Can’t Eat Just One Pistachio

pistachiosProfessor Kessler, the ex-commissioner of the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA), claims that manufacturers have created combinations of fat, sugar and salt that are so tasty many people cannot stop eating them even when full. For some of us, it’s potato chips and some Doritos.

Pistachios do it for me and at times sunflower seeds. I eat so many and I know I should stop. With sunflower seeds, I can feel my blood pressure rise from the salt and I know then that I’ve eaten way to many. I thank God pistachios are more expensive than many other junk foods. In a small way that stops my cravings but on the other hand I know pistachios are good for me.

We already know the tobacco industry makes people more addicted to cigarettes by altering nicotine and McDonald’s adds sugar to the French fries making it hard to no order the extra large size.

What are your food compulsions or addictions.

“It is time to stop blaming individuals for being overweight or obese,” he said. “The real problem is we have created a world where food is always available and where that food is designed to make you want to eat more of it. For millions of people, modern food is simply impossible to resist.” ~ Professor Kessler

, ,

  1. #1 by Ursula on November 16, 2010 - 10:37 AM

    Did you see the new commercials with Charlie Brown and Lucy. I love pistachios more than any other snack!!!

  2. #2 by cursemymetalbody on August 19, 2010 - 1:21 PM

    My food addiction is coffee…although I try not to buy potato chips because I’ll just inhale the bag.

  3. #3 by serennaturally on October 18, 2009 - 2:33 AM

    I believe they do put things in to keep you eating beyond what you need and I believe they do it on purpose! I stopped eating anything with MSG or high fructose corn syrup and well most stuff that seemed more like a chemical then a food and I notice a large difference. I’ve lost quite a bit of weight and not really had to try hard to not eat as much. One day a few weeks ago after months of not eating any of that junk I had crackers with all kinds of junk in them and I felt like I was starving for the rest of the day even though I had eaten enough.

    I am not sure that they do that to pistachios though…maybe pistachios are just that yummy (o:

  4. #4 by NJZ on October 14, 2009 - 4:06 PM

    Wow, pistachios are my weakness too.

  5. #5 by Shannon on October 13, 2009 - 5:56 PM

    McDonald’s fries. I can never eat just one. If I can’t have my own I always decline an offer. I usually end up going to get my own anyway!

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...