Archive for September 4th, 2011

Baked Chicken Italiano Recipe

DISCLAIMER: I am very sleepy and what appears on the computer screen before you may or may not be coherent.

It’s no secret that one of my favorite rooms at home is the kitchen. I feel very comfortable there and love to cook for those I love or care about or maybe even hate, but the latter has not happened! I don’t hate anybody anyway.

Back to the subject at hand. Cooking is perhaps my favorite hobby and having several people over for dinner tonight I thought I could post about the meal and leave a recipe. The chicken recipe is not mine. Iron Cook Carl who hasn’t posted in forever either is the creator of this recipe.

Tonight I am planning on cooking for eight. It’s kind of a big deal so I am going all out on some courses but for the main course I thought I would keep it simple with baked chicken. To start the meal off I am preparing a seafood bisque. Actually this is my first time preparing a bisque the correct French way. I still have to make it to the market to get the mushrooms. The soup is going to be a crab, lobster and mushroom bisque.

The second course is an radicchio and arugula salad with orange and grapefruit supremes and a lemon vinaigrette. The third course consists of the baked chicken Italiano (see recipe below), cous cous and broccoli rabe. Dessert is also a recipe I’m taking from Carl.

Blue Velvet Cake is a take on Red Velvet cake. It is exactly the same Paula Deen recipe I have been using myself and all he did was substitute red food coloring with blue. He made cupcakes for his kids in the shape of Blue’s paws from Blue’s Clues. I’m just making a four layer cake with loads and load and loads and loads of frosting!

Baked Chicken Italiano Recipe
courtesy of Iron Cook Carl

Emeril’s Essence Seasoning
5 garlic cloves
1 large onion cut in half
1-2 bottles of either Kraft or Wish Bone House Italian dressing
10 chicken quarters (free range, organic)

Keep leg and thighs attached. Clean chicken and remove skin if you prefer less fat in your diet. Season both sides of chicken with Emeril’s essence and place in large baking pan. Smash and remove the skin from the gloves of garlic. Cut onion in half and place in baking dish with garlic. Add Italian dressing to pan by pouring along sides not directly on chicken.

Place in 350 degree oven for at least an hour, until juices run clear or until internal temperature reaches 165 degrees. Turn chicken at least once during baking. Carl says after the chicken is done he drains the dressing and returns the chicken to the oven to get crispy.

Don’t forget the bubbly!

, , , , ,

10 Comments