Planet Jupiter; Some Things You Might Not Know

Some Facts About the Fifth Planet from the Sun.


Jupiter, 5th Planet in our Solar System

Facts

1. You can fit 318 planet Earth’s inside of Jupiter. That is huge. Not only can you fit over three hundred Earth’s inside of Jupiter but Jupiter’s mass is 2.5 the mass of the rest of the planets combined.

2. Jupiter’s Great Red Spot is actually a storm that has been raging for more than 350 years but it is getting smaller in size. Astronomer Cassini first viewed the Great Red Spot in 1655.

3. Jupiter has 63 know satellites. My personal favorite moon is Io. Io has active vulcanism and produces lava flows, volcanic pits, and plumes of sulfur and sulfur dioxide hundreds of miles high. This volcanic activity was discovered in 1979 by Voyager 1.

But perhaps the most important fact about Jupiter that I want to make you aware of is that this month you can see it with your naked eye. Jupiter is the brightest “star” in the night sky during November.


Courtesy EarthSky.org

, , ,

  1. #1 by tekia on November 25, 2011 - 11:25 PM

    Thanks for the info! When I was a kid the stars was among many things I found interesting and mysteriously fascinating. Still do to this day.

    • #2 by Tom Baker on November 25, 2011 - 11:30 PM

      Hey there Te’Kia, how are you? I still do as well. You know what gets me? That the Creator is bigger than His creation!

  2. #3 by yourparadise on November 24, 2011 - 2:57 PM

    Really interesting facts, thanks for sharing. :)

    • #4 by Tom Baker on November 24, 2011 - 3:58 PM

      You are very welcome. Glad to see your face at my place!

  3. #5 by TemptingSweets99 on November 24, 2011 - 1:00 PM

    Interesting facts about planet Jupiter. Didn’t know any of this.

    • #6 by Tom Baker on November 24, 2011 - 1:41 PM

      Hello Ms. Sweets. I’m glad you gained some knowledge on this day of Thanks. I wanted you to know your comment is number 4000 for my blog. Thank you!

      • #7 by TemptingSweets99 on November 24, 2011 - 6:17 PM

        4000 comments? Cool! Congratulations! :-)

        • #8 by Tom Baker on November 25, 2011 - 9:45 AM

          Thank you and it’s because of you #4000!

  4. #9 by addielicious on November 23, 2011 - 11:57 AM

    When I was a child, I would see a very bright star around this month and make it my pet. A pet star. Its name was Speeka.

    • #10 by Tom Baker on November 24, 2011 - 1:42 PM

      I’m so glad you were brave enough to share that Addie! Thanks for coming by again.

  5. #11 by Bridgesburning Chris King on November 23, 2011 - 11:23 AM

    Hope you don’t mind Tom..have facebooked your post as I know lots who will enjoy this info!

    • #12 by Tom Baker on November 24, 2011 - 1:44 PM

      I never mind sharing Chris! I appreciate that you want to. I had more but I really only wanted to let people know that you can see Jupiter. Earlier in the month when the moon was bright it was so easy to see Jupiter right next to it but lately it has been too cloudy and rainy.

  6. #13 by Broken Sparkles on November 23, 2011 - 12:19 AM

    Jupiter is my favorite planet! It’s the planet of Sagittarius people …My favorite personal Jupiter’s moon is Callisto/ means beautiful/ …

    • #14 by Tom Baker on November 24, 2011 - 1:46 PM

      Jupiter is my favorite too (next to Earth)!

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...