Quick Miso Soup Recipe

I’m writing this because I am hungry right now. I was in Indiana recently and had a wonderful time. We were invited to dinner by my friend’s friends. We had traditional Japanese food. It was an experience I won’t soon forget. I’ve had lots of Japanese food before and even tried to recreate some Iron Chef recipes. What I never had was Miso Soup. I got the recipe from Chika and I have been making it ever since I got home. I added chicken to my recipe and removed the tofu. Try it, you will like it too.

misoTom’s Miso Soup

6 cups of water
1 strip of kombu
1 strip Nori, cut in half and julienne
1/4 cup Bonito flakes
1 clove garlic
2 chicken breasts, sauteed and diced
1 onion, julienne
1 carrot, julienne
1/2 cup bok choy, julienne
1 tbs. instant wakame flakes
3 tbs. miso paste
2 green onions (scallions)

Combine water and kombu and bring to a boil. Remove from heat and stir in bonito flakes. Cover for ten minutes. Using a strainer, to strain broth and return broth to pot. Throw the kombu and bonito away. Add to the pot, carrots, garlic, nori strips and onions, then simmer for five minutes.

Add the wakame flakes and bok choy, simmer 5 minutes and remove from heat. Dilute the miso in 1/2 cup of the soup broth and add back to soup. Add the chicken breasts. Garnish with the scallions and enjoy.

.

, , ,

  1. #1 by cursemymetalbody on August 24, 2010 - 1:09 PM

    Hmm that sounds really tasty – I haven’t made Miso Soup since my “International Cuisine” class from first year Culinary, but this recipes makes me want to make it again. Miso soup is one of my favourite things to eat – mostly because I love things that are salty haha. I probably will make mine with tofu, but then again, I also really like tofu. A very nice recipe though! Most people wouldn’t attempt to make it, so I give you massive props! haha

    • #2 by Tom Baker on August 24, 2010 - 1:40 PM

      I wanted to made Miso because I had a desire to make something a real Iron Chef (not American Iron Chef) would make and this seemed the easiest!

  2. #3 by Mr.Volt on January 2, 2010 - 12:41 AM

    Thanks for the recipe, looks very delicious, hope there will be more to come, I’ll check back later.

  3. #4 by Nikki on November 11, 2009 - 4:33 PM

    Just stopped back to let you know I tried your recipe and loved it. I made it for my sick husband and he said it made all the difference.

  4. #5 by Akira on October 19, 2009 - 10:31 AM

    It looks like good broth and too hard a recipe for me. I don’t even know where to begin to get half of those ingredients.

  1. Fantasia Smythe

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...