of my heart on September 6, 2010 - 1:57 AM

    I wish more men thought like you do… Why girls and women are hurting? I guess each one has its reasons … I use to feel that way a lot in the past …hurt and vulnerable, wondering what did I do wrong, what didn’t I say right, why haven’t I had things the way I wanted them to be and mostly because of love… now I know by being confident in what I am, by being myself and respecting it, things actually look better. Pain might mark our souls and hearts, but with time it fades away to leave to road to beauty free. Lovely post!

    • #94 by Tom Baker on September 6, 2010 - 8:00 AM

      I wish more men and women thought more positive of themself and still put others before themself. One good thing about pain is that once you go through it, you can better help someone else going through too. Thanks for the many comments.

      • #95 by Scent of my heart on September 6, 2010 - 10:35 AM

        whatever doesn’t kill you makes you stronger :) ….

  46. #96 by Tinh on August 31, 2010 - 12:32 AM

    A pretty woman or a cute girl can turn my head sometimes but a woman with true inner beauty can turn my heart every time. I love this sentence, it is hidden beauty :-)

    • #97 by Tom Baker on August 31, 2010 - 7:08 AM

      I can’t believe I was able to think of such genius a quote.

  47. #98 by Melinda on August 30, 2010 - 10:03 AM

    What a beautiful post. It is sad to see people that walk around with a “dead” look in their eye. I can tell you are a giving/caring person. Thanks for sharing and motivating us to try to make a difference in someone’s life.

    • #99 by Tom Baker on August 30, 2010 - 11:15 AM

      I hope we can all make a difference in someone’s life — for the better! Thanks for commenting. I truly appreciate it.

  48. #100 by Jimmy on August 29, 2010 - 10:49 PM

    Dude, sounds like you are really in touch with your feminine side. I googled Most Beautiful Girl In The World and that’s what brought me here but it was a good read anyway. I can see by your comments that you touched the women here.

    • #101 by Tom Baker on August 30, 2010 - 11:13 AM

      I don’t know about all that but thanks for reading it.

  49. #102 by Lauren on August 29, 2010 - 2:30 PM

    Wow. Amazing blog. Very inspiring. Thank you.

    • #103 by Tom Baker on August 30, 2010 - 11:13 AM

      Thank you for commenting. This post has received a lot of visitors but only a few comments but I hope it can make a difference in someone’s life for those that are reading it.

      • #104 by Lauren on August 30, 2010 - 2:39 PM

        I feel the same way. My blog gets tons of visitors and pretty much no one ever replies. So when I read a post that I like, I reply. :)

  50. #105 by Marilyn on August 29, 2010 - 9:13 AM

    Amazing. First I would have to say to Cherlyn that it is a beautiful poem filled with sorrow and promise. To Tom, you have a big heart and I believe you and your wife should start having babies and change the world for the better. Teach them and instill your core values. I know people like you’ve described and even some how cut themselves. I’m a Christian and I hope you find what you are searching for.

    • #106 by Tom Baker on August 30, 2010 - 11:08 AM

      I’ll tell April what you said and I will let Cherlyn know what you said if she doesn’t read this first. Thanks for coming by.

    • #107 by Cherlyn on October 1, 2010 - 11:35 AM

      Thank you very much :)

  51. #108 by southwindtrails on August 27, 2010 - 7:48 PM

    I thought this was a really wonderful post, thank you for taking the time to write about a subject that is so important and so often ignored.

    • #109 by Tom Baker on August 28, 2010 - 2:26 AM

      Thanks for visiting and your kind words.

  52. #110 by KVGess on August 27, 2010 - 12:53 PM

    Hey Tom,

    Wow, where to start…

    First, thanks for commenting on my blog. I appreciate your opinion and comments and I’ll take your request to heart.

    Second, on your post, yeah, I know a lot of women like the ones you’re describing. It makes me sad when I see my friends, beautiful people inside and out, doubt themselves or think they’re ugly or fat or something like that, when in reality, they’re gorgeous. It sucks because the “protector” in me wants to “save them” from… something, but I know I can’t. I have to protect and save my wife and she’s the only one who really deserves that kind of attention anyway. This is one of the reasons I believe in God. I can’t save everyone… I can barely save myself—if I can even do that. But He can save all of us from enemies seen and unseen.

    I, like you, wish that the women I know that are like the one’s you are describing, could and would believe me when I say I care, that they’re beautiful, that what other people say really doesn’t matter, that they are loved, cared for, etc.

    In the mean time, posts like this will reach the ears/eyes of someone who needs to hear/read it. Thanks for posting it, :-)

    • #111 by Tom Baker on August 27, 2010 - 1:21 PM

      Galen, these are also the very same women that come to us for advice on every subject under the sun and hang on our every word. They take our advice and think we are geniuses but when we give them advice about them and tell the truth about how we feel or how they look or how they should feel about them self and it’s as if we don’t have a clue! How is it that we can be so right about everything, except them?

      They need to see the failed logic in trusting us with every other subject (relationships, school, money, jobs, food, etc.) and disregarding when we speak to them about them. All we can do is continue to love them. Thanks for providing the male voice.

  53. #112 by Rose on August 27, 2010 - 10:34 AM

    I haven’t seen anything like this in a blog before. Great post. I am inspired to pay it forward so to speak. I want to be the best wife I can possibly be and I respect my Mom lots more now.

    • #113 by Tom Baker on August 27, 2010 - 11:00 AM

      I’m glad you got something out of the post. There are millions if not billions of blog posts. Keep visiting blogs – other bloggers care too. I think you are one of them.

  54. #114 by Jia on August 27, 2010 - 8:16 AM

    Very beautiful post Tom. Thank you and you are a very kind gentleman. And Cherlyn has got really beautiful poems too. Thanks for sharing!

    • #115 by Tom Baker on August 27, 2010 - 10:59 AM

      Thanks Jia and thank you for just calling me Tom. I’m glad you were able to visit Cherlyn’s site and see more of her poetry. Stop back for her guest appearance!

      I know you were upset about the test that your classmates cheated on and I hope this can ease a little bit of your frustration. Don’t judge your worth by others. Compare yourself only to your self’s potential.

  55. #116 by Judy on August 27, 2010 - 7:59 AM

    Heartfelt and very well written. Are you positive your wife didn’t help you? As a woman I thank you.

    • #117 by Tom Baker on August 27, 2010 - 10:56 AM

      No, I did it all by myself. April did give the thumbs up and I got a big kiss after she read it. I love kissing!!!

  56. #118 by cursemymetalbody on August 27, 2010 - 7:19 AM

    What an amazing post; it was truly emotional. I’m not going to lie, it kind of brought tears to my eyes. There is nothing more I could say about this post, except that it too is beautiful.

    By the way, thanks for spelling my name out ;) I have to say, my parents picked a weird one for me!

    Great post again!

    • #119 by Tom Baker on August 27, 2010 - 10:55 AM

      I think this is the second time one of my posts brought tears to your eyes. You either have a very big heart or I’m an awesome writer! I don’t think it’s the latter. Thanks for the praise. I hope it helps someone.

  57. #121 by irishprecious on August 27, 2010 - 12:13 AM

    Very inspiring. This coming from a woman. :) Thanks for this post!

    • #122 by Tom Baker on August 27, 2010 - 10:54 AM

      I was trying to inspire women. I hope in a certain time in life anyone who read this will be able to recall it and help them self out of a bad place. It’s meant to motivate men and women. Thanks.

  1. Russian bride
  2. THE MOST BEAUTIFUL GIRL IN THE WORLD IS THE ONE WHO BELIEVES IN BEAUTY OF LIFE « The Way I Live Naturally
  3. tong dai shoho
  4. First blog nomination « Kara
  5. blackheads
  6. Shush « Broken Sparkles
  7. Going away « Broken Sparkles
  8. Going away « Scent of my heart
  9. One Year Blogiversary « Over a Cup of Coffee
  10. Shush « Scent of my heart
  11. The Most Beautiful Girls « Connoisseur of the Feminine Physique
  12. Silence « Scent of my heart

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

